Steptronic Supercharged April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 When it was not? Ultimate uncle car ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear April 14, 2015 Share April 14, 2015 (edited) Not true, ROK is the only country where Japanese cars (and other brands) have no place in their domestic market. I think Toyota has less than 1% of ROK market. Japanese cars are still up there in China, though not top 5. If you are top 10 even in one province, you sell damn a lot of cars in China. I think one small district, already exceeds whole of Singapore sales. yes, i think the Korean kind of patriotism is different from the Chinese kind of patriotism. when Koreans put their heart into it, it really means for something. it manifests through their daily lives. the products they use, the the actions they do. Chinese are only patriotic on occasions, when the economy is good and during protests. even during protests, they smash the Japanese cars which has been bought using their fellow countrymen's money. very misdirected. Edited April 14, 2015 by Alheych 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 I am considering the purchase this car (2.5 ltr). Anyone here just bought or thinking of getting it? If yes, appreciate your sharing. If you have also considered the new Accord, let me know what would have caused you to choose Camry instead (apart from the price difference of about 12k)? Thanks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 I am considering the purchase this car (2.5 ltr). Anyone here just bought or thinking of getting it? If yes, appreciate your sharing. If you have also considered the new Accord, let me know what would have caused you to choose Camry instead (apart from the price difference of about 12k)? Thanks. This thread has more comparison. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2636065-camry-accord-teana-which-is-more-luxurious/?hl=accord Are u talking abt the new camry or the one that's outgoing? I've only test drove the outgoing camry 2.0. I can't say that I'm impressed in anyway. Not that it's a horrible car, just that it doesn't excel in any aspect compared to it's competitors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 The new one is a timing chain n automatic 6 speed? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 This thread has more comparison. http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2636065-camry-accord-teana-which-is-more-luxurious/?hl=accord Are u talking abt the new camry or the one that's outgoing? I've only test drove the outgoing camry 2.0. I can't say that I'm impressed in anyway. Not that it's a horrible car, just that it doesn't excel in any aspect compared to it's competitors. The new Camry: http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/camry_asia/specs.aspx My top choices now are the new Accord or the new Camry. There are many other choices for that price range but I prefer spacious seats. The new Camry that I test drove is it very quiet, quite smooth and responsive. Current pricing package and features included overall better than Accord. The ventilated seat is pretty cool. Having said that, its dashboard is a dissappointment. Exterior definitely not impressive but slightly better than the previous version. For the new Accord, you can immediate feel the quality and dashboard is much better (compared to Camry) but I don't see any on the road so wonder why people go for other choices instead - is it purely due to its higher price tag? I don't know much at all about cars so would like to tap on the knowledge from this forum. Thanks for any response. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 The new one is a timing chain n automatic 6 speed? 6 spd. But not sure if timing chain. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nazerath Turbocharged April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 (edited) 6 spd. But not sure if timing chain. I was thinking timing chain. Hopefully Edited April 19, 2015 by nazerath 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 (edited) The new Camry: http://www.toyotasingapore.com.sg/cars/new_cars/camry_asia/specs.aspx My top choices now are the new Accord or the new Camry. There are many other choices for that price range but I prefer spacious seats. The new Camry that I test drove is it very quiet, quite smooth and responsive. Current pricing package and features included overall better than Accord. The ventilated seat is pretty cool. Having said that, its dashboard is a dissappointment. Exterior definitely not impressive but slightly better than the previous version. For the new Accord, you can immediate feel the quality and dashboard is much better (compared to Camry) but I don't see any on the road so wonder why people go for other choices instead - is it purely due to its higher price tag? I don't know much at all about cars so would like to tap on the knowledge from this forum. Thanks for any response. Ha i own the current 2.0 accord. just bought in Jan '15. U like the current accord's dashboard? I thought it's about the same personally. The accord's dashboard is too functional. No premium feel to it. It's just like everything is super practical. big buttons. Not much aesthetic feel. even the speedometer numbers are so big, macham like for old folks like that. I like the way it drives and the looks compared to the current camry. It's a very unassuming but handsome car (IMO). It also has ISOFIX points for child seat which is a big + compared to the camry which didn't have. Yes it's a good car, but the price tag makes it unpopular. I liked it a lot more compared to the camry/teana. All my comments are only based on the previous camry. Is the 2.0 available for test drive? I want to kaypoh. See what's the difference with the new GB. Edited April 19, 2015 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 Ha i own the current 2.0 accord. just bought in Jan '15. U like the current accord's dashboard? I thought it's about the same personally. The accord's dashboard is too functional. No premium feel to it. It's just like everything is super practical. big buttons. Not much aesthetic feel. even the speedometer numbers are so big, macham like for old folks like that. I like the way it drives and the looks compared to the current camry. It's a very unassuming but handsome car (IMO). It also has ISOFIX points for child seat which is a big + compared to the camry which didn't have. Yes it's a good car, but the price tag makes it unpopular. I liked it a lot more compared to the camry/teana. All my comments are only based on the previous camry. Is the 2.0 available for test drive? I want to kaypoh. See what's the difference with the new GB. Thank you for sharing. I guess they kept all the best dashboard design to the premium models. Sometimes I do have the impulse to just spend that 50K or so more and buy a car with better design or premium feel. Relatively your Accord has better looking dashboard and better quality materials than Camry/Teana. Yes, the new accord is indeed more handsome but yet I wished Honda made bigger changes to the exterior design. If you can choose all over again now .. which car will you purchase? - just curious, don't feel obligated to answer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 ... Is the 2.0 available for test drive? I want to kaypoh. See what's the difference with the new GB. I have not test drive new Accord yet so not sure if 2.0 available for test drive. They should provide 2.0 for test drive otherwise the feel on the power of the car could be misleading. What I can share is that the price for 2.0 as of today is about 165K after all the discount and rebates, 3 years free servicing (exclude tyres and brake pads). Hope you had a better deal back then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 19, 2015 Share April 19, 2015 Thank you for sharing. I guess they kept all the best dashboard design to the premium models. Sometimes I do have the impulse to just spend that 50K or so more and buy a car with better design or premium feel. Relatively your Accord has better looking dashboard and better quality materials than Camry/Teana. Yes, the new accord is indeed more handsome but yet I wished Honda made bigger changes to the exterior design. If you can choose all over again now .. which car will you purchase? - just curious, don't feel obligated to answer. Hmm my car only 3 months old, don't think i will regret. Based on the buycartv review, i would say that the camry's only significant improvement is in the gearbox and a higher compression ratio engine. The gearbox can make a big difference in the driveability in the car so performance wise it's definitely better. Without a test drive, i can only say Looks - Accord Rear cabin space - Camry Boot space - accord's boot definitely looks better Safety - Accord Seems like still no isofix for Camry, and unlikely to have 6 airbags for entry 2.0. Accord is 4 airbags (yes takata ...) for 2.0, 6 for 2.4L Engine - seems to be Camry with the new improvement Drive - I'm pretty sure steering feel and dynamicness of the drive will still be Honda's Value for money - debatable Badge factor - none. Both ok. Rarity - haha definitely Accord by a mile. I only see one of these cars in a long while. It's your money. Haha take ur time to decide. Can look at Teana 2.5L also. Sama sama price as Camry right. I have not test drive new Accord yet so not sure if 2.0 available for test drive. They should provide 2.0 for test drive otherwise the feel on the power of the car could be misleading. What I can share is that the price for 2.0 as of today is about 165K after all the discount and rebates, 3 years free servicing (exclude tyres and brake pads). Hope you had a better deal back then. Wow. the old 2.0 was only 148k back when COE was 72k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 20, 2015 Author Share April 20, 2015 I am considering the purchase this car (2.5 ltr). Anyone here just bought or thinking of getting it? If yes, appreciate your sharing. If you have also considered the new Accord, let me know what would have caused you to choose Camry instead (apart from the price difference of about 12k)? Thanks. The accord are you considering the 2.0L or 2.5L? The 2.0L is using the old engine which has been around for 10 years. I am driving the CL7A accord which has the same engine as the "new" accord. I asked the SE why there isn't any improvement on the engine, the reply I got was the old engine is too good so dun need to change. HAHAHAHA... faint.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 The accord are you considering the 2.0L or 2.5L? The 2.0L is using the old engine which has been around for 10 years. I am driving the CL7A accord which has the same engine as the "new" accord. I asked the SE why there isn't any improvement on the engine, the reply I got was the old engine is too good so dun need to change. HAHAHAHA... faint.. Yes. it's still a 10.7:1 compression ratio engine. Old tech. only the 2.4L is the new one. Well ok la. I can run RON92 LOL... Nowhere close to the Europeans. But the engine in the Camry or the Teana are just like that only. Only this new engine for the camry is a higher compression version. High compression means more FC but doesn't really mean more refinement. Look at the MZ6 for a comparison. 2.4L there's no point in getting it IMO. For another 10-15k more, u can choose to get the A6 or S60/S80T5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 20, 2015 Author Share April 20, 2015 Yes. it's still a 10.7:1 compression ratio engine. Old tech. only the 2.4L is the new one. Well ok la. I can run RON92 LOL... Nowhere close to the Europeans. But the engine in the Camry or the Teana are just like that only. Only this new engine for the camry is a higher compression version. High compression means more FC but doesn't really mean more refinement. Look at the MZ6 for a comparison. 2.4L there's no point in getting it IMO. For another 10-15k more, u can choose to get the A6 or S60/S80T5. Pai sei hor, I replied its old engine then realised you bought the 2.0L accord. I feel Honda engineer no effort lor. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 Pai sei hor, I replied its old engine then realised you bought the 2.0L accord. I feel Honda engineer no effort lor. It's ok lah. I bought it with full knowledge. Actually there's no 2.0 except in SEA. that's why they just threw in the old engine. I really wanted to own a CL7 when i was schooling. haha so at least i'm owning it's old engine LOL. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 I am considering the purchase this car (2.5 ltr). Anyone here just bought or thinking of getting it? If yes, appreciate your sharing. If you have also considered the new Accord, let me know what would have caused you to choose Camry instead (apart from the price difference of about 12k)? Thanks. Yes, considering new camry 2.0 (new VVTiW + D4s engine, 6 speed GB), in fact had been waiting for it since it was first released to Russia market back in Aug 2014.... But honestly very disappointed with the specs BM bring in, especially for the interior. So now also considering Harrier or going up to Lexus (NX or IS). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 Yes, considering new camry 2.0 (new VVTiW + D4s engine, 6 speed GB), in fact had been waiting for it since it was first released to Russia market back in Aug 2014.... But honestly very disappointed with the specs BM bring in, especially for the interior. So now also considering Harrier or going up to Lexus (NX or IS). actually yes. if u don't mind an SUV, i think harrier might be a good choice if u want to buy toyota. My friend booked recently. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...