Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

Which interviewer will tell you that you are underpay? Lol. All confirmed will say your current and asking pay is high!

Got

Dignity $1 man [laugh]

Do u feel funny sometimes...

Some interviews, you spoke so well, eloquent and smooth, everything seems perfect, they seem to like you. But, you didn't get the job.

Some interviews, you fumbled though you think you were quite well-prepared.

Some interviews, you kept mostly silent except answer a few questions short and sharp. Then the interviewers were talking most of the time or trying to elaborate your short answers for you. You end up with that job.

It all boils down to the alignment of the stars...everything happens for a reason n it is usually for the right reason.

first case could be that the position is already 'reserved' for someone internally liao. Companies still advertise due to some crap reasons or wayanging. Seen it many times in my previous employ.  [laugh]

The first case means they got someone else better, the second case means they couldn't get anyone else.

Still in my memory which I could not forget..

I was only Senior Executive at Company A when I went for interview at Company X. Hiring position was Assistant Manager.

The hiring manager commented that I was "still young in this industry" .... I was speechless ... at that time, I was age 29.

Needless to say,  I did not get the job but with my track records, I was promoted to Assistant Manager in Company A eventually 1 year later. As for Company X, the position was given to someone I know, and he was only 2 years older than me. He was also Senior Executive before joining Company X.

That person couldn't even last 4 months at Company X.

This is a cruel world. Most of us would not be able to mix passion with work but you have to have their right attributes in order to perform. 

During the interview of between 15 - 30 mins, what can you tell from the person you interviewed? Most rely on their CV and assumed that is the right candidate.

I have a very standard answer for my HR when they ask what kind of candidate I am looking for.

I don't want a Messi that stays injured on the bench the whole season and would rather have a rookie to make up the 11 players running on the field.

You can teach someone if he/she don't have that skill/knowledge but if he/she has a wrong attitude, then I am afraid you are asking for trouble.

CV is just a guide. A guy working for Kah Motor may not know much of car because he only change engine oil. Someone working for a small workshop may be servicing all kinds of brands and has the initiatives to think out of the box.

Ultimately, that guy conducting that interview himself must be knowledgeable. Otherwise, he is just blind leading the blind.  

I've always dreamed of going to an interview in which this scenario plays out:

Interviewer:  What is your greatest weakness?

Me:  Honesty.

Interviewer:  I don't think honesty is a weakness.

Me:  I don't give a F*** what you think.

[:p]

:o here so many experienced interviewers and interviewees.....all high flyers in great demand

the last interview i attended was more than a decade ago and now still stuck in a dead end job

[bigcry]

:o here so many experienced interviewers and interviewees.....all high flyers in great demand

the last interview i attended was more than a decade ago and now still stuck in a dead end job

[bigcry]

It's good not to job hop and become a specialist at what you are doing for a long time.

You should be earning quite substantially now with your loyalty and becoming a subject expert in your role.

It's good not to job hop and become a specialist at what you are doing for a long time.

You should be earning quite substantially now with your loyalty and becoming a subject expert in your role.

boss...thank you for looking me so up but reality bites

No boss lah, just a struggling businessman with no plan B. [laugh]

It's true, every company likes a loyal and competent staff. You must be competent because your company like to keep you there.

Just keep at it and your rewards will be there, if it is not already there.

whoa!!!! very fierce!!!! :grin:

Bro, I miss you :nosepick:

Enye, on 16 Feb 2016 - 09:02 AM, said:

[bigcry]

beginning of career must hop n hop...old liao should stay put

if not no chance have 700k hor?

No boss lah, just a struggling businessman with no plan B. [laugh]

It's true, every company likes a loyal and competent staff. You must be competent because your company like to keep you there.

Just keep at it and your rewards will be there, if it is not already there.

Bro, I miss you :nosepick:

nowadays hor....because of M&A

companies are getting rid of emotional baggage

the longer you stay the higher the risk

[bigcry]

[bigcry]

I was not a job hopper too.  Had been in the same job for slight more than 10 yrs.

Last year, there was a opening for a bigger role.  I jumped at it.

Don't feel that you are stuck.  Always look out.

This is a cruel world. Most of us would not be able to mix passion with work but you have to have their right attributes in order to perform. 

During the interview of between 15 - 30 mins, what can you tell from the person you interviewed? Most rely on their CV and assumed that is the right candidate.

I have a very standard answer for my HR when they ask what kind of candidate I am looking for.

I don't want a Messi that stays injured on the bench the whole season and would rather have a rookie to make up the 11 players running on the field.

You can teach someone if he/she don't have that skill/knowledge but if he/she has a wrong attitude, then I am afraid you are asking for trouble.

CV is just a guide. A guy working for Kah Motor may not know much of car because he only change engine oil. Someone working for a small workshop may be servicing all kinds of brands and has the initiatives to think out of the box.

Ultimately, that guy conducting that interview himself must be knowledgeable. Otherwise, he is just blind leading the blind.  

absolutely right.  

it is often said in professional HR articles that interviews are the worst way to hire someone, and yet every company is doing it.  

if i google on "how to do interview well", i can tons of info.  I can even compile a "Ten Year Series" book on all the possible interviews questions + model answers, and memorize every one of them.

i never like conducting standard interviews. Will never get the right people in. Need to give them surprise tests or quiz for them to respond. 

nowadays hor....because of M&A

companies are getting rid of emotional baggage

the longer you stay the higher the risk

[bigcry]

no one is indispensable.......