What would you do if your car model is used as a taxi in SG?

Domh

On 10/24/2013 at 10:43 AM, Darthrevan said:

TKTaxiServices21102013e.jpg

SMRT adds 600 Toyota Prius hybrids to fleet, becomes largest hybrid taxi operator here

Petrol-electric hybrid cabs are gaining popularity among taxi operators. SMRT, the third largest cab company here said on Monday that it will add more than 600 Toyota Prius hybrids to its fleet over the next one year. The first cars will arrive on Friday.
The move will make SMRT the largest hybrid taxi operator in Singapore. They will make up about one-fifth of its total fleet of some 3,500 cabs, which are predominantly diesel.
Taxi firms with petrol-electric hybrids include Premier and Prime taxis.
SMRT senior vice-president (roads) said: "Opting for hybrid vehicles is a conscious move on SMRT's part in generating more positive environmental footprint on roads." He said passengers can look forward to more comfortable, smoother and quieter rides with the new taxis.

When hybrids are used, the operating cost is lowered. This should be passed to the passengers! Instead, they charge higher flag down etc!

  On 10/24/2013 at 9:47 AM, Maseratigood said:

Yup, for most taxi trips, the size of a Corolla etc will be enough for the usual 1-2 passengers seen taking cab rides!!

Surprisingly, we are seeing more and more large size taxis on the roads, when they only carry 1 or 2 persons inside.

Larger size means higher costs, mean higer taxi fares!!! All for nothing!

It is for the imagine of the country, as a whole. If use small cars as taxi, what will an overseas visitor or tourist think about Singapore when he/she sees it?

When I went Europe, I see them using E Class as taxi. My impression was this country is a 1st World nation!

On 10/25/2013 at 1:29 AM, TVT said:

It is for the imagine of the country, as a whole. If use small cars as taxi, what will an overseas visitor or tourist think about Singapore when he/she sees it?

When I went Europe, I see them using E Class as taxi. My impression was this country is a 1st World nation!

Depends on the taxi operation in that country la. You look at india taxi, so small and tiny also like that. [rolleyes]

wah, you go europe sit E-class!! i took trains/buses when i went there..... sibei envy!! [grin]

if this is desirable, and by the way our taxis are being upgraded over the years, soon we can see bently and RR used as taxis!! Huat ahh!! [bounce2]

  On 10/25/2013 at 3:30 AM, Maseratigood said:

wah, you go europe sit E-class!! i took trains/buses when i went there..... sibei envy!! [grin]

No lah....I go there take bus (tour bus, on a tour package). [laugh]

But on their roads, I see their taxi all big conti cars. Only London is an exception (cos use London cab).

On 10/25/2013 at 3:33 AM, TVT said:

No lah....I go there take bus (tour bus, on a tour package). [laugh]

But on their roads, I see their taxi all big conti cars. Only London is an exception (cos use London cab).

chey...... i thought next time i go europe can lonbang your E-class

i am not saying we use QQ, but maybe a Altis or similar will be decent enough... [grin]

  On 10/25/2013 at 3:31 AM, Maseratigood said:

if this is desirable, and by the way our taxis are being upgraded over the years, soon we can see bently and RR used as taxis!! Huat ahh!! [bounce2]

If use Bently or RR, no one will dare to flag them down! [sweatdrop]

See now those Chrysler 300 taxi....no one wants to take them!

If really urgent, then no choice but have to take them

On 10/25/2013 at 3:35 AM, TVT said:

I think the Prius suffices for most trips made by taxis... how many trips out of 10 do you actually need to open a boot?

It'll be good if it comes a time when only "bigger" taxis go queue at the airport. That'll free up a lot of taxis for the town area, instead of seeing them queue all the way from airport police division HQ. This is in fact the practice in many other countries, taxis with a small boot not allowed to go to the airport.

  On 10/25/2013 at 10:58 PM, Alheych said:

I think the Prius suffices for most trips made by taxis... how many trips out of 10 do you actually need to open a boot?

It dDepends on what sort of person you are.

For a family man, can be 9 out of 10 times you need to open the boot. Got to load in the pram, baby bags, and sometimes grocery. Sadly, sometimes taxi drivers will avoid this group of people by giving some "funny" excuses...

  On 10/25/2013 at 10:58 PM, Alheych said:

It'll be good if it comes a time when only "bigger" taxis go queue at the airport. That'll free up a lot of taxis for the town area, instead of seeing them queue all the way from airport police division HQ. This is in fact the practice in many other countries, taxis with a small boot not allowed to go to the airport.

Every single trip I make I need to open the boot. maybe 1 out of 10 times no need. Sure need to put in the 2 prams and the bag with all my kid's diapers and milk powder.

On 10/25/2013 at 7:57 PM, Cluboxed said:

Actually the Prius taxi has a CEVS rebate of $30,000...shouldn't this savings be passed on to the commuters as well??

Good point!!

On 10/25/2013 at 3:35 AM, TVT said:

Maybe these are RR or Bentley clone bodies only, underneath the bodies are MIC taxis chassis and engines!!!

And now they also 1st World economic crisis region!