Vulcann 6th Gear January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Me no hero lah. Just doing what I was trained for. I dont know why they still use cyanide for ship fumigation. Maybe it is the cheapest and easiest method. Very hard to catch those cockcroach and rats, they hide in very very hard to access places. I tell u, we had a rat dead in the gun bay. Stink like hell and cant find the dead fellow. Only during drydocking when they strip the whole ship, we found it dead between the ammo storage and ship hull. You could have acted blur but you did what you did which was admirable Haha only folks who had to breath in foul air throughout will understand the sheer torture bro. We have even not mentioned diesel fumes, engine oil smells, galley exhaust, etc yet. Heng I only NSF but you "regulared" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 You could have acted blur but you did what you did which was admirable Haha only folks who had to breath in foul air throughout will understand the sheer torture bro. We have even not mentioned diesel fumes, engine oil smells, galley exhaust, etc yet. Heng I only NSF but you "regulared" Agreed. This guy is a hero in our present context. No further explanation needed. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 I also wana tell abt my NS time story. We were having ship fumigation. The pest control guys use cyanide gas to kill all pests. The ship was berthed at the furtherest berth from the base. After 8 hours, we were allowed to return to the ship. Suddenly one ship mate shout to me to go down to the galley as the assistant cook has fainted upon opening a cabinet. I was one of the trained first aider onboard so they look for me. I went down, I was at the pier side helping to load our mattresses back to the ship, to the galley immediately open all scuttles to ventilate the space. Check for danger. Then I check the guy. He was still breathing, had a weak pulse but still unconsious. I checked the back of his head to make sure he did not hit his head when he collapsed. After that, I told my coxswain that we have to send the guy to medical centre immediately. There was no other transport, except for a fellow ship crew's lorry which we used to store our mattresses and store. With the help of another colleague, we carry the unconsious guy from the galley all the way to the lorry. The coxswain gave the order to use the lorry instead of waiting for ambulance to come. I tell you, carrying a dead weight trying to move ard in a tight space is a nightmare. Lucky, I am also a trained fire fighter and everyone helped to carry him. We loaded the unconscious guy into the back of the lorry and with hazard lights on, chiong to medical centre. At medical centre, the medics were there ready to accept us as my coxswain already called them to inform them that we are coming. I briefed the medics on what happened and his condition. After that, took the lorry back to help the guys unload. The cook was lucky that we rushed him to the medical centre. There was residual cyanide gas in the cupboard, so when he opened the cupboard to put back the pots and pans, that residual cyanide gas knocked him out. After staying he the medical centre for a few hours, I think they gave him oxygen, he recovered. There was no BOI at all. And the only officer ard was a junior just passed out from school. No big hooha, we all kept it low profile. But I became the assistant cook's saviour, got extra "liao" during meal times. Good Job ... 1 Pineapple Tart for you ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Good Job ... 1 Pineapple Tart for you ... pineapple tart increase price liao should have bought last christmas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 pineapple tart increase price liao should have bought last christmas Last christmas till CNY, ur tarts will come with extra white or green mould liao. Good Job ... 1 Pineapple Tart for you ... Ask ur wife open class leh. She be teacher, I send my wife over and be student. Then I'll be the taste judge. Keeping this in topic. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Seems Singaporeans generally are still willing to help when they can. In the US and some other countries, they have a Good Samaritan Law to legally protect people who offered help. Our parliament rejected the law twice, because "there is no need" in Singapore. Though something to take note when overseas - I performed CPR on someone overseas some years ago, when I saw even the local airport staff were not doing anything - maybe they were protective of their liability or they were nervous or not trained, whatever reasons some didn't even know where to look for a doctor. This was not in China though, but another population location that Singaporeans like to visit. The same can also happen to myself or anyone, think about it traveling alone and nobody offer any help. http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/specialreports/parliament/news/no-need-for-good/1127064.html The following thought is pervasive everywhere at least from my perspective: Khiang tor ho, mai kay khiang (Don't be a smart a s s ) Early in working life supervisors or superiors always dished out this "sagely" advice when I questioned why we could not do otherwise. Basically to not stick your neck out for something, anything. Guess some also applies this in life-threatening situations too. Ang mo folks are a litigious lot so probably good to enact the Good Samaritan Law to protect people if not wait kena sued for something they did with good intention. Will we be heading that direction to enact this type of law or basically just base on our guts to do what's right or siam at all costs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 (edited) pineapple tart increase price liao should have bought last christmas Pastry cannot keep so long ... Ask ur wife open class leh. She be teacher, I send my wife over and be student. Then I'll be the taste judge. She can only cook ... Can't teach ... No Measurements ... No Recipe ... No Temperature ... All Agar Agar one ... Edited January 14, 2016 by Chowyunfatt 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 I think the bigger question would be how come the safety driver was not there. If he was skiving, why did the 2LT not ensure since he is one of the instructors? Either that or safety officer kenna. Or was the safety driver doing something else? Which would also mean someone having to answer as well. My point here is not that the humanitarian action was wrong but that the circumstances that forced it to happen must be resolved, or it is a ticking time bomb. thus the attitude that exists thenceforth 'you die your own business' such policies will render those who WANT TO DO GOOD, think otherwise. Clear example stated here Clearly Good Samaritan Law has no meaning in this case Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 you never ask blogger 3 meal in hawker centre food court restaurant? :XD: LOL anyway that blogger was being sarcastic lah... a veiled criticism of the school parking fiasco. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 wah... u better prepare to be invited for kopi session soon Why worry? It's public funds that's being used. Does your company's CEO gets free meals everyday or he pays for his meals? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 thus the attitude that exists thenceforth 'you die your own business' such policies will render those who WANT TO DO GOOD, think otherwise. Clear example stated here Clearly Good Samaritan Law has no meaning in this case By the way, even in the USA the good Samaritan law does not mean protection for all rescuers. A lot of considerations. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_Samaritan_law What is significant is that the person must not be paid to take care of the victim. In the NSF case, does a duty of care exist since he is the instructor? Can it be considered that he was paid to take care of the NSF? Does it apply to teachers? If there were a good Samaritan law, would it help? Since in the case of NSF and teachers, the rescuers are not simple stranger who are bystanders. Not saying anything. Just to say a good Samaritan law might not be helpful, in these cases at lease. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 By the way, even in the USA the good Samaritan law does not mean protection for all rescuers. A lot of considerations. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Good_Samaritan_law What is significant is that the person must not be paid to take care of the victim. In the NSF case, does a duty of care exist since he is the instructor? Can it be considered that he was paid to take care of the NSF? Does it apply to teachers? If there were a good Samaritan law, would it help? Since in the case of NSF and teachers, the rescuers are not simple stranger who are bystanders. Not saying anything. Just to say a good Samaritan law might not be helpful, in these cases at lease. agree. the law is not clearly spelt out and not that simple to comprehend too bottomline in that case and leaves a precedence for other future cases is that people will not help so willingly...period. Life at stake or not. They will do what should always be intended, even for 1st aid practitioners, 'protect your ownself first'. This is so apt now as I just conducted a course on 1st aid/CPR this morning...haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 agree. the law is not clearly spelt out and not that simple to comprehend too bottomline in that case and leaves a precedence for other future cases is that people will not help so willingly...period. Life at stake or not. They will do what should always be intended, even for 1st aid practitioners, 'protect your ownself first'. This is so apt now as I just conducted a course on 1st aid/CPR this morning...haha The "ownself save ownself"-part is correct as far as a rescuer is concerned. Many folks assumed from watching Bay (or Babe) Watch that lifeguards will swim through hell & highwater 1,000km away to grab then tow a drowning victim back to the beach. In practice non-contact rescue (meaning no bodily contact with the victim) is the correct procedure. Floats, buoys or rope must be offered to assist the victim making their way back to safety. This is to prevent a drowning victim who often is delirious & desperate from grabbing the rescuer & going down together. Only when the victim is unconscious ( of course not obviously dead & rotting away) that a rescuer may attempt a contact rescue. Don't ask me what will happen when an unconscious victim when being towed back suddenly becomes conscious because our instructors never touch on that 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 (edited) Somewhat OT, but in the general spirit of the thread: I was accompanying someone to a clinic run by my senior doctor friend. Two "very very important people" were there to see their respective doctors and they breezed right in, no registration or anything necessary. Do I begrudge them that? Not at all. But it does lead me to reflect that the very notion of trying to impose a straitjacket of "fairness" across the board is a complete and utter nonsense. Utter futility. Edited January 14, 2016 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 Somewhat OT, but in the general spirit of the thread: I was accompanying someone to a clinic run by my senior doctor friend. Two "very very important people" were there to see their respective doctors and they breezed right in, no registration or anything necessary. Do I begrudge them that? Not at all. But it does lead me to reflect that the very notion of trying to impose a straitjacket of "fairness" across the board is a complete and utter nonsense. Utter futility. We all know there is no universal fairness in this society. Whoever said "all schools are good schools" was trying very hard to smoke everybody. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic January 14, 2016 Share January 14, 2016 We all know there is no universal fairness in this society. Whoever said "all schools are good schools" was trying very hard to smoke everybody. No wonder last year haze so bad ! 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 We all know there is no universal fairness in this society. Whoever said "all schools are good schools" was trying very hard to smoke everybody.That is why those with PSLE score lower than cut-off point are not allow to appeal because all schools are good schools. And for those with PSLE score higher than cut-off point are allow to appeal because there are school better than good school. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 last time when I was in NS... we were in one of the schools. During a physical training exercise in camp, one of the trainees kena heat injury. For some reason, the driver for the assigned ambulance was not at the safety vehicle and was no where to be found. Rather than waste time waiting, one of the NSF instructors took it on himself to drive the landrover to the casualty and drive him to the medical center. the instructor (a 2LT) later kena BOI cos he does not have the required SAF licence, although he has the civilian class 3 driving license. Fortunately didn't go DB. This 2LT, I will follow him into battle anytime. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...