Teachers may soon have to pay to park in schools.

Friendstar

No no..that one considered as unloading bay..free parking.

OK lah that one maybe considered "loading or unloading"  but live visitors kenna pay for sure :a-bang:  

If like that, won't be 90 only leh. Season parking for an area where you are not staying at already $140.

crowd pooling lol.

The problem is not everyone drives.

And the proposal might be part of the car-lite initiative, to encourage non-drivers...

So deducting from all is a definite no-no too...

The most they will charge is HDB season parking rates for open car parks which should be around $65- $75. This amount will in no way alter a person's decision in buying a car.

It is really sad to see our AGO to come up with a report like this. 

Taxing should be a means to manage limited resources. And in this case, like some of you already mention, there is no parking space constraint nor it has been abused. 

I would rather the parking space in schools to be utilized for some kind of facilities rather than to have a parking space and charges staff for it. 

Now if schools are too charge for parking space, then I want to see the rate is linearly proportional to ranks. i.e. Principal , HODs paying the most.

Do not be surprised if it is other way round with free parking for Principals / Vice-Principals.

I think minimum need to charge $500/lot at such prime area. ITE AMK also want to charge parking, CBD definitely must charge gao gao.

so make them pay for parking $90/month, then increase their pay by $90 and say got pay rise [laugh]

Then those that don't drive save $90 a month?

Erection time - how ?? got free parking for teachers ?? as the IU will be coded for season parking for one particular school only  

Hopefully the IU wil be coded to park in all schools as I pointed out earlier it is very common for school staff to attend meetings at other schools and the transport costs can be claimed . Makes no sense for MOE to collect and pay back to same person.

It is due to staff working in poly and university need to pay for their parking, so now they also implement parking charges at pri and sec school?

Even for those poly and univ where parking charges were introduced... too low also AGO buay-song... if you read the article, this kind of "subsidised" parking fees will also be reviewed. Coming soon... market rates!  [lipsrsealed]

Cuming soon, Akan Datang, Next Change........ Mandai Crematorium too ...... till die also must kenna pay :a-rip:

Annual property tax for space used for storage, and according to different levels occupied.

MOE would have overlooked that imposing parking charges in schools will result in illegal parking and jams outside the schools with all the resultant costs. Parents instead of waiting inside the school (many schools still allow this)  to pick up their kids will now end up waiting outside the school.

To add , dropping off kids will also take much longer with longer queus formed due to the operation of barrier.

If implemented we will start seeing mcf bros posting here e.g. "@#$%^ my kid's school barrier grace period only 10 minutes, every morning as though not bad enough I get zapped by ERP, now the school also want a piece of the action &&*^%".

No no..that one considered as unloading bay..free parking.

Will run into danger of wheel clamp? :-O

Teachers are very essential & important in educating & moulding of young minds; the future generations of our country. They should at least be accorded this privilege of free parking within school compound.

And just becos there was a recent pay rise for the teachers, it's time for Govt to take it back.....give with one hand while the other is in one's pocket. WTH !

This is truly a Pay and Pay country.

Teachers are very essential & important in educating & moulding of young minds; the future generations of our country. They should at least be accorded this privilege of free parking within school compound.

And just becos there was a recent pay rise for the teachers, it's time for Govt to take it back.....give with one hand while the other is in one's pocket. WTH !

This is truly a Pay and Pay country.

This is true. How can we expect the students to respect teachers as in the past, when the teachers are treated this way by their own employers?? 

I'm not a teacher nor a staff in any school but hello ... what's the problem with free parking for teachers/staff of school ???  [smash]  [confused]

I'm working in private sector and know of some companies who provide transport allowance, parking subsidy, etc ... as a benefit (only for certain level of employees). 

I think those teachers/staff who drive to school must be fuming mad at such suggestion by person X ....  [bounce1]

If this goes through, very well I think the next govt organization to implement is SAF ... paid parking in all SAF camps even for reservist ...   [sweatdrop]  

Might as well charge those "RC" volunteers who are enjoying free parking.

We can take the cue from them, remove their free parking privileges, see how many will still volunteer far away from their home.

I will not be surprised if the Ministers, Parl Secs etc at MOE have free parking at MOE HQ. Hopefully when introduced in schools, they will not say Principals and Vice Principals have free parking .

When these people visit, guard posts would be notified way before hand with the vehicle number.

Upon arrival, no security checks. Instant drive through and with designated parking lots and minimal walking.

When ministers visit some estates, 1 day before already got Fatimah chope the parking lots by sitting there, literally doing guard duty.

They got their priorities wrong. MOE, please focus on our children's education - this is your job, your job is not car park auntie. LTA, please focus on fixing public transport and improving traffic, not private parking.

How our fellow singaporeans not becoming calculative when the gahment everything also counts.

indeed money speaks within the govt

i hope this is not a case of AGO trying to meet their KPI in finding leakages  [:(]  [furious]  [furious]

It is really sad to see our AGO to come up with a report like this. 

Taxing should be a means to manage limited resources. And in this case, like some of you already mention, there is no parking space constraint nor it has been abused. 

I would rather the parking space in schools to be utilized for some kind of facilities rather than to have a parking space and charges staff for it. 

Now if schools are too charge for parking space, then I want to see the rate is linearly proportional to ranks. i.e. Principal , HODs paying the most.

How come AGO never go question TP, their failure to nab speeding commercial vehicles had resulted in how much losses daily or annually?

For me, no leh.

I went from free parking job to ownself pay for parking job. The free parking job comes with free grit blasting on car. [dead]

You never cover up at the SY ah?