Threat fr Zika Virus - 1st case in SG

Maxus-MIFA9

Not in my area lately. To give them benefit of the doubt, assume that all officers deployed to critical areas to fight fire...

Last time at my old place when I reported got mosq problem, they sent someone to come and check my house instead!!! I told them to go check the covered drains and the nearby condo construction sites, then only they go - and after that told me found breeding grounds at those places... :pissed-off:

I wonder whether all construction/designs are considered for mosquito-proof feature or not...

And Singaporean should really be all serious about exterminating mosquitoes... Should be concerted effort from all walks of lives, leaving no stones unturned.

We need to do re-education system on mozzy prevention again.

Now so many new citizen and also younger generation that don't know nuts about those prevention. It's time we bring back those retired mascot.

Interesting that the whole ASEAN is affected except malaysia. What is the thing they did right?

I remember during SARS they also not affected.

They took necessary precautions, like checking singapore cars for mosquitos.   [laugh]

does anyone still believe there was no cover up? ... i cant imagine suddenly so many get infected so fast, somebody must have known

what's there to cover up?

U know this illness resembles every other viral fever out there?

And only 1 in 5 individuals are symptomatic. Actually there's a reservoir of people out there who are not symptomatic.

And the current testing methods are only able to detect the virus for a short period of time. up to 14 days post infection. So the window is short. if there are 100 that are symptomatic, it means there were potentially up to 500 that were asymptomatic.

I believed the current root problem lies with our WHO (world health organisation).

Basic rule No 1. If there is an outbreak of any infectious disease, alert the public to keep away. This is what we are advice to do keep away from Aljunied.

But because of political and financial pressure, WHO gave the green light for a mosquito orgy feast in Brazil with the Olympics.

People from all over the world converged in Brazil helping the mosquitos to spread Zika even faster cheaper better when they return to their own country.

I believed the current root problem lies with our WHO (world health organisation).

Basic rule No 1. If there is an outbreak of any infectious disease, alert the public to keep away. This is what we are advice to do keep away from Aljunied.

But because of political and financial pressure, WHO gave the green light for a mosquito orgy feast in Brazil with the Olympics.

People from all over the world converged in Brazil helping the mosquitos to spread Zika even faster cheaper better when they return to their own country.

WE dun own WHO  -_-

Seriously has anyone seen nea officers stepping up checks in their area?

Last time reported mosquitoes issues to them, they say check already no mosquitoes...zzzz...then where the mozzies come from...zzzz

They should go comb industrial and landed estates areas

Nea officers very on the ball one.

My mother complain about them very often last time when we still using the old bamboo pole holders.

It's a plot... Soon we will see cure Liao. Then they charge high high

what's there to cover up?

U know this illness resembles every other viral fever out there?

And only 1 in 5 individuals are symptomatic. Actually there's a reservoir of people out there who are not symptomatic.

And the current testing methods are only able to detect the virus for a short period of time. up to 14 days post infection. So the window is short. if there are 100 that are symptomatic, it means there were potentially up to 500 that were asymptomatic.

so based on the sudden case jump, it means we only started testing for zika recently, before that bochap test so no case lor right? :D

This zika is pretty much unknown. Hardly any test is done to find out how destructive it is to human life. Dealing with the unknown ppl are usually more afraid.

where got unknown?

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/zika/en/

WE dun own WHO -_-

WHO belongs to every citizen on this planet. Their directives or advise can sometimes mean who gets to live and who dies.

We don't own WHO when we say our WHO similarly when we say our Planet Earth we also don't own it.

so based on the sudden case jump, it means we only started testing for zika recently, before that bochap test so no case lor right? :D

in a sense yeah, everyone just closed one eye and assume their border screening is effective.

The problem with zika is that it's less severe then even say dengue. So many people are just going to brush it off, doctors included. Only devastating for the pregnant women.

it's a successful virus like HIV. 

I think other than the brazil villages whereby there were large number of zika cases, no one in the world has started screening so many people like us.

where got unknown?

http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/zika/en/

If you look at the symptom. It's pretty much a normal symptom that people don't always pick up as major.

Extract from your link. Even who gave such a unconclusive method of how to detect.

Infection with Zika virus may be suspected based on symptoms and recent history of travel (e.g. residence in or travel to an area with active Zika virus transmission). A diagnosis of Zika virus infection can only be confirmed through laboratory tests on blood or other body fluids, such as urine, saliva or semen.

In NK, re-education means hard labour and farming work. [laugh]

We need to do re-education system on mozzy prevention again.

Now so many new citizen and also younger generation that don't know nuts about those prevention. It's time we bring back those retired mascot.

Don't think there's a coverup, just that they never bother to test. Complacency at its best.

yes, I think so too. Too lax already.

for densely populated place like ours, this type of thing cannot be complacent one.

Ok guys, let's take some concrete action, on the cheap, taobao style!!!!! :grin:

Dman got problem pasting link

Ownself search for 蚊香液

Edited by Mustank