Toyota Camry 2015 - Complimentary Upgrade to 2.5L

Yaloryalor

WTF, only beige coloured leather. In Malaysia, they offered option for black leather.

Just like in Taiwan, only 2.0 and Hybrid. Looks like boleh-land is more advanced.

Bolehland Camry are all locally-assembled (CKD - completely knocked down).

WTF, only beige coloured leather. In Malaysia, they offered option for black leather.

Just like in Taiwan, only 2.0 and Hybrid. Looks like boleh-land is more advanced.

New 2015 camry - BM only bring in black interior for 2.0 and beige interior for 2.5.

In fact my complain is that I prefer beige interior and I prefer 2.0..... haha

The brochure above stated 215/60 R16... a size carried over since ACV 30 "wobbly" Camry.

Well bro seems like you are not well versed in Korean engine tech. Hyundai i40 2L GDI can pull 178hp and same amount of torque as the Camry 2L wonder engine. And Hyundai doesn't require fancy Otter+Atkinson intake cycle to achieve such numbers. Just Direct Injection and good design will do. Even non GDI version of the same engine can pull up to 166hp.

Yes needs to test drive to comment. For Hyundai and Kia, such high power are seldom felt as their cars tends to be heavy. For Toyota since its lighter so maybe u can feel the difference.

Read this bro

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/atkinson-cycle-engine.htm

Yawn.

So what talk paper until engine sibei gilat, what is available in the local market?

Singapore only brings in this new sonata VIII

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_specs.php?CarCode=11625

Which is also 152bhp and 198nm torque.

Not dissing MIK cars or what, but what is available in the local market?

MIK cars are so heavy ... yeah right.

Elantra

1,267 kg

Altis

1,265 kg

K3

1,293 kg

This is real relative increased weight compared to the other B&B Cars.

JETTA 1,417kg

Basically 2.0 camry now change many things

- Single VVT-i to dual VVT-i (both intake and exhaust cams)

- traditional port fuel injectors to dual fuel injection (port + direct)

- Under low load, like cruising on highway the engine can change valve timing to even more fuel efficient Atkinson mode

- from 4 speed gear to 6 gear

So net result supposed to be much more fuel efficient + more powerful.

Online reviews from taiwan say the new engine very good to drive, but so far no feedback on FC.

Direct Injection= fuel injectors is now located inside the cyln into the combustion chamber directly. Conventional port fuel injection.... the injectors are located behind the intake valves

I was told the 2.0L got black interior.

Spore market too small so BM dun bother to give buyers options. No sunroof, no sports model,..etc. [thumbsdown]

Pls take note that most foreign brand vehicles are locally produced or assembled in their own factory hiring locals. By boycotting will mean lost of jobs for locals. Toyota have factories all over the world for their respective domestic markets.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Toyota_manufacturing_facilities

You are right. The gov dun wan these car makers making use of their countries cheap labours for assembly only. These foreign investment companies need to hire local and dunno how many percentage of the work need to be built locally.

Yawn.

So what talk paper until engine sibei gilat, what is available in the local market?

Elantra

1,267 kg

Altis

1,265 kg

K3

1,293 kg

JETTA 1,417kg

China market Sonata 9 very attractive,

1.6GDI Turbo, 180bhp/265Nm, DCT 7speed, 235/45/R18, 6 Airbags + ABS/TCS/ESP/DSC/VSC, embed Navigation, noonroof etc [thumbsup]

why Singapore always lag behind?

1.6GDI Turbo, 180bhp/265Nm, DCT 7speed, 235/45/R18, 6 Airbags + ABS/TCS/ESP/DSC/VSC, embed Navigation, noonroof etc [thumbsup]

China normally follow U.S style, now SUV is the most common in China

Small market.

If we were a population of 50mil and per capita GDP same as currently, u will see all the very latest here in SG.

I agree. I'm never a fan of suv.

But it's a viable alternative at the prices we were talking about.

Certainly the new 2.0 engine and gearbox for the Camry looks the best among the japs.

2.5 unless u really want the package features or want the extra 20 bhp power bah.

I hope the 2.0 Camry doesn't have the 2 airbag crap again.

U have to factor in another 5k worth of road tax over ten years for a 2.5l. Is it something u want to pay for? Also 2nd resale value is usually lower, tougher to trade in. 2.0 is always standard model in Sg 2nd hand market. Hence more demand.

Thank you for the advice.

I just read the brochure again to review what are the "extras" for 2.5

1. Auto retractable wing mirrors

2. Auto tilt wing mirrors

3. Driver memory seat

4. Front seat ventilation

5. Electro-chromic rear view mirror

6. Rear windscreen power sunshade

7. 215/55R17 tyres instead of 215/60R16

8. Extra 10 kw (bhp), Extra 32 Nm maximum torque

9. Extra airbags (curtain + D. knee)

Negatives for 2.5

1. Extra 5K for road tax over 10 years

2. Lower resale value/demand

Anyone test drove both 2.0 and 2.5 - do you feel much difference?

Yawn.

Elantra

1,267 kg

Altis

1,265 kg

K3

1,293 kg

JETTA 1,417kg

agreed. korean cars power seems to be over stated. i cannot feel the extra hp over the toyota engines.

Thank you for the advice.

I just read the brochure again to review what are the "extras" for 2.5

1. Auto retractable wing mirrors

2. Auto tilt wing mirrors

3. Driver memory seat

4. Front seat ventilation

5. Electro-chromic rear view mirror

6. Rear windscreen power sunshade

7. 215/55R17 tyres instead of 215/60R16

8. Extra 10 kw (bhp), Extra 32 Nm maximum torque

9. Extra airbags (curtain + D. knee)

Negatives for 2.5

1. Extra 5K for road tax over 10 years

2. Lower resale value/demand

Anyone test drove both 2.0 and 2.5 - do you feel much difference?

I test driven the 2.0. It feels like... a big Altis.

Ok the new 6 speed is very seemless, cannot feel any gear change at all. Downshift on acceleration is very fast. New Engine seems a bit noisy compared to previous camry, but I think pulls better. Braking was good compared to previous gen (06-12 model).

The factory black leather quality was not too good - very loose and uneven on the test drive car.

The 2DIN toyota HU was surprisingly high-res and had nice graphics.

4 speed steering wheel with wood and large spongy buttons looks like shit...

156k car show promo (to fight cars@expo) with guaranteed COE.

Was very keen on it previously... but now hard to decide.

Ok the new 6 speed is very seemless, cannot feel any gear change at all. Downshift on acceleration is very fast. New Engine seems a bit noisy compared to previous camry, but I think pulls better. Braking was good compared to previous gen (06-12 model).

The factory black leather quality was not too good - very loose and uneven on the test drive car.

Last weekend Camry 2.0 was 161K when I enquire at their show room (after all the discount/rebate). Accord 2.0 was about 165K.

Here are two videos for those who want to have a good look of the new camry

The steering wheel is 3 or 4 spoke?

I sit at the car at the showroom feels the leather seats very soft. Not a good support for long hours drive if go Malaysia.

The steering wheel is 3 or 4 spoke?

I sit at the car at the showroom feels the leather seats very soft. Not a good support for long hours drive if go Malaysia.

The one in SG is :

post-153589-0-94437100-1430142838_thumb.jpg

The one I like is :

post-153589-0-45064000-1430142925_thumb.jpeg

Exactly! The Thai steering wheel is much younger look. The 4 spoke steering wheel looks bulky and old.

Merc C180 also changed their steering wheel from 4 to 3 spokes.

The one in SG is :

attachicon.giftoyota-camry-2-0-2015-malaysia-launch-pics-1022-850x567.jpg

The one I like is :

attachicon.gif2015-Toyota-Camry-30.jpeg

Can Toyota stop using those fake woods.....

Those are cubic printing. If they do carbon fiber design or piano black then best!