Tianmo Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 3 minutes ago, Lala81 said: sometimes i dunno what's in the marble coating. So i'm more hesitant. At least i know what's in the non stick coating of the Tefal pan. It's just teflon. Lol After going one round, I think oil your pans is still the best option in cooking... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 5 minutes ago, Lala81 said: non stick coating pot can use as dutch oven meh? Thought happy call the handles all plastic. Mine were all one pc finishing, the whole pot is one pc metal, not plastic. But wait, the cover is glass, and I think the knot is plastic... my though is if the pot can tahan the hot stove fire, it sld be able to tahan the oven heat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 12 minutes ago, Tianmo said: Mine were all one pc finishing, the whole pot is one pc metal, not plastic. But wait, the cover is glass, and I think the knot is plastic... my though is if the pot can tahan the hot stove fire, it sld be able to tahan the oven heat... Only pure cast iron can withstand baking temperatures with zero issues. Hence those that really max their oven, use cast iron. Some will use 2 cast iron skillet (1 thin and 1 deep) to kiap together to become a dutch oven. For enameled dutch oven, the Lodge is able to tolerate up to 260 degrees. Whereas some dutch ovens can do only up to 230. Also if u have composite knobs usually not recommended above 200. Most dutch oven recipes usually just use 180 deg. The higher end enameled ovens have steel knobs. Glass definitely buay sai i think. max temp is about 170 and those are bakeware glass. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 2 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Only pure cast iron can withstand baking temperatures with zero issues. Hence those that really max their oven, use cast iron. Some will use 2 cast iron skillet (1 thin and 1 deep) to kiap together to become a dutch oven. For enameled dutch oven, the Lodge is able to tolerate up to 260 degrees. Whereas some dutch ovens can do only up to 230. Also if u have composite knobs usually not recommended above 200. Most dutch oven recipes usually just use 180 deg. The higher end enameled ovens have steel knobs. Glass definitely buay sai i think. max temp is about 170 and those are bakeware glass. Heng I threw away liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Yes That's why i let it rust inside the cupboard. It's a 36cm wok. So it's kinda hard to use for anyone who's not familiar with it. My this wok is japanese carbon steel. Haha not cheap. $200+. Unfortunately i don't use it enough to be able to maintain it properly. Even the kai guo takes at least about 2 weeks to get the coat on. Your 26cm wok much more usable for daily cooking. Wow wow $200 for carbon steel is super high end grade already, mine is less than $40 I think 😪😪. Anothee wow is 36 CM is very big, I cook for 9 adults , 32 CM at times can be slightly undersize but is a good size that is very manageable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 50 minutes ago, Lala81 said: sometimes i dunno what's in the marble coating. So i'm more hesitant. At least i know what's in the non stick coating of the Tefal pan. It's just teflon. Lol Is teflon harmful if makan in small qty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: Yes That's why i let it rust inside the cupboard. It's a 36cm wok. So it's kinda hard to use for anyone who's not familiar with it. My this wok is japanese carbon steel. Haha not cheap. $200+. Unfortunately i don't use it enough to be able to maintain it properly. Even the kai guo takes at least about 2 weeks to get the coat on. Your 26cm wok much more usable for daily cooking. Heng, my son not into asian culinary. Can save $200 for his practices in the future. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 8 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Wow wow $200 for carbon steel is super high end grade already, mine is less than $40 I think 😪😪. Anothee wow is 36 CM is very big, I cook for 9 adults , 32 CM at times can be slightly undersize but is a good size that is very manageable. This kinda carbon steel woks only available at wholesalers. Normal shops wont sell one. Cos most youngsters 99% wont buy such stuff. Yeah MIC vs MIJ. I bought mine from Taka. Supposed to last a lifetime anyway unless handles break. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 5 minutes ago, Ender said: Is teflon harmful if makan in small qty? Teflon is chemically inert. As of all evidence currently, it doesn't react with anything. Hence why it is allowed to use as cookware. But u should use only silicone or wooden spatulas as much as possible. Try not to use your spoon to scrape. And they cannot take high heating. Instantly will degrade. Anything that causes your vegetable oil to smoke is a no-no. So your boy will only see cast iron, SS, aluminium and copper being used in western cooking. Lucky your boy in school and still got NS. Next few years will be super tough for chefs and cooks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 (edited) 19 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Wow wow $200 for carbon steel is super high end grade already, mine is less than $40 I think 😪😪. Anothee wow is 36 CM is very big, I cook for 9 adults , 32 CM at times can be slightly undersize but is a good size that is very manageable. 32cm for 9 adults? Undersized... I use 32cm for 2A and 2C and i already find it a bit small. But granted i usually cook for leftovers as well. So a better estimate is 6-7 adult portion. If i want to cook for like a small gathering 15 pax, have to use the 36cm wok. But i havent had energy or time to do it for our families in recent years. But my tefal 32cm is a shallow bottom wok. So can serve as a frying pan but not as deep as regular wok, so bit harder to stir fry if fully loaded up with veggies etc. Meats are compact. It's the vegetables or say beehoon which is hard to stir. Edited May 21, 2020 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear May 21, 2020 Author Share May 21, 2020 2 hours ago, Lala81 said: Yes That's why i let it rust inside the cupboard. It's a 36cm wok. So it's kinda hard to use for anyone who's not familiar with it. My this wok is japanese carbon steel. Haha not cheap. $200+. Unfortunately i don't use it enough to be able to maintain it properly. Even the kai guo takes at least about 2 weeks to get the coat on. Your 26cm wok much more usable for daily cooking. My mom's wok from market. Typical old school type. Solid cast iron and used for many years. V well used and oiled. Actually all non stick ones can pose some health risk. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 7 minutes ago, Jusnel said: My mom's wok from market. Typical old school type. Solid cast iron and used for many years. V well used and oiled. Actually all non stick ones can pose some health risk. Yeah. I bought mine. Sorta an extravagant buy. Like buying le creuset version of dutch ovens. Cast iron is similar. But heavier and thicker cos it is not manufactured in plates like Carbon steel. Behaves similar when heated. Just don't go high heat. The health risks are unknown really for these types of non stick coatings. But Teflon has been around for 40 years and it's still around. So should be ok bah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 1 hour ago, Lala81 said: 32cm for 9 adults? Undersized... I use 32cm for 2A and 2C and i already find it a bit small. But granted i usually cook for leftovers as well. So a better estimate is 6-7 adult portion. If i want to cook for like a small gathering 15 pax, have to use the 36cm wok. But i havent had energy or time to do it for our families in recent years. But my tefal 32cm is a shallow bottom wok. So can serve as a frying pan but not as deep as regular wok, so bit harder to stir fry if fully loaded up with veggies etc. Meats are compact. It's the vegetables or say beehoon which is hard to stir. Yes, those non stick frying pans are shallow, my carbon steel wok is 9.5cm deep, your high end 36 cm would be at least 10cm deep. My 32 cm wok can cook 2 packets of chillie brand pork leg beehoon with no problem. My dinner cooking is usually 1 steam using induction, 1 mutlicooker to pressure cook soup, one air fry , one baked whatever, the wok will cook vege and another stir fry dish, so there will be enough variety for all and yet do not have to cook big serving per dish, and many dishes can do parallel cooking in one go😅😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 (edited) 21 minutes ago, Lala81 said: Yeah. I bought mine. Sorta an extravagant buy. Like buying le creuset version of dutch ovens. Cast iron is similar. But heavier and thicker cos it is not manufactured in plates like Carbon steel. Behaves similar when heated. Just don't go high heat. The health risks are unknown really for these types of non stick coatings. But Teflon has been around for 40 years and it's still around. So should be ok bah. Cast iron and carbon steel wocks are made from raw iron, by right should be of least health risk, it is why I choose carbon steel. Even stainless steel woks are not as risk free as iron woks. Just google around and you can find enough health safety discussions about carbon and cast iron cookware. Of course read with an open mind, some of the papers can be bias. https://bestkitchenguides.com/is-carbon-steel-cookware-safe/ Edited May 21, 2020 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 7 minutes ago, Ct3833 said: Cast iron and carbon steel wocks are made from raw iron, by right should be of least health risk, it is why I choose carbon steel. Even stainless steel woks are not as risk free as iron woks. Just google around and you can find enough health safety discussions about carbon and cast iron cookware. Of course read with an open mind, some of the papers can be bias. https://bestkitchenguides.com/is-carbon-steel-cookware-safe/ Lol SS pipes carries all your water leh. I think if SS is dangerous, nothing much u can do about it Lol yeah agreed. Iron/steel/glass/ceramic is probably the safest compared to others. But teflon products been around for many years. And they are chemically inert. So just take care of them, i don't think they are too dangerous. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 I saw Ben Yeo from Channel 8 recommending this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 (edited) 6 hours ago, Tianmo said: I bought 1 flying pan and 2 pots from Taka, cannot be imitation I think. All up lorry super fast also, no different from those Sunday market look a likes... Ei told myself everything i buy must be maid-proof, otherwise eveythingnwill ip lorry very fast. For wok, it is why best to buy carbon steel,the wok can be re treated even if臭乾(烧焦) , and by using it, the maid will be forced to learn how to properly using a wok. Cheap and good.😅😅 but we ourselves must learn a trick or two in order to teach them the proper use of it. Edited May 21, 2020 by Ct3833 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 21, 2020 Share May 21, 2020 My Tefal one used since last September. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...