Ktglfc Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 another one bites the dust.... how many out of job? Streetwear shop 77th Street to close by end-July Posted 29 Jun 2016 14:59 PHOTOS A 77th Street outlet at Far East Plaza back in 2002. (File photo: Koh Mui Fong/TODAY) ENLARGE CAPTION A A SINGAPORE: The road for iconic streetwear shop 77th Street has come to an end, with the shutters on its last shop at Ang Mo Kio Hub to come down by the end of July. The shop’s founder Elim Chew told Mediacorp in an exclusive interview that her decision to close the shop was mainly because of high rentals. "Well, you know, the dream during that time was to open up to 24 or 30 outlets all around Singapore. The rental was then affordable. But as the rental became higher and higher and higher, we find that we're just working for the landlord to pay off the rental,” she said. “When I first started, (the rental rate) was S$9 per square foot, today it's S$35 per square foot. So, you know, we decided that we shouldn't embark into opening more shops." Founded in 1988, 77th Street was popular among youngsters for its range of streetwear and accessories. Its first outlet was a small shop at Far East Plaza. At its peak, the streetwear chain had 16 stores across Singapore. For more on the story, catch The Great Retail Shake-Up on Talking Point on Thursday (Jun 30) at 9.30pm on Channel 5. - CNA/cy Rental kills ... the landlords earn so much for these years ... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 (edited) Rental kills ... the landlords earn so much for these years ... our mcf property experts and landlords say no enough leh Edited June 29, 2016 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Well she is not afraid of failure as she has certainly #MadeItHappen she needs some comforting your job... as a les Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 she needs some comforting your job... as a les Can't you see I am busy at the Ann Kok thread? I already have my hands full thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Can't you see I am busy at the Ann Kok thread? I already have my hands full thank you. this one no need to wait until the insurance policies mature immediate gratification Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 no need to blame rental 77th Street also won't survive, her business concept never change since day 1, the youth is the same as 20 years ago? now even 5 years old also know how to screen catalogs on Internet 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 haha ... like nokia ... no need to blame rental 77th Street also won't survive, her business concept never change since day 1, the youth is the same as 20 yeaats ago? now even 5 years old also know how to screen catalogs on Internet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 no need to blame rental 77th Street also won't survive, her business concept never change since day 1, the youth is the same as 20 years ago? now even 5 years old also know how to screen catalogs on Internet Ai yah don't be so hard on her lah. Apart from keeping up with the times getting new customers developming new markets staying relevent not resting on her laurals analysing competitors like online sales watching escalating cost and being complacent until you close down she is an excellent award winning top entrepreneur. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 Ai yah don't be so hard on her lah. Apart from keeping up with the times getting new customers developming new markets staying relevent not resting on her laurals analysing competitors like online sales watching escalating cost and being complacent until you close down she is an excellent award winning top entrepreneur. I think that award is a jinx ... most close shop after receiving it 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 (edited) no need to blame rental 77th Street also won't survive, her business concept never change since day 1, the youth is the same as 20 years ago? now even 5 years old also know how to screen catalogs on Internet true true Edited June 29, 2016 by Staff69 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 I have the biggest investment lobang this century. Sell everything MIL false teeth, children, everything and put all your money in Tanzania. They have found a huge amount of one of the most precious resource there. Tanzania has the biggest amount of helium gas supplies. Imagine what we can do with cheap helium. Helium is lighter than air. That means cars in future will be filled with helium and they can fly. People will strap helium packs to their back and we will fly like rocket man. They will strap ballons of helium to cargo ships and ship will be flying across the oceans instead of sailing. The cost of transporting everything will collaspe. Remember where you heard this tip first. From the lesbian. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtraz 1st Gear June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 I think that award is a jinx ... most close shop after receiving it 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 29, 2016 Share June 29, 2016 (edited) http://trends.ufm.edu/en/articles/recent-rise-delinquency-rates-bank-loans-shocking-new-banking-crisis-imminent/ Keep a lookout for delinquency rate on bank loan in USA. It's rising quite fast after the Fed rate Hike in dec16. We are now in the process on bigger economic crisis then year 2008 and possibly worst then great depression in 1929. Edited June 29, 2016 by Yewheng 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 I have the biggest investment lobang this century. Sell everything MIL false teeth, children, everything and put all your money in Tanzania. They have found a huge amount of one of the most precious resource there. Tanzania has the biggest amount of helium gas supplies. Imagine what we can do with cheap helium. Helium is lighter than air. That means cars in future will be filled with helium and they can fly. People will strap helium packs to their back and we will fly like rocket man. They will strap ballons of helium to cargo ships and ship will be flying across the oceans instead of sailing. The cost of transporting everything will collaspe. Remember where you heard this tip first. From the lesbian. what lobang, u bluff who? I know u copied this idea from a movie 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 http://trends.ufm.edu/en/articles/recent-rise-delinquency-rates-bank-loans-shocking-new-banking-crisis-imminent/ Keep a lookout for delinquency rate on bank loan in USA. It's rising quite fast after the Fed rate Hike in dec16. We are now in the process on bigger economic crisis then year 2008 and possibly worst then great depression in 1929. wah! u can tell the future ah.. rate hike in dec 16? LOL anyway we are royally screwed if NPL goes up just from a measly 25bp hike after 6 long years good luck world Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 (edited) IIRC, 199 shop also got award. After award, warded to history book. Better to reject awards to prevent being jinxed. Edited June 30, 2016 by Kangadrool 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 IIRC, 199 shop also got award. After award, warded to history book. Better to reject awards to prevent being jinxed. Yah lah Daiso never got award and still doing well. I think its the 1 cent that makes all the difference. Every customer pay you 1 cent more, you will be rich. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 30, 2016 Share June 30, 2016 To pay back the 1 cent must go to the bank to get the 1 cent. So many stores and so many 1 cent needed. To go to the bank need to pay security to escort the 1 cent back to the branch. To pay back the 1 cent takes additional time by the counter staff. The staff must do extra work to give back the 1 cent to the customer. 1 cent is nothing but when you have hundreds of customers a day buying thousands of items that hundreds of thousands of 1 cents. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...