Mercedes crashes into Sg river

On 1/27/2016 at 2:19 AM, keanie said:

So is d brake faulty. Something new. Accelerator jam also problem, brake not working also problem. Once investigation completed, we should know d problem. If quick enough, should have used d parking brake. Tats is what my driving instructor do once upon a time.

I read from the chinese nite newspaper one.  He also said police ruled out foul play.

  On 1/27/2016 at 2:23 AM, Nolicense said:

The brake light was on and the car still accelerate?

step on both pedals?

Also for the lexus crash, is it possible for the engine to be switched off? or hit brake and shift lower gear? what can be done? 

wait ... do MB come with launch control? i know LC is not an easy procedure to initiate ... but i know most of the time, it always involves stepping on the brakes. (same with my car, need to be in race mode, step brake ya da ya da).. im not even sure her car would have such a feature though ..

On 1/27/2016 at 3:17 AM, Sp4wn said:

wait ... do MB come with launch control? i know LC is not an easy procedure to initiate ... but i know most of the time, it always involves stepping on the brakes. (same with my car, need to be in race mode, step brake ya da ya da).. im not even sure her car would have such a feature though ..

Waaa mine no sport mode .... only eco .

古早车 。。。

Does the electronic handbrake any use under such circumstances ?

Yah lets go install bollards everywhere so that nobody will fall into the river, fall down the hill, fall down the stairs.

I think easier to install bollards outside everyone's house, that way they won't go out into the big bad world and die. Also install bollards around their beds so they won't fall out of bed and die.

Goddamn.

• Praise 10

On 1/27/2016 at 3:15 AM, Hamburger said:

sticky throttle + brake pedal depressed.

i guess modern engine management will cut off fuel supply when it sense brake pedal depressed.

try again   (+ majority of drivers don't know how to apply max brake pressure also)

Edited by Mockngbrd

On 1/27/2016 at 3:41 AM, Myxilplix said:

Yah lets go install bollards everywhere so that nobody will fall into the river, fall down the hill, fall down the stairs.

I think easier to install bollards outside everyone's house, that way they won't go out into the big bad world and die. Also install bollards around their beds so they won't fall out of bed and die.

Goddamn.

Exactly the same thoughts as me when it comes to being kiasu kiasi everything want protection. Best is don't exist then for sure no danger  :a-fun:

Goddamn.

bollards have gaps inbetween. U don't care abt motorbikes?

retaining walls all round, pls.

On 1/27/2016 at 3:15 AM, Hamburger said:

sticky throttle + brake pedal depressed.

i guess modern engine management will cut off fuel supply when it sense brake pedal depressed.

No. It wont.

Thatz how you should launch your car in a street race for auto cars. Left leg step on brake, right leg on accelerator till rpm at 5,000rpm. On green, let go left leg(brake pedal) and you will launch the car with minimum wheel spin. 

Another way is select netural on GB, right leg on accelerator till rpm at 5,000rpm. On green, push gear lever to D and it will launch the car. This method, GB will wear very fast.

Both methods, tried and tested on my 2004 1.6A FL Nissan Sunny. [lipsrsealed] Engine no cut off.

  On 1/27/2016 at 4:03 AM, Adrianli said:

No. It wont.

Thatz how you should launch your car in a street race for auto cars. Left leg step on brake, right leg on accelerator till rpm at 5,000rpm. On green, let go left leg(brake pedal) and you will launch the car with minimum wheel spin. 

Another way is select netural on GB, right leg on accelerator till rpm at 5,000rpm. On green, push gear lever to D and it will launch the car. This method, GB will wear very fast.

Both methods, tried and tested on my 2004 1.6A FL Nissan Sunny. [lipsrsealed] Engine no cut off.

5000rpm? wa ... mine only 3500rpm max for LC. u sure urs can hit 5000?  :grin:

On 1/27/2016 at 4:05 AM, Sp4wn said:

5000rpm? wa ... mine only 3500rpm max for LC. u sure urs can hit 5000?  :grin:

Yes. I hold it at 5,000rpm. Redline was 6000 to 7000rpm.

It was also how I manually calculated my sunny's 0-100km/h timing. Spec say 12sec. But I only get 14sec. Ya, its a slow car, but do it for shiokness. [grin] Poor man's trill on b&b car.

My Sunny on NSH (look at rev meter only) :

post-2-1147834637_thumb.jpg

Edited by Adrianli

  On 1/27/2016 at 4:09 AM, Adrianli said:

Yes. I hold it at 5,000rpm. Redline was 6000 to 7000rpm.

wa, i learnt something new today sia. maybe that time nissan dont have so many GB problem ..lol!

On 1/27/2016 at 4:10 AM, Sp4wn said:

wa, i learnt something new today sia. maybe that time nissan dont have so many GB problem ..lol!

not GTR la, not computer LC, is human LC. 

Goddamn.

AND not forgetting 1 storey HDB flats so no one jump off buliding [grin]

  On 1/27/2016 at 2:23 AM, Nolicense said:

The brake light was on and the car still accelerate?

step on both pedals?

Also for the lexus crash, is it possible for the engine to be switched off? or hit brake and shift lower gear? what can be done? 

Possible that it is the floor mat that got stuck. If the floor mat slides up and covers the accelerator partially, when the person steps on the brakes, the floor mat presses down on the accelerator even harder. The harder the person steps on the brakes, the further the accelerator is depressed. This is more likely to happen if the accelerator is those that are mounted on the floor. Many Singaporeans love to add extra floor mats in their cars on top of the one that came with the car.

Edited by Nzy

On 1/27/2016 at 4:03 AM, Adrianli said:

No. It wont.

This one kills the car haha. Gearbox will kaput easily.

But some sports car nowadays have launch control which is safe for the car. Some bmw models do have this as well

  On 1/27/2016 at 4:28 AM, Thaiyotakamli said:

This one kills the car haha. Gearbox will kaput easily.

But some sports car nowadays have launch control which is safe for the car. Some bmw models do have this as well

Manual car easier. Just rev and release the clutch and handbrake together.