Yeobt Supercharged February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Hi guys, as my ride still have 3yrs left, but looking to change to a cat b car. Would it economical to change my ride now as coe is at 38k or cont to wait. But if cont to wait my current ride trade in value will be getting lesser if coe drops further, hence i will need to downpay even more. As u guys mentioned that coe will cont to drop, can i say it wont drop till 10k plus. It shld hover ard 30k plus. As the demand for cars is still there. I mean for cat b cars. Apreciate all wise advice. IMO, car dealers can smell the COE prices better than any car owners. when you think COE prices will drop further, the car dealers out there will also feel the same way too. which the market trend now is heading that direction. so, the car dealers now are fearing their used stocks be trapped, and they would be more price sensitive than last year. you can expect the car dealers to offer you a lower than expected price. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
edwin15 4th Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 8k drop in coe does not translate into 8k drop in showroom price. the selling price is controlled by the agent, who may just drop the price by 3k for example. Very true. Thats why if feel that dealer being unfair. Just choose not to buy. See who blink first. Dealer advantage is that there are not many of them so easier to coordinate. Buyer advantage is that at the end of the day, dealer need to sell car to make a living. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zeally 3rd Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Not if govt steps in. Which will always be the case "Cooling measures" to come soon Mai spread fears hor. Car lite is good for all. Build more mrt, less motivation to buy cars, demand drop, price drop. Disclaimer: this comment is not backed by any data or analysis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 The total car price will NOT drop as much as the drop in COE, only if the dealers out there thinks that in the next bidding, the COE price will not be as low as the last bidding price. IMHO.Concurred bro. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 ya, no logic. 1.3k bidder time, coe is 50k for cat B. Now got 1.6k bidder but coe is 38k instead. The more the bidder, the lower the COE become If AD intend to bid, wonder why they only start bidding at the last 10 min where the systems could get hanged. With this huge drop in COE from cat B, no brainer to get a cat A car when cat B is cheaper or similar in price now. This will pull some of the cat A bidder to cat B instead Because many bids are self bidding...bid at a lower price to try luck. Including me. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andyngps 5th Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Mai spread fears hor. Car lite is good for all. Build more mrt, less motivation to buy cars, demand drop, price drop. Disclaimer: this comment is not backed by any data or analysis. Duh. Price drop leads to more demand leh.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eaton 2nd Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 I think a lot of brothers have brought cars with high Coe and feel pain. They kept coming to post Coe will never drop. Haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
helloeveryone 2nd Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 You can't assume cos there were unsuccessful bidders but whether they were individual bidders, PI or AD bidders we don't know. That said, if I were to buy a Cat B car from an AD and was not successful this round, I would bang table at the AD!!I wonder under what kind of condition the AD is not getting Cat B bid successfully today...they could possibly place lower than 38k today in the bid for customers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Possibly. Demand is low for cat b. Thus dealers gang up to bid low to drive down the price so as to create one big hoohaa like cat a and last it for two Coe biddings. Then let it drop n do again. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bacteria83 Turbocharged February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Amuse by our system Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kenneve888 4th Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Where is the KIA guy who vouched COE will never crash? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eaton 2nd Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Even cat A no demand . My friend feel so sad for being a kc spider. Don't listen advise . Just 2 months , 20k cheapers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Runforyourlife 5th Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Nvm one la it'll be insignificant in the long run. Think everyone can get at the lowest meh? He got two mths of happiness driving new car. If not den he's not in need or in love with that car. Once you decide to buy a car it's a depreciating asset from day 1. Just enjoy it. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sake Twincharged February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 not many dealers will want to sell you car without coe. Those willing will sell you at high price Ordered car in Nov 15 and taking delivery Mar 16. Price is without COE. Took a chance and told my agent not to bid for COE. Guess my gamble paid off. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Where is the KIA guy who vouched COE will never crash?He bought BMW 5 series on Dec/Jan liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Because many bids are self bidding...bid at a lower price to try luck. Including me. Not true, if by looking at the bid price once the number of bids went above the allocated quota, one would be convinced that there are not many self bidding, or at least the amount being placed in their bids are not simply t try their luck so simply . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loo 2nd Gear February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Nvm one la it'll be insignificant in the long run. Think everyone can get at the lowest meh? He got two mths of happiness driving new car. If not den he's not in need or in love with that car. Once you decide to buy a car it's a depreciating asset from day 1. Just enjoy it. Wonder if the trade in price of existing cat b cars will drop too? I asked around for my cat b 6.2years car n got offered trade in @$57k. Wonder how much can fetch now?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged February 3, 2016 Share February 3, 2016 Wonder if the trade in price of existing cat b cars will drop too? I asked around for my cat b 6.2years car n got offered trade in @$57k. Wonder how much can fetch now?? Can ask again. But be prepared for the bad news ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...