How to handle people who stand too close when they talk?

Rainbow

On 1/16/2016 at 2:51 AM, Rainbow said:

Just joined a new team. This senior like to stand too close when he talk. When I back off, he close the distance. Got any polite way to handle? Might be a little sensitive to tell him directly. Advice appreciated. Kum Siah.

Edited by Hotamp

u may try clearing your throat, cough, or breathe (exhale) heavily? 

let him 'feel' the wind, or best, a bit of droplets  [laugh]

but of course, KAAAAA...PUI is a bit rude..no need to go to this extent  [laugh]

Some of the jokes above.. Interesting sia...

Try talking with your hands. Gesturing with your hands when he speaks to you, so there's a barrier. Or have a file / document in your hand (best is the hard file that can hold horizontally to create distance).

Alternatively, use body language, shift your stance to a more domineering one, feet wider apart and hands on hips, OR face him slightly off, as if inviting someone else into the conversation.

Otherwise, just hug him every time he comes to speak to you. Unless he's gay, then you also GG..

On 1/16/2016 at 2:51 AM, Rainbow said:

Just joined a new team. This senior like to stand too close when he talk. When I back off, he close the distance. Got any polite way to handle? Might be a little sensitive to tell him directly. Advice appreciated. Kum Siah.

Edited by Yewheng

Think maybe you wear a mask and politely tell the uncle u r sick, got some virus, u scare spread to him so keep some distance

After that, think he auto wont come close to you liao

How about pretend to sneeze when at start of conversation yet u pretend to be trying to cover nose n mouth but not that properly covered due to sudden urge to sneeze. I think like that he will be shocked for a while n keep some distance from there on.

On 1/17/2016 at 3:28 AM, Mustank said:

The mucus part is idea!

All my friends tell me hey don't stand that close ah

I don't know you very well ah :grin:

Keke u also habit to stand close to others huh [:p]

On 1/16/2016 at 5:32 AM, Rainbow said:

Not good in estimating distance, probably 1-ft plus? Yes, eye contact, plus long winded. Cant avoid due to work.

rr

Man and man. If woman, i probably can still endure.

Who ask you to let everyone know you are rainbow?

On 1/17/2016 at 1:01 PM, Kusje said:

Who ask you to let everyone know you are rainbow?

Just play rainbow: catch the rainbow

Very nice song

You guys should try

Dun shower for a week lor. Confirm ppl will keep a distance. :D

Or use the worst possible body language. Start folding your arms, look at anything else other dan the person that's talking to you, look bored, start yawning, look at your watch/iphone. All these work for me. :D  

Maybe the smell of your after-shave lotion attract him .. [inlove]  

Don't bathe and brush teeth for 3 days. Move even closer to him and he will get the message. :a-confused:

Another way is to find out which fragrant he hate most .... [sly]

Don't brush your teeth in the morning. He will stand far far away from you.