Worst interview moment?

Runforyourlife

On 2/15/2016 at 12:17 PM, Kb27 said:

The interviewer manager look at my asking pay and snicker.

Mind you, I only ask half of my last drawn pay, with 20 yrs experience after I was retrenched, not a fresh-grad.

能屈能伸的汉子。

敬礼!

On 2/15/2016 at 10:32 AM, Runforyourlife said:

I recall when I first entered the workforce, I told the interviewer it's my passion to work in this industry. He said 'passion can 当饭吃?'

I ended the interview with some nasty words for the director.

No prizes if I got the job or not :D

So that director must be having no passion for his job..

Do you put your current and expected salary in your application when asked?

I had the opposite of interviewer telling me that my current pay is too high.

The HR called me up and told me I was not shortlisted for the position I applied 'cos my expected salary is too low. Instead, offered me a lower position (someone just resigned) at around my current pay. 

I have went to outplacement agency and the consultants all said that DO NOT put your current and expected salary even if asked.

So, all please do ourselves a favour, do not put it down too early. Go for the interview and ask as many questions about the job, then put it forward only when asked.

Don't risk getting sifted out too early or underpaying yourself.

If in doubt, put $0 or $1 (think you can do it for online application with this compulsory field). You can always explain during the interview.

Edited by Kangadrool

On 2/15/2016 at 10:40 AM, Nzy said:

Now got standard answer for this already. My poly lecturer taught us what to say if the interviewer ever say this. Lol.

I already have an answer. My passion *is* eating. [laugh]

On 2/15/2016 at 10:34 AM, Pinobii said:

Lol now after many years, do u agree with that director or not?

I agree with that director.

I hv lotsa passion for women...go out Nia... hv to spend $ de....haiz...like bro @staff69

On 2/15/2016 at 12:26 PM, Sunny said:

When I was about to leave I said smth along e lines of him having a lot of passion in his tummy, which I lack.
  On 2/15/2016 at 12:26 PM, Sunny said:

When I was about to leave I said smth along e lines of him having a lot of passion in his tummy, which I lack.

Tell him passion cannot 当饭吃, but no passion cannot even 吃饭

How about conviction?

On 2/15/2016 at 12:30 PM, Kangadrool said:

The HR called me up and told me I was not shortlisted for the position I applied 'cos my expected salary is too low. Instead, offered me a lower position (someone just resigned) at around my current pay.

I have went to outplacement agency and the consultants all said that DO NOT put your current and expected salary even if asked.

So, all please do ourselves a favour, do not put it down too early. Go for the interview and ask as many questions about the job, then put it forward only when asked.

If in doubt, put $0 or $1 (think you can do it for online application with this compulsory field). You can always explain during the interview.

Good advice bro. Already fallen into this trap few times liao though

On 2/15/2016 at 12:31 PM, Sunny said:

I agree with that director.

I hv lotsa passion for women...go out Nia... hv to spend $ de....haiz...like bro @staff69

Keke ur passion for women is surely a strong & burning one [:p]

Got no need spend $ de, but i think u will run far far away

Coz if the women fall in love with u, very mai fan :grin:

On 2/15/2016 at 12:46 PM, Pinobii said:

Keke ur passion for women is surely a strong & burning one [:p]

Got no need spend $ de, but i think u will run far far away

Coz if the women fall in love with u, very mai fan :grin:

Ya..Mistress = mi stress

  On 2/15/2016 at 10:43 AM, Spring said:

So what's the standard reply, don't mind sharing?

Can't remember the exact thing. But it was along the lines of saying that passion alone is no use, but because you are passionate about this industry, you are definitely going to work hard and learn more about it. Without passion, you will still be hardworking but less likely to be in the industry for long. Forgot what else he said already. Lol. Never used that cuz I never encountered any interviewer who actually said that.

Edited by Nzy

On 2/15/2016 at 12:48 PM, Sunny said:

Ya..Mistress = mi stress

Mistress very high maintenance de, but if u find a rich one, u wont be stressed for sure

Kekeke

Even i don't write in my resume of my current and expected salary, but also need to write it down on the job application form on the interview day. There was once i didn't write on the job application form, the interviewer asked me to write before he starts the interview!?

On 2/15/2016 at 12:50 PM, Pinobii said:

Mistress very high maintenance de, but if u find a rich one, u wont be stressed for sure

Kekeke

If know any one pls Intro me ..eat soft rice can be a passion too...

On 2/15/2016 at 12:15 PM, hsl118 said:

Yao siu headhunter might suan say you are grossly underpaid, deserve better, should really consider a move to a big player in the industry while you still have the first mover advantage.

Then you asked headhunter, eh siao lian eh, you always volunteer in NS?

Some job hunter or agency will tell you that you are underpaid, and should expect a higher salary in the next job interview. But when reached the company for interview, the interviewer still will tell you that your expected salary is high!

If u go through a headhunter, he Shld Hv done some groundwork on the pay so you wouldn't be caught in this situation but if u apply directly then think u r right not to put the pay down unless u know what's the going rate. Anyway, good awareness, thanks!

On 2/15/2016 at 10:32 AM, Runforyourlife said:

I recall when I first entered the workforce, I told the interviewer it's my passion to work in this industry. He said 'passion can å½é¥­å?'

I ended the interview with some nasty words for the director.

No prizes if I got the job or not :D

Is the interviewer from china? What ever things they have not seen before, they ask "这东西可以吃吗?"

Forgive him if he is, coz he does not know what is passion, and truly wondering if it can it be eaten.

Edited by Ender

Agreed, for real headhunter (not agency or normal kind search firm) situation. However, those are different kettle of fish.

On 2/15/2016 at 1:03 PM, Spring said:

If u go through a headhunter, he Shld Hv done some groundwork on the pay so you wouldn't be caught in this situation but if u apply directly then think u r right not to put the pay down unless u know what's the going rate. Anyway, good awareness, thanks!