Matrix0405 5th Gear January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 (edited) Have old documents signed using an old passport (when passport had the same no. as NRIC). This old passport expired more than 5 yrs old ago and disposed. New passport was issued with new passport number. Problem lai liao. Now unable to show that the old documents are signed by me as unable to produce passport with the old number. Called ICA and was told some other people also have problem but ICA don issue/certify letters to say that the old passport (or that number) belongs to me. 1. Anybody face similar problem and how did you solve? 2. Lesson. Keep your old passport. Edited January 14, 2016 by Matrix0405 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leinad8919 Turbocharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Have old documents signed using an old passport (when passport had the same no. as NRIC). This old passport expired more than 5 yrs old ago and disposed. New passport was issued with new passport number. Problem lai liao. Now unable to show that the old documents are signed by me as unable to produce passport with the old number. Called ICA and was told some other people also have problem but ICA don issue/certify letters to say that the old passport (or that number) belongs to me. 1. Anybody face similar problem and how did you solve? 2. Lesson. Keep your old passport. Since the old passport number same as NRIC, can you produce your NRIC for verification of document signed ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Since the old passport number same as NRIC, can you produce your NRIC for verification of document signed ? Too many FT or FW around in some offices until their mind set is tune to such that the statement said that require Passport Number. They don't see other supporting documents....... In the past, if one doesn't carry a NRIC with you, can produce Driving Licence (with photo) to proof one identity. Nowadays tak pakai leow. Mati mati must see NRIC. Example in the bank cashier, either NRIC or Passport... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonpaul0104 2nd Gear January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Have old documents signed using an old passport (when passport had the same no. as NRIC). This old passport expired more than 5 yrs old ago and disposed. New passport was issued with new passport number. Problem lai liao. Now unable to show that the old documents are signed by me as unable to produce passport with the old number. Called ICA and was told some other people also have problem but ICA don issue/certify letters to say that the old passport (or that number) belongs to me. 1. Anybody face similar problem and how did you solve? 2. Lesson. Keep your old passport. new passport shows national id number so together with NRIC....it can match just my thoughts 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Have old documents signed using an old passport (when passport had the same no. as NRIC). This old passport expired more than 5 yrs old ago and disposed. New passport was issued with new passport number. Problem lai liao. Now unable to show that the old documents are signed by me as unable to produce passport with the old number. Called ICA and was told some other people also have problem but ICA don issue/certify letters to say that the old passport (or that number) belongs to me. 1. Anybody face similar problem and how did you solve? 2. Lesson. Keep your old passport. always keep your old passport. I kept mine. won't have this problem anyway, what kind of doc that needs your passport ID? bank? lawyer? emigration? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear January 14, 2016 Author Share January 14, 2016 always keep your old passport. I kept mine. won't have this problem anyway, what kind of doc that needs your passport ID? bank? lawyer? emigration? Aiya, shd have listen to you long ago, then wont have this problem. They are some legal document in Malaysia. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 How much storage space will passport take up? Always keep, even more important now that PP number will change. Same for bank passbook. Bank statements are the worse shits to manage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Singapore not the only country that issues a new number for every new passport. Always keep your old passport, for whatever reasons. I think the oldest passport I still keeping, since one from Empress Place. last time passport number was NRIC number. very simple. then came his changing number thingy. my guess is its some anti-forgery or security measure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Encounter problems in Malaysia ? Easily resolved with the right connections , for a small donation . But sorry i dont know who to approach. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Yes, anti-forgery and security measure. Singapore has always insisted on using NRIC# as PP#, but.... IIRC this was tio forced by international agreement to not to use repeated PP# last time passport number was NRIC number. very simple. then came his changing number thingy. my guess is its some anti-forgery or security measure. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 I keep all my old passports, including those for West Malaysia travel only 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lordofthekings Neutral Newbie January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 So your issue isnt abt passport number but signature issit? Why nt try showing yr bank book? I'm sure ICA hv their reasons why tey cant accede la. Ppt meant to travel leh 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 (edited) Most of the countries are now using biometric passports ... its like become a standard ... some countries don't allow or make it difficult without a biometric passport But what I don't like is that some countries that you enter dont stamp your entry or exit date on the passport ; and we are not privy to their systems of course , I still love those good old fashioned stamps on the passport Of course I know the old passports use NRIC. Before they start issuing new numbers, there could still be other need for old passports. It is a record of your past visas, travel, etc. You may not encounter them. I lived in several countries in the past decades. One country asked me for record of countries travelled in the past 10 years. Another require me to bring my current + past 2 passports to a visa interview. you are very right here, some countries even ask for the ID numbers of the parents for certain type of long term visas for sponsorship Edited January 15, 2016 by BanCoe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 You ever travelled to India, they will ask everything to make sure none of your ancestors came from Pakistan. There are good and bad about stamps. In the 1980s, I went to PRC for the first time. The next year, I went to ROC and they saw the PRC stamp and questioned me for a long time. You are perfectly correct here; they got long outstanding issue of terrorism with them Yes even when I went to Taiwan after a trip to China ; they look at me as ask me what I did in Xiamen which is so near to them , even though I came via HK 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic January 21, 2016 Share January 21, 2016 Here's why NRIC numbers are not on Singapore passports http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/this-urban-jungle/heres-why-nric-numbers-are-not-on-singapore-passports ↡ Advertisement 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...