Jellandross Supersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 can i join even if i have voted for opposition in all past elections? i promise to be a good boy and vote for PAP next round cannot. they afraid you may be..... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Question - where would the parking money go to? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 everyone seems to blame MOE... i would blame the auditors instead......... Auditors want to make a name for themselves, get promoted and earn higher Performance Bonus, so obviously they have to dig up something unique. But MOE can rebut and need not follow blindly. Basically MOE to be blamed because the top management has no backbone and opted for the easiest route. They must be sent to MINDEF to learn to become more gutsy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Orh Lang Dua Kee lor wait wait...i am really really confuse. everytime you say radx ku ku bird small small 1 how to explain 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 MPs pay for car park at Parliament House or not? Anyone can share? What about ministers at their respective ministries? I heard RC members can park any HDB free, true or not? Looks like 500% subsidy if true hoh.... Is the PM and President paying for their meals at the Istana (not referring to State Banquet for hosting foreign head of states)? If no, why are they being subsidised despite their high pay? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Auditors want to make a name for themselves, get promoted and earn higher Performance Bonus, so obviously they have to dig up something unique. But MOE can rebut and need not follow blindly. Basically MOE to be blamed because the top management has no backbone and opted for the easiest route. They must be sent to MINDEF to learn to become more gutsy. I tot MINDEF sends retired WO to schools as Ops Mgr position? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Is the PM and President paying for their meals at the Istana (not referring to State Banquet for hosting foreign head of states)? If no, why are they being subsidised despite their high pay? A colossal can of worms has just been opened thanks to the AGO report. Reckon real soon the murderous mob will question if civil servants got pay for toilet paper not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Is the PM and President paying for their meals at the Istana (not referring to State Banquet for hosting foreign head of states)? If no, why are they being subsidised despite their high pay? wah... u better prepare to be invited for kopi session soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Two comments. 1). I learned this when i was sponsoring a child in Myanmar. It is better not to sponsor a child then to sponsor a child and just give up halfway. A child who was never sponsored will just live with it but a child who was sponsored and suddenly the sponsorship ends, the disappointment is acute. Here, I prefer status quo. Removing a benefit serves to demoralise unless good reason is given, which I don't see here. 2). This I learned when I was in private. Sometimes people are willing to go the extra mile because they also get some benefits like here, free parking. This is known as give and take. You give me free parking I don't complain coming to work early. The problem now is in private, management sometimes see the people who are willing to go the extra mile, as people who will still go the extra mile even if benefits are progressively removed. So management can save money and still have same output. Why not? Nothing wrong, except where is the heartware? And what is the message we are sending across? And ultimately, people will become more calculative since people are also calculative. And we are seeing this happening. If the govt die die want to charge parking for teachers, perhaps they can start charging future teachers, not the existing ones as it will demoralise them further, since so far the govt is only looking at how to squeeze money but not looking at how to reduce the workload ( see point 2). And they should lead by example, starting with Ministers to the grassroots. My two cents. 14 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 wah... u better prepare to be invited for kopi session soon This place? Kopi nice or not? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jellandross Supersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 Nothing wrong, except where is the heartware? heartware is an inconvenience that gets in the way of career progression, promotion, making more money, scoring points with bosses and getting ahead in life. better to just bring it up conveniently during elections, charity galas, political feel-good sessions and the likes. when reporting to office everyday, best to leave the heart at home. especially applicable to policy makers who's work will impact the "big picture". nowadays, we talk profit and loss. how can i profit more than others? how can i lugi less than others? are others profiting more than me? this school carpark fiasco is a classic example. teachers is a special group not paying for carpark, how can? like that the others who's already paying will lugi what, not fair not transparent right? this will result in audit compliance issue, loss in national tax income, economy downturn and the apocalypse. carpark fee is a serious business. i promise i will no longer "makan" parking coupon time lest i bring about the end of Singapore's economy and the next world war. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 don't sexpose me leh there was one incident, I will always remember my last time workshop encik I ownself injured ownself finger while orhing my m113's yen gong kang he wanted to send me to the medical centre but MT line people say: no jeep encik: tonner leh? MT line: all sent out liao, inside camp is VOR one encik: gp car leh? MT line: CO's driver drive out liao encik: knn!!!! if I got drive a M113 or a SM1 to send mustank to medical centre, I will do so!!!!!! end up, he use own car last time when I was in NS... we were in one of the schools. During a physical training exercise in camp, one of the trainees kena heat injury. For some reason, the driver for the assigned ambulance was not at the safety vehicle and was no where to be found. Rather than waste time waiting, one of the NSF instructors took it on himself to drive the landrover to the casualty and drive him to the medical center. the instructor (a 2LT) later kena BOI cos he does not have the required SAF licence, although he has the civilian class 3 driving license. Fortunately didn't go DB. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 (edited) last time when I was in NS... we were in one of the schools. During a physical training exercise in camp, one of the trainees kena heat injury. For some reason, the driver for the assigned ambulance was not at the safety vehicle and was no where to be found. Rather than waste time waiting, one of the NSF instructors took it on himself to drive the landrover to the casualty and drive him to the medical center. the instructor (a 2LT) later kena BOI cos he does not have the required SAF licence, although he has the civilian class 3 driving license. Fortunately didn't go DB. sure maybe kenna take 5 extra duties , maybe,but it was an act of humanitarian need issue Edited January 13, 2016 by BanCoe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 sure maybe kenna take 5 extra duties , maybe,but it was an act of humanitarian need issue I think the bigger question would be how come the safety driver was not there. If he was skiving, why did the 2LT not ensure since he is one of the instructors? Either that or safety officer kenna. Or was the safety driver doing something else? Which would also mean someone having to answer as well. My point here is not that the humanitarian action was wrong but that the circumstances that forced it to happen must be resolved, or it is a ticking time bomb. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 While this is bad news for some people, it could be a good news for others, There were over 33K teachers/Pricipal in SG, if 30% of them is driving, we are looking at around 10K number of car owners. if 10% of these teachers quit driving, 1K COE ownership will be release to the market... this will help to ease the COE demand more or less.... 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 (edited) quit driving because of $100+ parking fees? While this is bad news for some people, it could be a good news for others, There were over 33K teachers/Pricipal in SG, if 30% of them is driving, we are looking at around 10K number of car owners. if 10% of these teachers quit driving, 1K COE ownership will be release to the market... this will help to ease the COE demand more or less.... Edited January 13, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 (edited) last time when I was in NS... we were in one of the schools. During a physical training exercise in camp, one of the trainees kena heat injury. For some reason, the driver for the assigned ambulance was not at the safety vehicle and was no where to be found. Rather than waste time waiting, one of the NSF instructors took it on himself to drive the landrover to the casualty and drive him to the medical center. the instructor (a 2LT) later kena BOI cos he does not have the required SAF licence, although he has the civilian class 3 driving license. Fortunately didn't go DB. Actually what the nsf instructors did is not wrong leh, waste no time. Cannot be wait for the driver to come where nowhere to be found. Though did not follow protocol, in life and death situation, every second is critical, so at least need to be flexible on this and not punish the nsf guy. If everything follow protocol strictly and when something happens that is in emergency, the driver not around, expect to wait for driver to appear for dont know when will appear meh? Life is more important or protocol is more important? Edited January 13, 2016 by Yewheng 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged January 13, 2016 Share January 13, 2016 While this is bad news for some people, it could be a good news for others, There were over 33K teachers/Pricipal in SG, if 30% of them is driving, we are looking at around 10K number of car owners. if 10% of these teachers quit driving, 1K COE ownership will be release to the market... this will help to ease the COE demand more or less.... They won't quit driving one la. Singaporeans complain alot but don't do anything else. After they implement, few weeks later, no one talk about it anymore. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...