Teachers may soon have to pay to park in schools.

Friendstar

This entire thread if out of point and out of focus - a result of people not reading and anyhow comment. It's about charging parking for those lecturers and tutors in ITE and poly etc. Suddenly people start crying foul about charging parking for teachers in primary and secondary schools. And these lecturers and tutors etc are not as lowly paid as you think such that they can't afford paying for parking like other working adults. In fact, every time I see someone being interviewed on TV about investing in third or fourth property, there is a very high chance that this investor is a teacher. If these lecturers or tutors are not prepared to pay parking charges for use of scare space, then just take public transport. What is the furore about? [/quot

You should go and read up the article in ST today. Actually introducing paid parking in schools already a done deal. Hints have been dropped for quite sometime and the info being "leaked " to the press must be done on purpose to prepare the ground instead of announcing it overnight. I would not be surprised MOE is already in the stage of engaging vendors to manage the parking system .

Honestly i think its a good idea mainly because cars are a "want" not a "need", government are always encouraging us to use public transport and ditch our cars. So i think this use of public transport can start with school teachers, but parking barrier shouldnt be introduced as parents dropping their kids off at schools will no doubt cause a huge jam. Schools should just introduce season parking and that might deter teachers from driving.

Why should teachers get special treatment when other professions such as doctors/lawyers/office workers in CBD they all have to pay for parking/season parking so why cant the same be applied to teachers?

Honestly i think its a good idea mainly because cars are a "want" not a "need", government are always encouraging us to use public transport and ditch our cars. So i think this use of public transport can start with school teachers, but parking barrier shouldnt be introduced as parents dropping their kids off at schools will no doubt cause a huge jam. Schools should just introduce season parking and that might deter teachers from driving.

Why should teachers get special treatment when other professions such as doctors/lawyers/office workers in CBD they all have to pay for parking/season parking so why cant the same be applied to teachers?

You go and work as teacher la, then tell me whether same as CBD people or not.

[rolleyes]

Think some have asked why so called "grassroots" supporters should get free parking. . Among other perks. That's a big red herring compared to teachers.

What about army camps? Not sure if they charge parking for soldiers. . Have you seen the number of luxury euro cars in gombak??

How bout next time ICT and mobilisation charge soldiers for driving in lor..

Why the fish whack teachers for?

I can only imagine the consequences when they implement this. Teachers becoming calculative when it comes to minor expenses in the classrooms, or even unwilling to go for weekend duties if they cannot claim transport or OT. Oh well.... this is the message we are sending to the next generation. You pay I pay everybody pay! :D

Definitely..

Teachers are not paid OT, and such perks and the social good generated by the job is what drives them to carry on.

If their bosses are so calculative, they would do so in kind eventually. Homework marking becomes shoddy as teachers work just the card punching hours, and staying back to help students with the curriculum and CCAs will be even harder to justify.

It is famously known that the old guard Goh Keng Swee, a trained economist, went out of the way to instruct a shopfront in Jurongfront estate to be given to a barber service, when a bank wanted the place at a higher monthly rental.

Similarly, he choose to build Jurong bird park, Jurong hill attraction there to provide workers a reprieve from the industrial work environment, despite selling the land that would generate easy income.

The 2 new joker education ministers are not giving me faith in them allowing MOE to go this track. They simply lack the moral courage to stand up for their grunts.

Of course, being parachuted in means they have no prior knowledge of their job, and the perm secs willlead them by the nose.

Unfortunately, the ill effects of poor education policy cannot be seen till many years later, and these buggers will become DPMs and still get their millions of gratituity, from the very tax payers they harmed in the early days of their On-Job-Training...

• Praise 11

What about visitors then? How can not charge visitors but charge staff of the school.? So no choice but to have a barrier system where the cost of its upkeep will result in very marginal nett income if any for MOE in many schools . Basically it is going to be just a symbolic exercise.

How often do you see a public government school having more then enough lots for visitors/parents? Btw, security officer at the gates should always be nicely&kindly prevent/advise parents to park outside the school, this place is not a shopping mall, or some kind of Science Center or Zoo mah. Already there are school teachers queuing for parking lots among them,  some have to pay parking outside the school. Security officer should only allow(valid reason ah hoc/regular basis depend on the school's management lor ) visitor car unload/load in school. Hope nobody is thinking "school should be built with MSCP", as it is crazy.. might as well ask those private and super rich school to provide private carpark with Valet parking.

For ​commoners in Singapore, parking rate is standardised, like MSCP is $90, if same then I think it is fair.

If yours school is a private rich school, then I think you have to let these private management to decide how much that piece of parking space should cost, to be fair to these rich management, if they decide to charge like CBD, then good luck to you, hope they pay you CBD salary as well.

Edited by Odyssey2011

Think some have asked why so called "grassroots" supporters should get free parking. . Among other perks. That's a big red herring compared to teachers.

What about army camps? Not sure if they charge parking for soldiers. . Have you seen the number of luxury euro cars in gombak??

How bout next time ICT and mobilisation charge soldiers for driving in lor..

Why the fish whack teachers for?

ICT and mobilisation. Soldiers, their fully responsibility to find way to report without fail.. With Cars or no Car, Private plane or no private plane, Army camp should not entertain...

Agree, should be fair to all. Make all car parking not free in Singapore, everybody must pay, especially and begin from those highest salary ones.

Edited by Odyssey2011

That is the strongest view we have so far.

If you love your country, take away an arm and a leg you will still report for ICT. If you love your job and your car, the parking fees shouldn't deter but we implement 100% to be fair.

I am not sure if Singapore is ready for such a in - your face hard truth policy though. 

But salute you for your convictions. 

ICT and mobilisation. Soldiers, their fully responsibility to find way to report without fail.. With Cars or no Car, Private plane or no private plane, Army camp should not entertain...

Agree, should be fair to all. Make all car parking not free in Singapore, everybody must pay, especially and begin from those highest salary ones.

Edited by Seohster

I know there are very nice and dedicated teachers in my son's school who buy gifts for them out of their own pocket to incentivise the children to do better. Even Popular vouchers worth $30, etc.

Many teachers are not calculative. But the gahmen is.

What I hate about this country is the gahmen wants to hold the citizenry to a standard that they will not condescend to hold themselves to. And the stupid citizenry continue to let them get away with it, time and again.

That is the strongest view we have so far.

If you love your country, take away an arm and a leg you will still report for ICT. If you love your job and your car, the parking fees shouldn't deter but we implement 100% to be fair.

I am not sure if Singapore is ready for such a in - your face hard truth policy though. 

But salute you for your convictions. 

70% voted for the hard truth no?

Conviction shld be tempered with reality... teachers, medical staff, etc have a higher moral standing based on the work they do  than lawyers, accountants etc bec they are helping our children, saving our lives etc.. things that matter to each and every human being, no matter rich or poor.. same for soldiers too.. they protect our homes with their lives... for these folks, I'd gladly give them a break and give perks to them if it makes them feel better and able and willing to serve us better too... why haggle over some parking fees that some bookworm scholar thought up in the toilet to boost his year end KPI?? give it to these folks I'd say, it doesnt cost me much in terms of my taxpayer money and is certainly much less than the monies we've lost thru Temasick sickening investment losses to date...Goh Keng Swee was a govt official, but he had the people's well being at heart too.. unlike the current crop of govt whose eyes are on $$$$ only, and sticking to their flawed policies like superglue no matter its ill effects on the common folks....

I know there are very nice and dedicated teachers in my son's school who buy gifts for them out of their own pocket to incentivise the children to do better. Even Popular vouchers worth $30, etc.

Many teachers are not calculative. But the gahmen is.

What I hate about this country is the gahmen wants to hold the citizenry to a standard that they will not condescend to hold themselves to. And the stupid citizenry continue to let them get away with it, time and again.

I can't praise you again bro, but i absolutely agree with you.... [thumbsup]

This is the first gift from the new Minister of Education for this new year!

I think the morale of the school staff is going to be hit and it would have adverse effects on the whole system!

So many comments but none from actual teachers.

How do they feel? Angry? Upset?

70% become 65%?

Teachers mostly female (maybe)..... so husbands in mcf can kpkb on their behalf :pissed-off:

Teachers also cannot talk directly about this in the Press  (its seems so without permission) don't know if they have forums like this too to vent their frustrations  

Teachers bring back piles of books back home to mark and papers too; not light also and again bring back to school after marking so maybe they can keep eye on family at home  

In other countries, there will be protests by the teachers union liao. In Singapore, as usual, accept whatever comes along as "fair". No wonder we've been screwed over and over again. This won't the last.

eJyWdb5.jpg

Definitely..

Teachers are not paid OT, and such perks and the social good generated by the job is what drives them to carry on.

If their bosses are so calculative, they would do so in kind eventually. Homework marking becomes shoddy as teachers work just the card punching hours, and staying back to help students with the curriculum and CCAs will be even harder to justify.

It is famously known that the old guard Goh Keng Swee, a trained economist, went out of the way to instruct a shopfront in Jurongfront estate to be given to a barber service, when a bank wanted the place at a higher monthly rental.

Similarly, he choose to build Jurong bird park, Jurong hill attraction there to provide workers a reprieve from the industrial work environment, despite selling the land that would generate easy income.

The 2 new joker education ministers are not giving me faith in them allowing MOE to go this track. They simply lack the moral courage to stand up for their grunts.

Of course, being parachuted in means they have no prior knowledge of their job, and the perm secs willlead them by the nose.

Unfortunately, the ill effects of poor education policy cannot be seen till many years later, and these buggers will become DPMs and still get their millions of gratituity, from the very tax payers they harmed in the early days of their On-Job-Training...

I love pap old guard

Well. . Just after election is when they coast shit on you. .. come election. . They pass out some tissue to wipe a bit.. toast.