Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

On 2/15/2016 at 12:49 PM, Nzy said:

Can't remember the exact thing. But it was along the lines of saying that passion alone is no use, but because you are passionate about this industry, you are definitely going to work hard and learn more about it. Without passion, you will still be hardworking but less likely to be in the industry for long. Forgot what else he said already. Lol. Never used that cuz I never encountered any interviewer who actually said that.

Ok tks for sharing! Guess it's not easy answering this kind of question cos u do want to share what your passion is so that the interviewer may know n fit u in accordingly but at the same time if it's not exactly the job requirement then u don't want to lower your chances of getting the job as well.

A case of do u damn n don't do u also damn!!

On 2/15/2016 at 12:53 PM, Sunny said:

If know any one pls Intro me ..eat soft rice can be a passion too...

Keke toto must buy 1st, temp put all passion on this :grin:

On 2/15/2016 at 10:32 AM, Runforyourlife said:

I recall when I first entered the workforce, I told the interviewer it's my passion to work in this industry. He said 'passion can å½é¥­å?'

I ended the interview with some nasty words for the director.

No prizes if I got the job or not :D

But with passion i will be able to excel better in this position. A person that loves his job will excel well and has higher probability to earn more

Let me give u an illustration, a taxi driver with passion and without passion. The one without passion would just work to cover enough for rent cost, petrol and daily expense. While the one with passion will work harder, improves their service and work more effeciently due to higher motivation

Edited by Thaiyotakamli

On 2/15/2016 at 1:10 PM, Pinobii said:

Keke toto must buy 1st, temp put all passion on this :grin:

Gd luck...waiting for u to share your "passion" with us

I think the worst kind of interviewer is those boastful director. Brag about those days when he first started work and how good he was at his work. Feels more like the lao wang selling melon, praising himself rather dan an interview. I was like I'm here for an interview not listen to your grandfather story. I felt like giving him the number to mediacorpse to contact a scriptwriter.

Passion at work is a cliche, that's what I always say. I need the job to pay my bills plain and simple. Passion is for acting. Ppl who are given bigger responsibility will start to act sick or act like they are too busy.

I have 2 worse moment in interview back in 2007..one is when a ang moh interviewer asked me some elementary industry question and ask me how I would present that.. sibei insulting.. another is with a team leader level interviewer having interview done in the common office table with everybody around..not even in the privacy of a small meeting room.

Both f up experience.. felt so small then.

On 2/15/2016 at 12:30 PM, Kangadrool said:

I have went to outplacement agency and the consultants all said that DO NOT put your current and expected salary even if asked.

So, all please do ourselves a favour, do not put it down too early. Go for the interview and ask as many questions about the job, then put it forward only when asked.

Don't risk getting sifted out too early or underpaying yourself.

If in doubt, put $0 or $1 (think you can do it for online application with this compulsory field). You can always explain during the interview.

normally, i look at their pay and expected salary to shortlist

last year, a guy didnt put down the pay, during interview then found out his current pay is too high 

he wasted my time to interview him  :a-bang:

On 2/15/2016 at 1:18 PM, lausai88 said:

last year, a guy didnt put down the pay, during interview then found out his current pay is too high 

he wasted my time to interview him  :a-bang:

I believe this is the reason why company insist job seeker to write down their current and expected salary, so that it would not waste both parties time. 

he wasted my time to interview him :a-bang:

It would have been a more meaningful experience had it been some lolita SYT?

This head I la kopi with, always like to interview xmm, always ask HH to attach photo to the candidate's CV if not no chance.

Life is too short to look at fugly coworkers, though sadly the good looking ones tend to be free riders, as in jia liao bi, not office shenanigans.

Edited by hsl118

he wasted my time to interview him :a-bang:

Whats the budget ?
  On 2/15/2016 at 1:17 PM, Chucky2007 said:

I have 2 worse moment in interview back in 2007..one is when a ang moh interviewer asked me some elementary industry question and ask me how I would present that.. sibei insulting.. another is with a team leader level interviewer having interview done in the common office table with everybody around..not even in the privacy of a small meeting room.

Both f up experience.. felt so small then.

That was 10 yrs ago .... now different already
  On 2/15/2016 at 1:13 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

But with passion i will be able to excel better in this position. A person that loves his job will excel well and has higher probability to earn more

Let me give u an illustration, a taxi driver with passion and without passion. The one without passion would just work to cover enough for rent cost, petrol and daily expense. While the one with passion will work harder, improves their service and work more effeciently due to higher motivation

Like that i shld apply for bank counter ... i love to count money

On 2/15/2016 at 12:31 PM, Turboflat4 said:

I already have an answer. My passion *is* eating. [laugh]

Just don't tell them you love eating my liquid produce

On 2/15/2016 at 2:16 PM, lausai88 said:

you owe me $100 effective this friday... :grin:

you HUAT AH!!!

Ask u whats ur budget , u tell me i owe u 100 .... but i like ur thinking hahahha

On 2/15/2016 at 1:13 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

Life is cruel, even if someone works with passion, the rewards may be the same as someone else who works without passion

On 2/15/2016 at 2:21 PM, Angcheek said:

Ask u whats ur budget , u tell me i owe u 100 .... but i like ur thinking hahahha

now my eyes covered by your $100 note... cannot think

to peasant lausai88, this is what $100 looks like  :grin:

post-143314-0-73446600-1455546590.jpg

On 2/15/2016 at 1:14 PM, Sunny said:

Gd luck...waiting for u to share your "passion" with us

Keke u also go buy n try, once a year affair

I ever strike once during hong bao draw but very very small amount, still happy, hehehe

On 2/15/2016 at 1:16 PM, Enye said:

If not higher pay, go for interview for what?

On 2/15/2016 at 2:28 PM, Pinobii said:

Life is cruel, even if someone works with passion, the rewards may be the same as someone else who works without passion

Then throw back the question to interviewer

Which would u hire? An employee with passion or without passion given same capabilities and qualification? Haha