Angcheek Hypersonic February 21, 2017 Share February 21, 2017 On 2/21/2017 at 10:45 AM, Kusje said: MBA very good meh? Got big diff over bachelors? to me ....... not really . MBA are full of theory . In a company , P/L still the magic thing. Maybe good for Mass Comm , marketing etc. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 21, 2017 Share February 21, 2017 The reason companies call you for interviews and then tell you you are not suitable for the job before you even say anything is because HR people are very free and need to pretend to do some work. One company I know has about 30 people in HR and 2 people just doing recruitment. Every month the company hire 3 - 4 new staff. So each HR talent acquisition staff only needs to hire 2 people a month. That's like 1 new staff every 2 weeks. 2 weeks is like 10 working days so they need to interview one person a day and short list from the 10 people. So interviewing 1 person a day is too much work for them so to save time they will just tell you straight you are not suitable so they don't waste their own time. As for wasting your time they don't care. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 On 2/21/2017 at 7:52 AM, Jamesc said: This happens every where. My fren staying up north was worried his fat no 2 wanted to kick him out and take his position. Lucky my fren kicked out the no 2 and replaced him with a yes man. Is my fren concerned no job in the country and no future for the next gen. As far as he is concerned he couldn't care less as long as he kept his job. Anyway he is busy doing deals with the Chinese trying to sell every thing he can to them. My friend brought it up to another levelHe hired a yes man to consolidate his position And paid this yes man so high a salary he would never be poached And also will forever be grateful to my friend 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 (edited) On 2/21/2017 at 9:15 AM, Donut said: you are so right about long term, it will show. I remember an old friend, he got MBA. But he wanted a job so badly, that he didn't declare his MBA. He only apply as basic degree holder. and not telling about his MBA. He got the job. and everyone was happy. He worked, and as first few months went past, his boss noticed that my friend's performance is way above his expectation. The boss actually asked him if he has received other forms of training or education. My friend admitted that he got MBA and boss was abit stunned. Friend explained that he wanted this job so badly. Boss also happy that he hired a good worker, let him stay on. so actually, in the eyes of HR policy, he might do a wrong for not declaring his education, but its also not wrong because everyone has the right not to declare everything. In this case, its only not declaring his highest education. Doesn't affect the performance. But in long term, it will show. If the person work performance is good, and company hire him based on the educational that he declared, surely company would be happy to let him stay on, cause in this case company gained lo. If your friend declared his MBA, then company needs to pay him based on his MBA lo. Edited February 22, 2017 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 On 2/22/2017 at 4:57 AM, Wyfitms said: My friend brought it up to another level He hired a yes man to consolidate his position And paid this yes man so high a salary he would never be poached And also will forever be grateful to my friend haben reached that kinda nivarna to indulge in this kind of luxury. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoElite 6th Gear February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 On 2/21/2017 at 10:45 AM, Kusje said: MBA very good meh? Got big diff over bachelors? yes big difference Married But Available is not ethical and immoral wor bachelor is definitely more ethical, better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 22, 2017 Share February 22, 2017 On 2/22/2017 at 4:57 AM, Wyfitms said: My friend brought it up to another level He hired a yes man to consolidate his position And paid this yes man so high a salary he would never be poached And also will forever be grateful to my friend You mean these 2? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 23, 2017 Share February 23, 2017 On 2/23/2017 at 8:31 AM, YEN96 said: Job market still slow, maybe all waiting for budget?? Or bonus not paid out, bonus should be January or February, some companies up to April den pay?? I agree with you. Now very few vacancies. Maybe no one leaving cos of bonus or retrenchment benefit or both? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged February 24, 2017 Share February 24, 2017 On 2/23/2017 at 10:02 AM, YEN96 said: I am not so sure bro, this one must ask the HR experts. Personally, I attended 1 interview last week. Now also waiting reply. And, my experience tells me a lot of online job adverts are "half bogus" / a.k.a fishing ads. Not really genuinely hiring. They just wanna collect resume and database den straight call up when they need somebody urgently. 1 advert can be 100-200 applicants, if only 1 head count / vacancy den really need to "Hug embrace Buddha Leg" !!! collect resume is okay.. as long as they don't waste people's time and leave asking for F2F interview just to add on to their collection. and.. good luck bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 24, 2017 Share February 24, 2017 On 2/21/2017 at 9:31 AM, cookiesforme said: Reminds me of an interview I went where the interviewer kept telling me I won't be able to adapt to the working culture at their company. Tried to defend myself because how will she know when we just met right.. End up I just agree with her and left the interview feeling sian. Sometimes I wonder how the recruiter decided who they want to meet when they receive so many applications.. Confirm cannot finish reviewing all to decide the best one what. if the interviewer has been there very long, it is obvious he can tell whether a candidate can fit into the coy culture or not. The applicant on the other hand desperate for job obviously will say he can fit into any culture but 80% of the time they can't. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 24, 2017 Share February 24, 2017 On 2/24/2017 at 10:40 AM, Jman888 said: if the interviewer has been there very long, it is obvious he can tell whether a candidate can fit into the coy culture or not. The applicant on the other hand desperate for job obviously will say he can fit into any culture but 80% of the time they can't. That's right. Some companies very hard for the new staff to adapt. The old birds will make the new staff do all the world, any mistakes they make will blame the new staff and any good work the new staff do the old bird will claim their credit. I don't know why but 80% of new staff cannot stand such a company culture and don't stay long. New staff are not like me the old bird, they cannot take the stress. Really need to pay the old birds more cos only we can take the pressure. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear February 25, 2017 Share February 25, 2017 On 2/21/2017 at 9:15 AM, Donut said: you are so right about long term, it will show. I remember an old friend, he got MBA. But he wanted a job so badly, that he didn't declare his MBA. He only apply as basic degree holder. and not telling about his MBA. He got the job. and everyone was happy. He worked, and as first few months went past, his boss noticed that my friend's performance is way above his expectation. The boss actually asked him if he has received other forms of training or education. My friend admitted that he got MBA and boss was abit stunned. Friend explained that he wanted this job so badly. Boss also happy that he hired a good worker, let him stay on. so actually, in the eyes of HR policy, he might do a wrong for not declaring his education, but its also not wrong because everyone has the right not to declare everything. In this case, its only not declaring his highest education. Doesn't affect the performance. But in long term, it will show. Your friend is in technical or management role? Don't mind me saying this but it sounds abit hao siao. it is abit like saying that going for a MBA will definitely greatly boost your management soft and hard skills. On 2/23/2017 at 8:31 AM, YEN96 said: Job market still slow, maybe all waiting for budget?? Or bonus not paid out, bonus should be January or February, some companies up to April den pay??Jan PMI largely boosted by electronics' strong showing in Q4 2016 as reflected by the electronics PMI. Unless you are vested in the electronics sector else market sentiments is still very lethargic in general. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...