Threat fr Zika Virus - 1st case in SG

Maxus-MIFA9

some times i wonder... is it because they cover up all the long kang...... last time those big long kang got small fish so if mosquito lay eggs... their eggs also tio makan... 

No wonder night spots and beaches no Zika mosquitoes. I learn from you that to fight Zika, long kangs must be revealed.

Botanics garden and zoo which I bring my kids often, lots of water and plants but no mosquito, very well managed dunno how they do it

there are many frogs and lizards there [laugh]

Botanics garden and zoo which I bring my kids often, lots of water and plants but no mosquito, very well managed dunno how they do it

No Mosquito meh? I think i got bitten by mozzie when i was there lo.

Zika, Nip it in their larvae stage [thumbsup]

Still very early but credits to NEA for controlling the spread of Zika extremely well  [thumbsup]

attachicon.gif2016-09-27_13-59-20.png

Let's keep up the good effort, and pray that the 16 pregnant ladies give birth to healthy babies! 

• Praise 11

zoo no mosquito meh? I always get bitten when I go there..

...it's back.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/six-zika-cases-reported-new-cluster-at-ubi-ave-1/3203270.html

SINGAPORE: Six new Zika cases were reported on Thursday (Oct 13) according to data on the National Environment Agency's (NEA) website, after a week-long stretch that saw no new cases on most days.

A new cluster was also identified at Ubi Avenue 1, with two cases as of Thursday. An earlier Zika cluster at the same location was closed on Oct 4 after no new cases were reported there for two weeks.

Indeed a great piece of news. I wish all affected Mother-to-be and their babies remain healthy always. [flowerface] [flowerface]

Edited by Carbon82
  • Praise 10

Zika seems like dengue, it is an ongoing thing which cannot be eliminated totally.

How to eliminate when we can't eliminate dengue?

Both spread in the same way and by the same carriers.

Oh, this is quite close to home  [sweatdrop]

bro @bismarck, near you or not??

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/simon-place-has-first-zika-cluster-of-2017

First Zika cluster of 2017 reported at Simon Place in Hougang
Two locally transmitted cases of the Zika virus have been confirmed at Simon Place.PHOTO: ST FILE
PUBLISHED
2 HOURS AGO
UPDATED
13 MIN AGO

SINGAPORE - Two locally transmitted cases of the Zika virus have been confirmed at Simon Place, near Kovan in Hougang. Both are residents from the same household.

The cluster was notified on Tuesday (March 28) and vector control operations are being carried out. MOH declined to reveal personal details of the two, but ST understands neither is pregnant.

Including the two new cases, there have been eight cases of Zika detected in Singapore this year.

A cluster is formed when at least two cases have onset within 14 days and are located within 150m of each other.

Residents should remain vigilant in detecting mosquito breeding spots, as there could still be asymptomatic or mild, undiagnosed cases which can cause further transmission of the virus.

zikamaps_0.jpgPHOTO: NEA

The National Environment Agency (NEA) has commenced vector control operations and outreach activities at the cluster.

As of Wednesday (March 29), NEA has inspected about 120 out of some 400 premises in Simon Place for mosquito breeding, alongside ground checks in the vicinity.

Seven breeding habitats in homes and three in other premises have been detected and destroyed.

Indoor spraying of insecticides, together with thermal fogging and misting at outdoor areas, have been carried out.

NEA officers and grassroots volunteers are distributing information leaflets and insect repellents to households, to raise awareness of Zika.

They also stress the need to prevent mosquito breeding, and tell residents to apply repellent as a precaution.

Residents are requested to allow NEA officers to carry out inspections and indoor spraying of their homes.

The five-step Mozzie Wipeout should also be practised.

Most people infected with the Zika virus do not develop symptoms, so it may take some time before a reintroduced virus is detected.

Members of the public are advised to seek medical attention if they are unwell, especially with symptoms such as fever and rash.

They should also inform their doctors of the location of their residence and workplace.

For more information on Zika and details on current clusters, head to NEA's website at www.nea.gov.sg/zika and www.nea.gov.sg/zika-clusters.

Indeed a great piece of news. I wish all affected Mother-to-be and their babies remain healthy always. [flowerface] [flowerface]

Thinking back, the small head could be due to the consumption of rotten meat that Brazil produced, zika could be just a scapegoat.

Oh, this is quite close to home [sweatdrop]

bro @bismarck, near you or not??

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/simon-place-has-first-zika-cluster-of-2017

First Zika cluster of 2017 reported at Simon Place in Hougang

Two locally transmitted cases of the Zika virus have been confirmed at Simon Place.PHOTO: ST FILE

PUBLISHED2 HOURS AGO

UPDATED13 MIN AGO

FACEBOOK

255TWITTEREMAIL

Fabian Koh

Chew Hui Min

Abigail Ng WY

SINGAPORE - Two locally transmitted cases of the Zika virus have been confirmed at Simon Place, near Kovan in Hougang. Both are residents from the same household.

The cluster was notified on Tuesday (March 28) and vector control operations are being carried out. MOH declined to reveal personal details of the two, but ST understands neither is pregnant.

Including the two new cases, there have been eight cases of Zika detected in Singapore this year.

A cluster is formed when at least two cases have onset within 14 days and are located within 150m of each other.

Residents should remain vigilant in detecting mosquito breeding spots, as there could still be asymptomatic or mild, undiagnosed cases which can cause further transmission of the virus.

zikamaps_0.jpgPHOTO: NEA

The National Environment Agency (NEA) has commenced vector control operations and outreach activities at the cluster.

As of Wednesday (March 29), NEA has inspected about 120 out of some 400 premises in Simon Place for mosquito breeding, alongside ground checks in the vicinity.

ST_20170217_ZIKA17_2948438.jpg

st_20170217_zika17_2948438.jpg?itok=LXbp

Related Story 'Bite' from Zika worse for previous dengue victim?

Related Story Zika vaccine only after 2020: WHO

Related Story All you need to know about the Zika virus and the threat it poses

Related Story First case of pregnant woman with Zika in Singapore; potential new cluster at Bedok North Ave 3

Related Story Zika outbreak: Why free testing for mums-to-be islandwide who show symptoms

Seven breeding habitats in homes and three in other premises have been detected and destroyed.

Indoor spraying of insecticides, together with thermal fogging and misting at outdoor areas, have been carried out.

NEA officers and grassroots volunteers are distributing information leaflets and insect repellents to households, to raise awareness of Zika.

They also stress the need to prevent mosquito breeding, and tell residents to apply repellent as a precaution.

Residents are requested to allow NEA officers to carry out inspections and indoor spraying of their homes.

The five-step Mozzie Wipeout should also be practised.

Most people infected with the Zika virus do not develop symptoms, so it may take some time before a reintroduced virus is detected.

Members of the public are advised to seek medical attention if they are unwell, especially with symptoms such as fever and rash.

They should also inform their doctors of the location of their residence and workplace.

For more information on Zika and details on current clusters, head to NEA's website at www.nea.gov.sg/zika and www.nea.gov.sg/zika-clusters.

Near, too close to comfort Liao [shakehead] I think the guys from NEA will come and visit soon.