2BDriver Hypersonic April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 https://sg.news.yahoo.com/plane-leaves-seattle-napping-airport-worker-stuck-cargo-022517082--finance.html Plane leaves Seattle with napping airport worker stuck in cargoBy By Eric M. Johnson | Reuters – Tue, Apr 14, 2015 SEATTLE (Reuters) - A Los Angeles-bound Alaska Airlines flight made an emergency landing at a Seattle-area airport on Monday afternoon after it took off with a worker trapped in a cargo area under the cabin where he had fallen asleep, the U.S. carrier said. The pilot of Alaska Airlines flight 448 reported hearing banging from beneath the aircraft after takeoff from Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, south of Seattle, the statement said. Screaming could also be heard from the cargo hold, an airport spokesman said. When the aircraft returned safely after being in the air for 14 minutes, a ramp agent was found inside the pressurized and temperature-controlled front cargo hold, the statement said. After exiting, the Menzies Aviation employee told authorities he had fallen asleep, Alaska Airlines said in a statement. "The ramp agent appeared OK, and was transported to the hospital as a precaution," the airline said on its website. "We are actively investigating the matter." ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 You are a saint. I would have left after the second message without reply or after 5 mins. I used to have such "friend" during my reservist days. He's not my buddy, section or even platoon mate. Just some guy in my unit that happened to know I stay near him.He ask me to tongbang him to and from home. Out of courtesy and being friendly, I was ok about it. I did that till ICT ends.Then the following year, before the new ICT start, suddenly he called me to ask if can tongbang to book in. This time I wasn't very enthusiatic about it but since it's a once a year thing, I sua sua say ok. I told him 6am as I'm still driving an OPC that time. Need to reach camp by 7am. He say okay.Next morning I woke up, tired and sleepy and reached his block at 6am. I SMSed him I'm down. He replied he just woke up and tell me to wait.WTF!!OK, nvm, I wait, I thought at most he will come down at 6:15am, still got time to camp before 7am.6:15am, no shadow, I SMSed him, no reply.6:20am, SMSed again, no reply.6:25am, SMSed again, he finally replied. "please wait, I'm having breakfast."WHAT!!?? I wokeup at 5:45am, skipping breakfast just to reach you place at 6am, and you give me this bullcrap??? WTF!!6:30am, SMSed again, he replied. "still eating, finishing soon."I responded that I'm leaving. then he replied "ok ok, I coming down now"6:35am, he came out and hopped into my car.I lose my cool and scolded him. He say he misread my SMS as 7am. Then me ask me "what's the rush anyway? book in is 8am". This guy has no car and my explanation of my car being OPC and cannot drive by 7am, via SMS, means nothing to him.I HOT liao!I gave this bugger a "hell of a ride", I've never seen anyone grip the roof handle so tightly before, not even my wife.luckily still managed to reach the Camp at 7.05am.The bugger never look for me again. Nope, he was never on my phonelist. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 You are a saint. I would have left after the second message without reply or after 5 mins. I will wait until he/ she come down and drive off. Don't say I never wait. 😪 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged April 15, 2015 Share April 15, 2015 Un un un un unbelievable.... that's what you are... so near yet so far... I will wait until he/ she come down and drive off. Don't say I never wait. 😪 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WilliamY 4th Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Is it just me? If he was my boss, I gladly offer the ride and sometimes go out of the way. Today, I wondered is this action was because (1) out of respect, (2) carry ball s, (3) being kind hearted, (4) a bit of the three options. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lycanthrope 4th Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 oh yes ..not forgetting slamming the bloody door close.. knn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 (edited) oh yes ..not forgetting slamming the bloody door close.. knn Damn!! This is the classic case of giving someone a ride and got return for this. I have encountered many cases of these. Tell them nicely to close more gently and they will look at you as if the door is going to give way anytime and you are trying to act bossy just because we give him/her a ride. I do understand you do not or have not own a car in your life before so you do not understand the heart pain a car owner feel when their car is being ill-treated. :angry: :angry: :angry: But can't they just have that bit of EQ to feel for the owner too?? Edited April 16, 2015 by L23 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IDrago 3rd Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Totally agree man.. that friend that I mentioned in my earlier post… he is a door slammer too… My car literately trembles when he slams the door shut!!! The other thing I am pissed about is, you know when you have a low slung car and you park beside a kerb that is pretty high, that bugger will just open the door without thinking and bang it against the kerb or scratch the underside of the door against the kerb’s surface!! Damn!! This is the classic case of giving someone a ride and got return for this. I have encountered many cases of these. Tell them nicely to close more gently and they will look at you as if the door is going to give way anytime and you are trying to act bossy just because we give him/her a ride. I do understand you do not or have not own a car in your life before so you do not understand the heart pain a car owner feel when their car is being ill-treated. :angry: :angry: :angry: But can't they just have that bit of EQ to feel for the owner too?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L23 6th Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 Totally agree man.. that friend that I mentioned in my earlier post… he is a door slammer too… My car literately trembles when he slams the door shut!!! The other thing I am pissed about is, you know when you have a low slung car and you park beside a kerb that is pretty high, that bugger will just open the door without thinking and bang it against the kerb or scratch the underside of the door against the kerb’s surface!! " What the problem, bro?? It's just a car.. You can get a better 1 next time round easily... " Straight away boil all the way up :angry: :angry: :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
IDrago 3rd Gear April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 My friend not so bad la, at least he won’t pass such snide remarks.. just that he keeps forgetting and repeating the deed over and over again!! " What the problem, bro?? It's just a car.. You can get a better 1 next time round easily... " Straight away boil all the way up :angry: :angry: :angry: 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 solution is put coilover, when got passenger you don like, go adjust stiffness max up. they sure won't look for you anymore. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic April 16, 2015 Share April 16, 2015 solution is put coilover, when got passenger you don like, go adjust stiffness max up. they sure won't look for you anymore. Why spend monies to change your car parts, you just go to "Popular Bookshop" buy a box of thumbtack to place it onto the seat for this idiots to sit on 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear April 17, 2015 Share April 17, 2015 Just off - track abit, reminds me of this irritating passenger I ferried.She's one of my ex-gf's "best mate". As the saying goes, every slim pretty girl will have a bestie who is ugly and weighs a ton.This passenger fits the bill perfectly.As godzilla is her friend, I have no choice but to ferry her too right? I remember we were going up the carpark at Craig's place (off Duxton Road). At that time, the humps there were pretty high and because mine was a lowered car, I knew that my rear bodykit would scrap the hump if godzilla did not get off.I told her nicely, why don't you get off and wait while I park the car, you don't have to walk so far. - I didn't hurt her egoShe didn't get the hint and insisted that she was OK.I then told her that my is very low, so it might not be able to clear the hump, I even asked my ex to alight so they can keep each other company while I parked, fair right.again she said no and continued to yak yak yak.So I thought nvm la, don't think it will be that bad. Well, as I slowly manovered the hump, there was a loud scrapping sound upon contact. There was a one sec silence BUT YET, the fat b*tch did wanna move. I drove foward, boom! Snap !!. It was as loud as a plane crash.I was damn dulan, I turn around and looked at her saying, now, please get off the that car. She gave me the blank look, my ex had to alight and yank her off the car...The damage? My rear bumper was cracked and one side came loose.Did I also mention eveytime I send godzilla home, she would complain to my ex about this guy trying to get fresh with her or that taxi uncle beo her in a lewd manner, etc.I almost wanted to throw up... really thick skinned, bus sized and irritating sow she is. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 30, 2016 Share January 30, 2016 http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/grabtaxi-launches-new/2252114.html SINGAPORE: Car-hailing app GrabTaxi on Wednesday (Nov 11) launched a new service called GrabHitch, which allows drivers with extra space in their vehicles to pick up passengers going the same way. This carpooling service may be used for journeys of all kinds, and passengers can pre-book a ride seven days in advance and up to 15 minutes before pickup. For instance, a driver who commutes to work daily can carpool with a passenger who takes a similar route using GrabHitch. All fares are paid via GrabPay, which is GrabTaxi's cashless credit card payment option. The fares will cover the driver's variable costs, such as petrol and car depreciation, and it is calculated based on the distance of the ride. Passengers will be able to view the fares before booking the ride to ensure they are comfortable with paying the price. Under Singapore's carpooling regulations, GrabHitch drivers can only accept up to two rides a day. GrabHitch drivers are not required to take up commercial insurance, and are covered by their personal motor insurance. Under these regulations, drivers who carpool are also not allowed to accept monetary benefit or payment in kind for profit, but only to cover the expenses incurred during the ride. GrabTaxi said there are many benefits to this new service. Drivers can offset the cost of their journey while passengers pay half the cost of a taxi. Safety features such as the option to travel with someone of the same gender and live tracking of the app are also put in place. Potential GrabHitch drivers must provide documentation including their driving licence, motor vehicle registration and insurance. GrabTaxi said that there will also be further verification checks for major traffic offences, to ensure the safety of passengers. Drivers who are interested in signing up for GrabHitch can do so during its beta driver signup phase from Nov 11 to 30. The service will be launched to all consumers in Singapore by the end of 2015, it said. http://blog.moneysmart.sg/opinion/grabhitch-no-brainer-for-passengers-and-drivers-in-singapore/ I’m probably going to show my age here, but I’m old enough to remember the days when we had to carpool to get into the CBD for free. Back in the days before the dreaded ERP took over our lives, you had to buy a paper license that cost $3 to $5 per day to get into the CBD. In order to encourage carpooling and reduce the number of cars on the road, cars with four or more passengers were exempted from this payment. Unfortunately, Singaporeans being Singaporeans, we found a loophole and in the end, this exemption was soon removed. As a result, carpooling became less popular in Singapore, even though a local carpooling website ShareTransport.sg boasts over 23,000 users and says there are now over 1,200 messages on their site each month. But that’s all supposed to change now. Huh? What’s different now?In March this year, laws were passed to clarify exactly what is legal when it comes to offering carpooling services. The biggest news out of all this was that drivers could now legally take payment from passengers who hitch a ride. This is in line with the Government’s continued efforts to discourage car ownership and incentivise car-sharing. The laws ensure that ‘true’ carpooling is being promoted, and prevents profit-minded drivers from essentially running their own Uber or GrabCar service (which, while also legal, requires proper commercial insurance and licensing). These include preventing drivers from soliciting passengers on the road, at parking places or public stands. In addition, drivers can only offer a maximum of two carpool rides per day. But most importantly, drivers and passengers need to agree on four things before the start of the carpool ride. These are pick-up points, drop-off points, the date and the payment amount. Wow, that sounds like it could be a complicated process. How would we know how much a trip is worth?Well, that’s exactly the problem isn’t it? There are many factors to consider. Other than the increased petrol usage which the driver would definitely consider, there’s also the question of ERP charges, and one could even take into account the maintenance cost due to wear-and-tear. On the other hand, the purpose of carpooling is that it’s not supposed to be for profit. As a result, the agreed payment amount should be significantly lower than flagging down a taxi. GrabTaxi tries to solve this with a new feature to their app – GrabHitchThe newly introduced GrabHitch function of the GrabTaxi app hopes to make this decision making process easier. Unlike the Uber app, which calculates the fare based on distance travelled and time taken, GrabHitch calculates the fare based on distance alone. This means that any other costs, such as ERP charges, will still need to be agreed upon between driver and passenger. However, using the existing GrabTaxi framework, passengers can input a specific location as their pickup point on the app to avoid any confusion. How does this help me as a passenger?Well, cheaper rides that are still comfortable and convenient, for one! GrabTaxi claims that their GrabHitch service can save you half of what taking a taxi would cost you. Furthermore, you can make it even cheaper if you can find others who need to take the same trip, like colleagues or classmates who live near you. Even though GrabHitch doesn’t allow more than one booking at a time, you can have as many fellow passengers as there are available seats in the car. What if I want to be a driver? What’s in it for me?Simply put, since you’re not allowed to go out of your way to pick up a passenger, you can only accept carpool jobs for a trip that you’re going to be making anyway. So why not earn something from it? Sure, you’re not allowed to make a profit, but at least you can defray the cost of your petrol. Think of it as getting a “free” trip to work – you only have to do the driving. Furthermore, GrabHitch allows you to decide if you want to take a booking or not, so it’s not like you have to accept the booking if you’re not comfortable with it. You also don’t have to worry about finding small change or handling grubby money and feeling like a taxi driver or a chauffeur. Using GrabTaxi’s GrabPay function, all transactions are cashless and are paid using the debit or credit card in the passenger’s app. GrabTaxi will then give the money to the drive once bank account details are provided. Seems legit. What do I have to lookout for?Ultimately, GrabTaxi isn’t providing the GrabHitch feature for free. They are a business after all, and this is something that’s been left out of most of the conversation about GrabHitch. In the terms and conditions, GrabTaxi states that “up to 20%” of each stipulated fare at the end of the journey is owed to the company as a “software usage fee”. This is similar to the charge that Uber and GrabCar impose on their drivers. Except, you know, those drivers actually still manage to earn a profit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 30, 2016 Share January 30, 2016 Think this has to have a thread on it's own. Anyone tried this as driver?? Seems interesting enough. No need extra insurance coverage, no need cash payment, Grab takes 20% cut, only can offer hitch 2 times a day. Looks like a Airbnb for taxi. Thinking of registering as driver, maybe can pick up chio OL to CBD? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
uniquely_ad 5th Gear January 30, 2016 Share January 30, 2016 The only issue i could think of for me its, Time im very sensitive when people are late. It might affect all the people whom hitch the ride together 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged January 30, 2016 Share January 30, 2016 The only issue i could think of for me its, Time im very sensitive when people are late. It might affect all the people whom hitch the ride together Maybe do it when your mood feels like it? Like after work, off day, no hurry. I'm sure the app can rate passengers as well as drivers' experience. If late, give bad ratings lor. I got loud exhaust on my car, dunno will get bad rating or good ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 30, 2016 Share January 30, 2016 (edited) First time someone screams lape or morest the whole thing goes tits up (no pun intended). Drivers better keep their in car cam footage (with microphone enabled) archived all the time. Edited January 30, 2016 by Turboflat4 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...