Threat fr Zika Virus - 1st case in SG

Maxus-MIFA9

Nowadays, why would you want to pay $$$ for the piece of pulp filled with ads and propagandi when you can read stuffs of every shade from multiple sources either mobile or online and real-time.

I had stop reading the "good noose" nong nong ago. I only read the news as is  :))

Do you prefer to read news that you can hold someone accountable or you prefer to read news from any shade written by an anonymous with hidden agenda? Maybe it is better to read news from multiple source with a mindset as you rightly put it "as is".

Edited by Rayleigh

Do you prefer to read news that you can hold someone accountable or you prefer to read news from any shade written by an anonymous with hidden agenda? Maybe it is better to read news from multiple source with a mindset as you rightly put it "as is".

This one is definitely debatable, and no rights and wrongs so long as no ulterior motives involve.

I am thankful to The Straits Time for improving my english in my early years as I hardly read novels. And i have to consider my kids at this stage as they are too young to be able to discern whatever has been presented online. I would like to think that despite their biased slants, they are still serving the role of maintaining proper english standard. When my kids are old enough, then upto them lah.

[thumbsdown]

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/thats-not-very-nice-guy-curses-singaporeans-to-be-infected-by-zika-virus-in

That's not cool, bro! Malaysian S'pore PR curses Singaporeans to be infected by Zika virus in rant on Facebook

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/malaysian-spore-pr-who-cursed-sporeans-to-be-infected-by-zika-virus-heres

Malaysian S'pore PR who cursed S'poreans to be infected by Zika virus: Here's what he wrote on FB before deactivating account

post-18880-0-38523900-1472907949_thumb.jpg

I scare wait I reply you liao..............Undertaker will cum and lock this thread............then start part 2 after 23 pages.......title become the 2nd case in SG..........everyone will blame me...................... :a-fun:[:p][laugh]

I did not ask him to lock and he did not lock because of me lah you nabshot face. It was a coincidence

It seems current Zika strain infection in Singapore didn't originate from Brazil, but rather an Asian variant which was last discovered during an outbreak in M'sia in 1966

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/zika-virus-here-likely-evolved-from-asian-strain-not-from-south-america-health-ministry

Zika virus in Singapore likely evolved from Asian strain, not from South America: Health Ministry

SINGAPORE - Sequencing analysis of the Zika virus found in two of the patients from the Aljunied Crescent, Sims Drive cluster has indicated that the virus likely evolved from a strain that was already circulating in South-east Asia.

The virus from these two patients was not imported from South America.

The sequencing was completed by the National Public Health Laboratory and A*STAR's Bioinformatics Institute.

"The analysis found that the virus belongs to the Asian lineage and likely evolved from the strain that was already circulating in Southeast Asia," the Health Ministry said.

45848-3-m.jpg

It seems current Zika strain infection in Singapore didn't originate from Brazil, but rather an Asian variant which was last discovered during an outbreak in M'sia in 1966

45848-3-m.jpg

Does this mean that all along we could have this strain for years. If this is the case than no need to panick liao. As all long we don't have concern for microcephaly. So this Asian strain is not that jialat.

[thumbsdown]

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/thats-not-very-nice-guy-curses-singaporeans-to-be-infected-by-zika-virus-in

That's not cool, bro! Malaysian S'pore PR curses Singaporeans to be infected by Zika virus in rant on Facebook

http://www.stomp.com.sg/singapore-seen/singapore/malaysian-spore-pr-who-cursed-sporeans-to-be-infected-by-zika-virus-heres

Malaysian S'pore PR who cursed S'poreans to be infected by Zika virus: Here's what he wrote on FB before deactivating account

That coward guy should go back to his own land. Wonder the govt can take hm to task or revoke his PR. He is not welcome to stay/work here. He forgot this island is feeding hm and his family .... shame on him.

Heard that 7 plus in the morning, traffic was quite heavy at the Woodlands and Tuas customs.

Hope that they don't start spraying insectide or repellent on our cars, when entering into Malaysia.

They have better idea to do it ???

Does this mean that all along we could have this strain for years. If this is the case than no need to panick liao. As all long we don't have concern for microcephaly. So this Asian strain is not that jialat.

Seems like it. Hope the Asian strain does not mutate into a more problematic variant.

http://www.usanews-today.com/health/2016/08/16/zika-brazil-admits-its-not-the-virus/

Nearly 90 Percent of Brazil Microcephaly Cases Occurred in the Northeast

12,000 Zika Cases Confirmed in Pregnant Colombian Women — Zero Microcephaly Cases

Data Is Lacking to Confirm Zika-Microcephaly Link

It’s also been suggested that microcephaly may be the result of Zika virus occurring alongside other infections, such as dengue and chikungunya.

Aerial Mosquito Spraying May Increase Autism Risk

Unfortunately, many may suffer as a result. In research presented at the Pediatric Academic Societies 2016 Meeting, aerial pesticide exposure was linked to an increased risk of developmental delays and autism spectrum disorder among children.20 The study compared children living in zip codes where aerial pesticide spraying was used each summer to combat mosquitoes that carry the eastern equine encephalitis virus with children living in non-aerial-spraying zip codes.

Children exposed to the aerial pesticide spraying were about 25 percent more likely to be diagnosed with autism or have a documented developmental delay than those living in areas that used other methods of pesticide application (such as manual spreading of granules).

If authorities use the supposed threat of Zika to increase aerial spraying, it could increase children’s risk of brain disorders, which is the opposite of what anti-Zika campaigns are supposed to achieve

My kid had low grade fever after being bitten by mosqitoes at her childcare.

After the zika outbreak last week, we took her to the PD and also asked if she can be tested for zika.

The response is MOH issued a memo, saying only people staying in the affected clusters, with ALL the conditions of low fever, rash and bone-ache are allowed to be tested at KKH.

So even if my kid has zika, she will not be tested and MOH does not care if she is a source

Believe they are overstretched on resources atm, but this is poor implementation

Not to be bias, but some PDs are really lousy and this could be just the PD being lazy and not the actual MOH policy.

I remember that my kid fell sick once and I took her to PD. Wanted to do some tests and get PD to refer to KKH. PD refused and gave some excuse saying that not enough reason.

The next day, I took my kid to KKH emergency clinic. Told the nurse about my concern. Immediately the nurse ask her senior nurse to speak to me. The senior nurse spoke to me and agreed that the test I wanted should be done and they even let me skip the Q given my concerns.

I later told the KKH doctor about my experience with the PD and was told that the PD not following standard practice and was not inline with what KKH would suggest. 

Not to be bias, but some PDs are really lousy and this could be just the PD being lazy and not the actual MOH policy.

I remember that my kid fell sick once and I took her to PD. Wanted to do some tests and get PD to refer to KKH. PD refused and gave some excuse saying that not enough reason.

The next day, I took my kid to KKH emergency clinic. Told the nurse about my concern. Immediately the nurse ask her senior nurse to speak to me. The senior nurse spoke to me and agreed that the test I wanted should be done and they even let me skip the Q given my concerns.

I later told the KKH doctor about my experience with the PD and was told that the PD not following standard practice and was not inline with what KKH would suggest. 

But AnE in KKH are usually on the safe side, their SOP are more than necessary for minor cases so they don't missed out on the major ones. That's why alot of kids and their parents has to bear 4 to 6 hours waiting for  test results and observations just to be to told in the end no need to be warded and sent off with paracetamol,  The PD has the expert or experiences  judgement to decide the shortest path for diagnosis, hence no need the thorough tests/observation of KKH. But there will be human errors too.

That could be true. But my point is that the above incident could be PD judgement and not KKH policy.

But agree that the 4-6 hour KKH wait is a killer.

However, I would prefer to wait 4-6 hr and then be told to go home with paracetamol rather than really got problem and have my kid warded.

Rather have effort wasted every time then to have real problem.

Problem is link between zika and this birth defect wasn't suspected until a spike in no. of babies born with this problem surfaced in Brazil just last year in conjunction with Zika outbreak in the same location. Sadly this is how medical world depends on - hard real figures from those who already infected to get authorities attention.

Even now, there is still no hard evidence to explain how Zika causes birth defect, let along to suspect which strains is more dangerous than others.

At least, more effort is now underway to understand this disease that was once considered as "mild" pathogen.

Gene sequencing and classification of each Zika strains and how they evolve is only the 1st step to a solution...which may take years and by which time the current global outbreak would have subsided, just alike any seasonal influenza and battling changing super bug.

popsci-zika-spread-larkis-washington-pos

Yes, I will not discount it as a possibility, but its very small, and unlikely a private PD would want to bear the consequence of a run-away outbreak because of this 'laziness'.

He has a business reputation to look after, and continue his medical career in SG. 

For your child's case, the PD may not follow KKH's practice, as it is a localised hospital SOP, not the MOH SOP.

What I have said, is claimed a MOH policy.

But nonetheless, for my family, and the childcare center children's sake, I can only hope it is not Zika, and she has now recovered.