Question: MAS reporting on derivatives?

Cheesey74

Hi all,

Asking on behalf for my friend who just start working in a bank.

Anyone familiar with the below question

"For MAS reporting on derivatives thru DTCC, what are the products required to be reported?

Thanks.

Hi all,

"For MAS reporting on derivatives thru DTCC, what are the products required to be reported?

Thanks.

Wah, this question very chim.... Definitely not lite nor easy.,, :)

Hi all,

Thanks.

Why does he need the list if he's working in a bank? Wouldn't the bank already have the required products listed for reporting?

Short answer is any derivatives related to equities, foreign exchange, interest rate, credit and commodities should be put into the list for consideration.

Why does he need the list if he's working in a bank? Wouldn't the bank already have the required products listed for reporting?

Short answer is any derivatives related to equities, foreign exchange, interest rate, credit and commodities should be put into the list for consideration.

Thanks for the response.

Hi all,

Thanks.

You helping a damsel in distress ah :D

Off the top my my head derivatives we trade in mianoy consist mainly off

Interest rate swaps (inc cross ccy swaps)

Fx swaps

Caps and floors

Swaptions

Bond options

Equity options

Complex products

The list is not exhaustive, also have inflation swap, zero coupon etc.

Normally we will take a dump of the population and remove the non reportable stuff. Sounds like they are interested in sgp traded positions on the U.S. market? Guessing

Ask you friend to check with their reg change team, btw the above is just my personal take and in no way construe as any professional advise

We are slaves to our job leh thats why have to know, lao ban like you ka kia know can liao haha

Catch no ball this thread. Too chim for a poor millionaire like me lol

Hi all,

Thanks.

I would think your friend's bank should have a list of their own. Not something he could simply ask from the public forum. It has regulatory implications so if he/she is not sure, better to consult the supervisors or through the legal team.

The respective bank's Compliance Dept should be in a better position to advise on which products are covered under this reporting.

Even in the banking industry, some banks have different interpretation of what is to be covered and what is not and it doesn't help that the local regulator themselves are vague in their rules. As this regulation is new worldwide as well, not much to compare with other regulatory bodies and hence the confusion n difference in opinion. Nevertheless best to check with the Compliance who if they themselves are unsure, can always check with the local MAS officer.

Hope this helps.

U guys take this too seriously, there is a classic play here

Two scenarios

1st Scenario 

TS friend : Aiya MAS ask us to report all derivative produced cleared thru DTCC sibei xian, who knows what they want?

TS: Ask your compliance or legal dept they should be the right area to go thru

TS friend: ............... (in thoughts: Duh :a-confused: , I already know that, you think I so [confused]  meh)

End of discussion.

2nd Scenario 

TS friend: Aiya MAS ask us to report all derivative produced cleared thru DTCC sibei xian, who knows what they want?

TS: They are so many derivatives, Xccy, Fras, Captr etc why can't they more specific and why must it be thru DTCC only?  [scholar]

TS friend: Wah you also agree with me, you so knowledgeable 

TS:  :a-happy:

Shortly after

:a-dinner:

then who knows hehe...

@Cheesey74 just kidding lah, slow sunday nothing better to do ah  :D

Edited by Mercury1

We are slaves to our job leh thats why have to know, lao ban like you ka kia know can liao haha

haha lao ban like me only know how to play stocks n property. simi derivative? so hard to spell also lol

So TS did you manage to get a happy ending? Life as a white knight not lite and ez these days, but borrow flowers offer to Buddha, is a life skill.

y got no derivate for COE ah? then pple can hedge HAHAHAHA

Taking guaranteed COE is some form of hedging right?  [laugh]