Ian1 2nd Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 No ideas guys with regards to downside of old date of manufacture. All that really matters is the OMV that is decided by LTA is still very competitve and often much higher than Kah Motors and other PIs. But the good thing is SPL automatically replace the 12V car battery FOC without even asking.. Maybe if plan to re-sell the car after 1-2 years, resale value may be hurt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 (edited) no worry la .... at the end of the day ... when trade-in or sell in sgcarmart dealer always give "paper value" + a few Ks nia even my ride is from AD, tell them tip-top condition, full service records from AD, all parts serviced and changed when dealer take in my car ... they don't GIVE A S.HIT ... it's all about demand/supply and how much they can sell & profit mileage can tweak, after sales sevice/warranty they will siam all liability to outside workshop with $1K-$2K purchased extended warranty it's all about paper value and the new car price benchmark ... it's a uniquely singapore market that does not apply to any other countries except singapore simply because of PARF and COE that's why used car depreciation is trailing new car because whether new or old ... the lifespan is only 10 years in this case ... buy low sell low ... nothing much to lose ... at the end of the day, still get paper value + body Maybe if plan to re-sell the car after 1-2 years, resale value may be hurt. Edited December 26, 2017 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian1 2nd Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 it's like going to valueshop buying "expiring soon" product at a discount does that mean valueshop is making a loss or razor thin margin? they could have sourced their product at a huge discount too ... What SPL paid for their stocks, no one knows. I won't claim to know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sowfat 2nd Gear December 26, 2017 Share December 26, 2017 If anyone booked the Sienta Hybrid G from SPL on the last round of COE bidding. After COE rebate, effective all in is at 92k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 What SPL paid for their stocks, no one knows. I won't claim to know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian1 2nd Gear December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 (edited) for a car buyer, i think you know more about the company than the directors themselves... do you do that for all your purchases? Like everyone else, I also scared they run away with my money! So I did due diligence. Check with ACRA filings, talk to other PIs in the business. Questioned other PIs why their OMV so much lower than SPL but charge so much higher!! I did the same research on developers when buying local and overseas properties. I have an equity / corporate research background as I ran the Equity Research arm of one of the big 3 local bank's here. The thing that got me pondering is, of all the PIs in Singapore, why the hell did Uber / LCR entrust nearly $50m in cash booking deposit to SPL. I am certain LCR have done thorough research prior to taking the gamble and before their little business dispute. Edited December 28, 2017 by Ian1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 Like everyone else, I also scared they run away with my money! So I did due diligence. Check with ACRA filings, talk to other PIs in the business. Questioned other PIs why their OMV so much lower than SPL but charge so much higher!! I did the same research on developers when buying local and overseas properties. I have an equity / corporate research background as I ran the Equity Research arm of one of the big 3 local bank's here. The thing that got me pondering is, of all the PIs in Singapore, why the hell did Uber / LCR entrust nearly $50m in cash booking deposit to SPL. I am certain LCR have done thorough research prior to taking the gamble and before their little business dispute. some of the things you mentioned don't think can get from research... unless you actually visit the company and do an interview before buying the car lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 for a car buyer, i think you know more about the company than the directors themselves... do you do that for all your purchases? so obvious you still wanna ask? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 some of the things you mentioned don't think can get from research... unless you actually visit the company and do an interview before buying the car lolHe's juz lucky he hasn't got a PI run road story to tell So best to leave it as is n dun ask anymore.....lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 so obvious you still wanna ask? i want to learn how he do it mah... so if next time i buy from PI i want research kilat kilat then can buy..... He's juz lucky he hasn't got a PI run road story to tell So best to leave it as is n dun ask anymore.....lol he research so kilat... the PI he choose sure won't run road de lar....................... i think Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 i want to learn how he do it mah... so if next time i buy from PI i want research kilat kilat then can buy..... he research so kilat... the PI he choose sure won't run road de lar....................... i think then you buy from his PI lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 28, 2017 Share December 28, 2017 then you buy from his PI lor. but i learn hor is must ownself research ownself leh.... later other people research fake one how.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian1 2nd Gear December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 Dude i suggest do your own research Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 are we expecting more news on PI collected downpayment, close shop and run road? I am thinking in 2018 / 2019, at least half the PIs will fade away given the record number of COE renewals and zero car growth policy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 CNY coming. The same "Run Road" trend will be back for Travel agency and PI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 They gave me a $55,000 COE when COE corrected to $49,000 in Jul 2018. don't understand this statement. was it at Open Cat COE ? If so then its pegged to the eventual Cat A or Cat B level during registration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ian1 2nd Gear December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 (edited) don't understand this statement. was it at Open Cat COE ? If so then its pegged to the eventual Cat A or Cat B level during registration.No... the Open Cat is pegged to the corresponding Cat B at the time of the successful bid.... not the time of registration. Mine i got $55,000 open cat while cat B was $$55,429 if i remembered correctly. But the latest bid prior to my registration was $48k to $50k On my log card, it also says my COE value is $55,000 Edited December 29, 2017 by Ian1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic December 29, 2017 Share December 29, 2017 No... the Open Cat is pegged to the corresponding Cat B at the time of the successful bid.... not the time of registration. Mine i got $55,000 open cat while cat B was $$55,429 if i remembered correctly. But the latest bid prior to my registration was $48k to $50k On my log card, it also says my COE value is $55,000 Oic, got it. Understood. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...