Teachers may soon have to pay to park in schools.

Friendstar

My heart goes out to teachers. What makes one choose teaching as a profession?

When teacher signed up to teach, they are given more admin load.

When some thought they are getting less pay for more heart work which is not that demanding and stressful in comparison to the other working class, they are shoved with more pay and asked to up their game and stress level to benchmark in every sense of the work.

Might have something to do with the recent pay revision.

Another thought I have is of minorcracy, which is creeping up in our system. The strong wishes of a few individuals have a great influence on policy making which the huge majority might be mildly against.

Edited by Seohster

prease lor, however good and passionate u r, if ur boss is being unreasonable and super ngiao, u buay sian and consider leaving meh?

Haha. agree with you bro.. fact of life that people not in the firing line won't understand..

wanted to upz u, but given earlier liao... give u rain check first...  [:p]

There was an MCFer who mentioned that island wide season parking including that for HDB is going to be increased soon.

Looks true there is no smoke without fire.

Likely this is a prelude.

Don't think teachers will give up driving just because of parking charges,because most need to reach sch by 7.30am and cannot leave before 5pm. Some even longer hours so driving is still most convenient. If want to talk about fairness,all civil servants should report to work as early as teachers. Bet the AGO ppl are still in dreamland when the teachers start their day's work.

Moe hq officers need to pay parking fees, so it's unfair? Ask them how many times they can go for tea breaks in one working day, see if they dare to tell you the truth. Why so many teachers want to jump to Moe hq? Because the work is less hectic. Never heard of teachers who returned to schools after their MOE HQ stint lose weight because no more time for tea breaks in school?

If want to talk about hidden incentives, most civil servants can take leave to go holidays during off-peak period ie non -sch holidays, save on airfare etc. Teachers have to pay much higher travel expenses, and these applies to accompanying travelling companions like family and friends. They are not given peak period travel subsidies, but are they complaining? Want to be fair, all civil servants shd only be allowed to travel when teachers travel, so that they have a taste of inflated travelling expenses. And no, teachers don't get to rest for 4 weeks in June holidays, the most they get is 2 weeks because 1st and 4th week taken up by camps,meetings,extra lessons etc.

Remember GE 2015? It was held on the Friday of Sept holidays. Civil servants involved burnt that Thurs and Fri for GE.It's OK for most civil servants because those were working days for them anyway. But teachers' precious holidays were makaned. Some govt agencies like HDB, LTA even arranged briefings on that Monday and forced teachers in their teams to cancel holiday plans, forgo paid deposits.

2016 just started and Singaporeans are suddenly reminded that everything in SG is about money and calculating, starting from parking in schools. What kind of nation are we building?

There are many other low pay civil servants working some transpotation industries at graveyard shift at some far end of Singapore(where bird don't lay egg) also quietly pay parking at work.... 

Edited by Odyssey2011

Don't think teachers will give up driving just because of parking charges,because most need to reach sch by 7.30am and cannot leave before 5pm. Some even longer hours so driving is still most convenient. If want to talk about fairness,all civil servants should report to work as early as teachers. Bet the AGO ppl are still in dreamland when the teachers start their day's work.

Moe hq officers need to pay parking fees, so it's unfair? Ask them how many times they can go for tea breaks in one working day, see if they dare to tell you the truth. Why so many teachers want to jump to Moe hq? Because the work is less hectic. Never heard of teachers who returned to schools after their MOE HQ stint lose weight because no more time for tea breaks in school?

If want to talk about hidden incentives, most civil servants can take leave to go holidays during off-peak period ie non -sch holidays, save on airfare etc. Teachers have to pay much higher travel expenses, and these applies to accompanying travelling companions like family and friends. They are not given peak period travel subsidies, but are they complaining? Want to be fair, all civil servants shd only be allowed to travel when teachers travel, so that they have a taste of inflated travelling expenses. And no, teachers don't get to rest for 4 weeks in June holidays, the most they get is 2 weeks because 1st and 4th week taken up by camps,meetings,extra lessons etc.

Remember GE 2015? It was held on the Friday of Sept holidays. Civil servants involved burnt that Thurs and Fri for GE.It's OK for most civil servants because those were working days for them anyway. But teachers' precious holidays were makaned. Some govt agencies like HDB, LTA even arranged briefings on that Monday and forced teachers in their teams to cancel holiday plans, forgo paid deposits.

2016 just started and Singaporeans are suddenly reminded that everything in SG is about money and calculating, starting from parking in schools. What kind of nation are we building?

Almost all civil servants tasked indoor jobs work in air conditioned environments except teachers where for majority of them teaching takes place in non airconditioned classes.

Basically the argument that since majority of civil servants need to pay parking and thus so should teachers just does not hold water.

The original source is the AGO finding that teachers in school are unfairly benefitting from the the free parking available in the compound, compared to tertiary institutions like Polys and ITE. While that, season parking at ITEs are priced below market rates to their teaching staff.

It is true, there are minor discrepancies going on between different instuitions, but MOE has no balls to justify why so to the AGO report.

Every job has its importance, but some job functions have much more far reaching effects.

A doctor for example, will have special lots allocated in health institutions but is it fair?

Yes MOE does not have the leaders who has the guts to justify not having paid parking for teachers. There are many reasons that can be used to ward off AGO but it all boils down to the confidence levels of the top decision makers in MOE who I believe are more concerned about their own career advancements.

If MINDEF can get away with so many things including not charging its regulars in camps for parking why can't MOE.

yeah ... two new chaps ... new guys new styles ...

The decision was made long time ago before elections during minister Heng's time as such decisions take time to formulate. They just decided to announce the good news (salary increase) for teachers just before elections and the bad news after elections.

The decision has nothing to do with the new political appointees in MOE though they can still override it. But would they being just appointed for the first time? Typical self centered mentality and in the way how PAP politicians operate - if I override this or go against it my political career will come to an early end.

While we are discussing whether the ministry will eventually charge teachers for the parking lots, many seem to think the decision is still not made.

The way I look at it, it is a foregone conclusion. They will be charged. If not they will not seek the help of the ST and our media to disseminate such news.

Decision is made first. Now it's the usual wayang.

If you or your spouse is a teacher. Too bad. However they may just charge a token $65 like HDB. SURELY if you can afford to drive, you can afford to pay $2 a day to park. Get over it.

It is not an issue of affordability . Teachers are very well paid amongst civil servants - the best paid in fact for equivalent qualifications for a civil servant. A large number of them including Non graduate teachers holding appointments can earn up to 150k

OMG.. 150k for non graduate...Could be world best pay teacher liao...so how much is low pay teacher earning? 100k PA?

Suggest:

Start at NIE.

When primary school teachers drive XC90 or Nissan 370z, overpaid? What is their output? Do they deserve to have these cars?

Especially in neighborhood schools...where underachievement is the norm.

And Drosophila Melanogaster do transmit traits across filia.

Exactly for the next GE.

My math teacher rode a small bike everyday from Johore Bahru. Some ideas?

No one is indispensable.

There was an MCFer who mentioned that island wide season parking including that for HDB is going to be increased soon.

Looks true there is no smoke without fire.

Likely this is a prelude.

Oh NO !!!

Hopefully not .... but again, nothing surprising ... haiz

For goodness sake, can MOE please don't spend time on this 超级无聊 topic that pissed everyone and pleased no one

Instead, please look into teacher-student ratio in a typical classroom setting. Don't tell me the ratio is now 1 is to 20 or 1 is to 25.... I only believe what I see. You walk into a typical class, it is usually 1 is to 30+++++

No wor... My kid is in a 43-student class this year... Kns...

Suggest:

Start at NIE.

When primary school teachers drive XC90 or Nissan 370z, overpaid? What is their output? Do they deserve to have these cars?

Especially in neighborhood schools...where underachievement is the norm.

And Drosophila Melanogaster do transmit traits across filia.

Exactly for the next GE.

My math teacher rode a small bike everyday from Johore Bahru. Some ideas?

No one is indispensable.

Aiyo. Dun be such a green eye monster la. If people drive Merz or BMW, can you deduce they dun deserve their pay? They either have some family backing or it is thru their savings that they are able to afford. How they want to spend their money is non of our business, really.

I agree

My old friend who has a huge inheritance behind him chose to work as a humble accountant

Stay landed but drive Nissan sunny

Cause he no interest in car

Drive car, drive 50

Lorry also faster

But he is like that one lah

Taken off fb and is going viral (the bolded para is the icing on the cake.  Not abt the $$$ really but how teachers are now regarded)

A message from an ex-teacher (which is not me):

Teachers,

you don't have to feel so upset over the impending parking fees. It's a good move to be transparent to the public. Since the ministry wants to ensure that it doesn't give unsubsidized parking to ensure transparency, it's good to let MOE know that you should also stop paying for stuff out of your own pocket to ensure 'transparency' too. Some example of fees that you have been paying out of your own pocket:
1. Classroom deco, charts, notice board materials(excluding manpower and labour fees):$100 at least
2. Coming CNY, Hari Raya and Deepavali deco:$100-$300
3. Resources for teaching:$300(conservative estimate)
4. Remedials/supplementary/enrichment classes:$50 per hr(market rate for MOE tutors).
5. Prizes/gifts/McDonald/pizzahut/KFC treats to motivate students(varies from teacher)
6. Children's day gifts:$100-$200
7. OT pay for staying overnight at camps, Meet-the-parents sessions at night, meetings during school holidays, learning festivals on Saturdays and Sundays, organizing events for community/MP :$50 per hour
8. Premium fees for last minute instructions from MOE for example, calling parents from 10pm-12am on a Sunday night to inform them of school closure due to haze. $100per hour. 
9. Other miscellaneous fees such as home internet or using your personal hp talk time/mobile data to conference with parents/HODs(not including OT pay for doing these after 6pm): $110 per month.
10. Transport fees to attend courses that you are 'nominated' to attend. You can't claim them currently as MOE have already SUBSIDIZED you to attend them.(not that you have any choice)
11. Labour fees for moving cupboards,tables and shelves in classroom/staffroom, cleaning students up after they poo/vomit:$20 per hour.
12. All the money you paid to replace faulty PE/music/art/ICT equipment on your own. Too lecheh to do AOR, ITQ, and then go through Gebiz and evaluation plus endless meetings with KP/AM/P just to get a pair of soccer gloves for your student.smile emoticon
13. Last but not least, fees for marking after 5pm each day, as no marking can be done before that due to meetings/CCAs/meeting parents/meeting vendors/meeting P: $50 per hour.

At the end of the day, is that season parking so difficult to afford? I don't think so. But the message that the sacrifices of teachers are not appreciated by MOE will have a greater cost than the revenue that it can collect from the season parking. Kudos to my ex-colleagues who are still believing in making a difference to the next generation.

‪#‎justsaying‬ ‪#‎moedoesnotcherishteachers‬

From a (currently much happier) ex-teacher.smile emoticon

• Praise 12

Grass is always greener on the other side.

Teaching is a calling.

End of the day should the inevitable parking fee gets legislated, it will still be paid for.

Now if you are the powers that be, and you obviously are fully aware of this, it is only a matter of time.

Have a good week ahead everyone  [thumbsup]