Fcw75 Hypersonic March 5, 2018 Share March 5, 2018 There is a cap so that hitch don't cannabalize the grab car business, grab don't take a cut for hitch, don't think it is LTA who will be concerned.It’s LTA that set the 2 trips per day. Not to pour cold water over what u doing, hope you are aware that anything that happen after the 2nd carpooling trip, eg, accident that results in injuries or more serious case like fatality to the passengers u are hitching may land you in serious trouble. Insurance may not be covered for yourself and the passengers as you are already flouting LTA's carpooling regulation. Grab is aware of ppl doing more than 2 trips, if not they would not have came out with updated app version restricting the number of trips ppl are doing. You can check out the FB group, some of the drivers have counters in place on the app, once they completed the 2nd trip, they will not be able to accept bookings anymore on the app. To correct some of you also, its a max of 4 pickups per trip and not as many u want. https://www.grab.com/sg/hitch/#firstTier2 How many trips can I offer a day as a Hitch driver? Based on current carpooling regulations, non-commercial drivers can only complete 2 trips in a calendar day. While we appreciate your enthusiasm for carpooling, please note that 2 trips a day limit is set by LTA regardless of whichever platform you use. We hope that you wonât put yourself and your riders at risk as your insurance may not cover if you do more than 2 trips a day in total, combined across all platforms. For drivers who are worried their insurance does not cover GrabHitch rides, remember we are the ONLY carpooling service who has purchased additional insurance for extra coverage provided no regulations are breached. Opppssss, just did 3 trips today. Let’s see if I will receive a warning SMS from Grab. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear March 5, 2018 Share March 5, 2018 I guess even have counters in place on the app which restricting the number of trips people are doing, i believe some hitch drivers might hitch passengers offline. Maybe this is why some hitch driver can earn so much within a week. quite true, and also taking only cash payment rides Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 5, 2018 Share March 5, 2018 (edited) It’s LTA that set the 2 trips per day. Opppssss, just did 3 trips today. Let’s see if I will receive a warning SMS from Grab. LTA set but there is loop hole, thats why no one is following it. Edited March 5, 2018 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cumzilla 4th Gear March 5, 2018 Share March 5, 2018 It’s LTA that set the 2 trips per day. Opppssss, just did 3 trips today. Let’s see if I will receive a warning SMS from Grab. will be ok if one is straight after another 'along the way', dun think they will be bothered to warn u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged March 5, 2018 Share March 5, 2018 (edited) Itâs LTA that set the 2 trips per day. Opppssss, just did 3 trips today. Letâs see if I will receive a warning SMS from Grab. Me thinks they have given fair warning .. but then all trips are logged and in the server.. LtA can anytime ask for the list(> 2 trips).. think they no do coz better get banyak banyak on the list then one shot fine.. Huat ah another Budget surplus.. Edited March 5, 2018 by BenTong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear March 5, 2018 Share March 5, 2018 (edited) It is always good to just follow the advised number, but people always like to test market and abuse the system then to complain when harsher enforcements come in place. Anyway if it is meant to be, all the programmer has to do is to shut off the feeds after two trips. The provider didn't do so either. Takes both hands to clap. First it is probably cheaper for the users in terms of cost, second it is supplementary to the driver pool as some professional drivers is gradually reducing after the contract is up. You must understand, uber and grab is meant to be designed for carpooling which is to hitch a ride, it was forced to all these regulations by the garmen as the taxis become less competitive. Edited March 5, 2018 by CH_CO 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 LTA set but there is loop hole, thats why no one is following it.Loop hole is where it is against the intention of the policy makers intention but somehow still allowed by the law. This is outright against the law. It is not a loop hole. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 It’s LTA that set the 2 trips per day. Opppssss, just did 3 trips today. Let’s see if I will receive a warning SMS from Grab. It's ok that you forget about the rule and do it once but try not to do that anymore as touch wood if anything happen to the passengers you hitch, it'll not be covered under the insurance as the Grabhitch will have record of you doing the third trip. Maybe you're doing stacking and not trip. Do take note that there is a difference between stacking and trip. Trip refer to you travelling from your current location to your destination. Along the way, you can pick up multiple passengers up to the limit of the passengers allow on your vehicle (this is stacking). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 It's ok that you forget about the rule and do it once but try not to do that anymore as touch wood if anything happen to the passengers you hitch, it'll not be covered under the insurance as the Grabhitch will have record of you doing the third trip. Maybe you're doing stacking and not trip. Do take note that there is a difference between stacking and trip. Trip refer to you travelling from your current location to your destination. Along the way, you can pick up multiple passengers up to the limit of the passengers allow on your vehicle (this is stacking). As a rider, i have no idea how many trip that the hitch driver has done? So if anything happen, the rider would not be covered which sounds scary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 It's ok that you forget about the rule and do it once but try not to do that anymore as touch wood if anything happen to the passengers you hitch, it'll not be covered under the insurance as the Grabhitch will have record of you doing the third trip. Maybe you're doing stacking and not trip. Do take note that there is a difference between stacking and trip. Trip refer to you travelling from your current location to your destination. Along the way, you can pick up multiple passengers up to the limit of the passengers allow on your vehicle (this is stacking). Yep, know what you meant between TRIP and PICKUP. But yesterday just want to try 3 trips with 1 pickup each to see if will get SMS warning. A bro here said he did 10 trips in a day. As a rider, i have no idea how many trip that the hitch driver has done? So if anything happen, the rider would not be covered which sounds scary. Then pay more and take normal Grab lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 Yep, know what you meant between TRIP and PICKUP. But yesterday just want to try 3 trips with 1 pickup each to see if will get SMS warning. A bro here said he did 10 trips in a day. Then pay more and take normal Grab lo. My advice to all hitch drivers to be a responsible hitch driver and not put your hitch riders at risk. Accident is named accident because you cannot foresee it coming and you can only try your best from getting into an accident. When money is involve in giving a ride to a passenger, it's consider a commercial transaction and some vehicle insurance don't cover the passengers in the case of accident. My suggestion to LTA is to relax the rule to allow up to 3 or 4 trips a day and for LTA to has a centralised database to take count of how many hitch trips a vehicle / driver has covered a day so that even if the driver using multiple hitch apps will still be only giving the max hitch trips under LTA rule, once the ma is hit, all the apps will stop allowing the driver to give hitch rider. Do not put the hitch riders at risk and wait till a major accident happen then start to blame people. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kdash Supersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 My advice to all hitch drivers to be a responsible hitch driver and not put your hitch riders at risk. Accident is named accident because you cannot foresee it coming and you can only try your best from getting into an accident. When money is involve in giving a ride to a passenger, it's consider a commercial transaction and some vehicle insurance don't cover the passengers in the case of accident. My suggestion to LTA is to relax the rule to allow up to 3 or 4 trips a day and for LTA to has a centralised database to take count of how many hitch trips a vehicle / driver has covered a day so that even if the driver using multiple hitch apps will still be only giving the max hitch trips under LTA rule, once the ma is hit, all the apps will stop allowing the driver to give hitch rider. Do not put the hitch riders at risk and wait till a major accident happen then start to blame people. good idea but LTA wont do it... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 My advice to all hitch drivers to be a responsible hitch driver and not put your hitch riders at risk. Accident is named accident because you cannot foresee it coming and you can only try your best from getting into an accident. When money is involve in giving a ride to a passenger, it's consider a commercial transaction and some vehicle insurance don't cover the passengers in the case of accident. My suggestion to LTA is to relax the rule to allow up to 3 or 4 trips a day and for LTA to has a centralised database to take count of how many hitch trips a vehicle / driver has covered a day so that even if the driver using multiple hitch apps will still be only giving the max hitch trips under LTA rule, once the ma is hit, all the apps will stop allowing the driver to give hitch rider. Do not put the hitch riders at risk and wait till a major accident happen then start to blame people. If hitch driver transact with rider personally through call or sms and not through grab app, but still collect money from rider. When accident happened, insurance dont cover also? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 If hitch driver transact with rider personally through call or sms and not through grab app, but still collect money from rider. When accident happened, insurance dont cover also? Both the driver and the rider must not say there is money transact between them lor.. Can say they're friends and the driver just giving a free ride to the rider. Unless the driver and the rider say got money transact then they self-pawn lor.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Invigorated Supercharged March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 It's ok that you forget about the rule and do it once but try not to do that anymore as touch wood if anything happen to the passengers you hitch, it'll not be covered under the insurance as the Grabhitch will have record of you doing the third trip. Maybe you're doing stacking and not trip. Do take note that there is a difference between stacking and trip. Trip refer to you travelling from your current location to your destination. Along the way, you can pick up multiple passengers up to the limit of the passengers allow on your vehicle (this is stacking). Agree, in the absence of insurance cover, the pax reserves the right to sue the driver privately. Not worth the extra few dollars. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leo72 6th Gear March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 Agree, in the absence of insurance cover, the pax reserves the right to sue the driver privately. Not worth the extra few dollars. The problem is that even if the pax sue the driver privately, the pax may not get anything in return as if the driver desperate enough to take the risk, he may not has the money to pay even if the court order him to pay. So instead of waiting for things to happen, LTA should take a more proactive role to address the issue of hitch driver giving hitch ride more than the max allow by LTA which render the insurance coverage for passengers to be void or no coverage at all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 LTA? Forget it, their hands are all tied up with escooters, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 6, 2018 Share March 6, 2018 LTA? Forget it, their hands are all tied up with escooters, etc. LTA currently super busy with escooters and bike-share firms. All others feedback and complains they have no time to attend. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...