Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 20, 2015 Author Share April 20, 2015 Yes, considering new camry 2.0 (new VVTiW + D4s engine, 6 speed GB), in fact had been waiting for it since it was first released to Russia market back in Aug 2014.... But honestly very disappointed with the specs BM bring in, especially for the interior. So now also considering Harrier or going up to Lexus (NX or IS). I went to see the 2.5L unit displayed at BM few weeks ago, the head unit is very dated. Saw Sat newspaper; the head unit will be changed to new model. Hopefully the steering wheel will be changed too. What interior specs you referring to? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 I went to see the 2.5L unit displayed at BM few weeks ago, the head unit is very dated. Saw Sat newspaper; the head unit will be changed to new model. Hopefully the steering wheel will be changed too. What interior specs you referring to? Actually same as what you described: 1. HU is using separate 2DIN - most other ASEAN/asian countries get fully integrated unit 2. Steering wheel is old chunky 4 spoke - many other countries get full or option for a sleek 3 spoke steering 3. No choice of interior color - 2.0 only gets black, 2.5 only gets beige. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 Yes. it's still a 10.7:1 compression ratio engine. Old tech. only the 2.4L is the new one. Well ok la. I can run RON92 LOL... Nowhere close to the Europeans. But the engine in the Camry or the Teana are just like that only. Only this new engine for the camry is a higher compression version. High compression means more FC but doesn't really mean more refinement. Look at the MZ6 for a comparison. 2.4L there's no point in getting it IMO. For another 10-15k more, u can choose to get the A6 or S60/S80T5. 2.0L old engine, 2.4L much more expensive ... Ya I am always tempted to spend that 10-20K more to go for continental brand but then you get only the lowest package for the features. Thanks for sharing - i don't even know 2.4L engine is new, thought both are same old Honda engine. For Camry, perhaps more will agree that it is worth it to get 2.5L instead of 2.0L? just $4K difference. Test drove the 2.5L but not the 2.0L . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kawan 1st Gear April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 Yes, considering new camry 2.0 (new VVTiW + D4s engine, 6 speed GB), in fact had been waiting for it since it was first released to Russia market back in Aug 2014.... But honestly very disappointed with the specs BM bring in, especially for the interior. So now also considering Harrier or going up to Lexus (NX or IS). The Harrier looks good. After driving sedan for 15 years, I have been asking myself if I should go for CRV or Harrier. I test drove the CRV but the driving experience not as good as sedan - floating and interior space somehow feel smaller than Accord/Camry despite the big car look. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 The Harrier looks good. After driving sedan for 15 years, I have been asking myself if I should go for CRV or Harrier. I test drove the CRV but the driving experience not as good as sedan - floating and interior space somehow feel smaller than Accord/Camry despite the big car look. In this class, CRV & RAV4 both outdated,Suggest you try Harrier, outlander, x-trial, cx-5, sorento, Santa fe If you want performance, try forester, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chelsea901 1st Gear April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 It's ok lah. I bought it with full knowledge. Actually there's no 2.0 except in SEA. that's why they just threw in the old engine. I really wanted to own a CL7 when i was schooling. haha so at least i'm owning it's old engine LOL. to be able to own a 2.0 is an opportunity because NA VTEC is the best engine and out of production 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 yes, i think the Korean kind of patriotism is different from the Chinese kind of patriotism. when Koreans put their heart into it, it really means for something. it manifests through their daily lives. the products they use, the the actions they do. Chinese are only patriotic on occasions, when the economy is good and during protests. even during protests, they smash the Japanese cars which has been bought using their fellow countrymen's money. very misdirected. Pls take note that most foreign brand vehicles are locally produced or assembled in their own factory hiring locals. By boycotting will mean lost of jobs for locals. Toyota have factories all over the world for their respective domestic markets. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Toyota_manufacturing_facilities Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 The Harrier looks good. After driving sedan for 15 years, I have been asking myself if I should go for CRV or Harrier. I test drove the CRV but the driving experience not as good as sedan - floating and interior space somehow feel smaller than Accord/Camry despite the big car look. I agree. I'm never a fan of suv. But it's a viable alternative at the prices we were talking about. Certainly the new 2.0 engine and gearbox for the Camry looks the best among the japs. 2.5 unless u really want the package features or want the extra 20 bhp power bah. I hope the 2.0 Camry doesn't have the 2 airbag crap again. U have to factor in another 5k worth of road tax over ten years for a 2.5l. Is it something u want to pay for? Also 2nd resale value is usually lower, tougher to trade in. 2.0 is always standard model in Sg 2nd hand market. Hence more demand. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bioinformatics 3rd Gear April 20, 2015 Share April 20, 2015 Got 2.5L new camry... shiok shiok. http://www.borneomotors.com.sg/en/eBrochure/Camry.pdf 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 Got 2.5L new camry... shiok shiok. http://www.borneomotors.com.sg/en/eBrochure/Camry.pdf The 2L Camry is still a joke la. tiny 16" wheels... most gadgets removed... That new VVTiW heads was applied to the intake valves only. Its jobs is to switch the engine to Atkinson cycle mode during light throttle and at idle in order to boost fuel economy. Unfortunately, Atkinson cycle doesn't make a lot of power so its back to conventional VVTi again as the rpm and/or throttle is increased. The only redeeming point about the 2L is that it FINALLY featured Direct Injection... many years after the Koreans adopted the tech haha Take note, both engines still doesn't feature valve lift, they ain't Honda's iVTEC hor. VVTi is just simple cam angle phasing adj only. Trying to rev the Camry 2.5L to >6000rpm during daily drive cause the engine to make a lot of noise but not much forward motion. The 2L Camry equipment list is pathetic when compared to the Sonata and the Optima 2.4. In fact, even the Forte SX can beat it in terms of equipment list count. And 4 airbags only in today's world? Only the 2.5 gets 7 airbags 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear April 21, 2015 Author Share April 21, 2015 (edited) The 2L Camry is still a joke la. tiny 16" wheels... most gadgets removed... That new VVTiW heads was applied to the intake valves only. Its jobs is to switch the engine to Atkinson cycle mode during light throttle and at idle in order to boost fuel economy. Unfortunately, Atkinson cycle doesn't make a lot of power so its back to conventional VVTi again as the rpm and/or throttle is increased. The only redeeming point about the 2L is that it FINALLY featured Direct Injection... many years after the Koreans adopted the tech haha Take note, both engines still doesn't feature valve lift, they ain't Honda's iVTEC hor. VVTi is just simple cam angle phasing adj only. Trying to rev the Camry 2.5L to >6000rpm during daily drive cause the engine to make a lot of noise but not much forward motion. The 2L Camry equipment list is pathetic when compared to the Sonata and the Optima 2.4. In fact, even the Forte SX can beat it in terms of equipment list count. And 4 airbags only in today's world? Only the 2.5 gets 7 airbags In terms of airbags, yes only 4. Accord, Teana and mazda 6 all 6 airbags liao. Camry rims are 17" according to the specs. In terms of BHP, its the highest compare to the other 2.0L models. That's paper, need to test drive then can comment. Edited April 21, 2015 by Yaloryalor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bioinformatics 3rd Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 The 2L Camry is still a joke la. tiny 16" wheels... most gadgets removed... That new VVTiW heads was applied to the intake valves only. Its jobs is to switch the engine to Atkinson cycle mode during light throttle and at idle in order to boost fuel economy. Unfortunately, Atkinson cycle doesn't make a lot of power so its back to conventional VVTi again as the rpm and/or throttle is increased. The only redeeming point about the 2L is that it FINALLY featured Direct Injection... many years after the Koreans adopted the tech haha Take note, both engines still doesn't feature valve lift, they ain't Honda's iVTEC hor. VVTi is just simple cam angle phasing adj only. Trying to rev the Camry 2.5L to >6000rpm during daily drive cause the engine to make a lot of noise but not much forward motion. The 2L Camry equipment list is pathetic when compared to the Sonata and the Optima 2.4. In fact, even the Forte SX can beat it in terms of equipment list count. And 4 airbags only in today's world? Only the 2.5 gets 7 airbags Too deep for me lar... Simi parkinson cycle... Can summaries in layman term boh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheefarn 5th Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 In terms of airbags, yes only 4. Accord, Teana and mazda 6 all 6 airbags liao. Camry rims are 17" according to the specs. In terms of BHP, its the highest compare to the other 2.0L models. That's paper, need to test drive then can comment. The brochure above stated 215/60 R16... a size carried over since ACV 30 "wobbly" Camry. Well bro seems like you are not well versed in Korean engine tech. Hyundai i40 2L GDI can pull 178hp and same amount of torque as the Camry 2L wonder engine. And Hyundai doesn't require fancy Otter+Atkinson intake cycle to achieve such numbers. Just Direct Injection and good design will do. Even non GDI version of the same engine can pull up to 166hp. Yes needs to test drive to comment. For Hyundai and Kia, such high power are seldom felt as their cars tends to be heavy. For Toyota since its lighter so maybe u can feel the difference. Too deep for me lar... Simi parkinson cycle... Can summaries in layman term boh? Read this bro http://auto.howstuffworks.com/atkinson-cycle-engine.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 In this class, CRV & RAV4 both outdated, Suggest you try Harrier, outlander, x-trial, cx-5, sorento, Santa fe If you want performance, try forester, Among the SUV above, the only comparable or better than sedan FC is Harrier Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 Too deep for me lar... Simi parkinson cycle... Can summaries in layman term boh? Basically 2.0 camry now change many things - Single VVT-i to dual VVT-i (both intake and exhaust cams) - traditional port fuel injectors to dual fuel injection (port + direct) - Under low load, like cruising on highway the engine can change valve timing to even more fuel efficient Atkinson mode - from 4 speed gear to 6 gear So net result supposed to be much more fuel efficient + more powerful. Online reviews from taiwan say the new engine very good to drive, but so far no feedback on FC. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quantum 5th Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 In terms of airbags, yes only 4. Accord, Teana and mazda 6 all 6 airbags liao. Camry rims are 17" according to the specs. In terms of BHP, its the highest compare to the other 2.0L models. That's paper, need to test drive then can comment. In budget mid sedan class, accord still unbeatable Among the SUV above, the only comparable or better than sedan FC is Harrier If FC is your a concern, forget about SUV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 max torque at 4600 still...very much sugarcaning the engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wizzercool 1st Gear April 21, 2015 Share April 21, 2015 WTF, only beige coloured leather. In Malaysia, they offered option for black leather. Just like in Taiwan, only 2.0 and Hybrid. Looks like boleh-land is more advanced. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...