Yuan 6th Gear May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 it is during such difficult times that one has to see clearly who are the employer you would wish to work for. You never know when will be the next time that company you work so hard will bite you when you need them most. Unfortunate but reality. Loyalty doesn't pay but surely joining a right company is very important. Of course, we must also be a responsible employee. If company cannot make money, they will not operate like a charity organization, would you? At such time, it pays to wise up and open eyes big enough to see and look around, be it current company or prospective employers. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 I feel you have it upside down leh. Previously the malls were having high occupancy so they can charge high rentals and push land prices high. Right now, occupancy rate is falling so rental/land price gotta come down soon for retail businesses to be viable. I referred to prevalent F&B businesses in malls because these (in general) generate more revenue than retail businesses such as fashion and consequently may be able to survive the high rents. You're talking about the general trend of the mall developer business so I don't understand what your point is. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 I feel you have it upside down leh. Previously the malls were having high occupancy so they can charge high rentals and push land prices high. Right now, occupancy rate is falling so rental/land price gotta come down soon for retail businesses to be viable. mall landlords (mostly reits/ funds) are incentivized by short term performance. They have no regard if your retail survives or not. If u cant stay afloat, there will be plenty others queuing to takeover at $20+psf in your suburban malls In the past, landlords need to offer discounts to get anchors. today, F&B has evolved into somewhat a crowd drawer and still command very high rental rate. A dream come true for landlords . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 (edited) that's why they are called lords ... went to Nex kaypoh kaypoh during the weekend ... wow ... sibei crowded ... F&B huat ah! mall landlords (mostly reits/ funds) are incentivized by short term performance. They have no regard if your retail survives or not. If u cant stay afloat, there will be plenty others queuing to takeover at $20+psf in your suburban malls In the past, landlords need to offer discounts to get anchors. today, F&B has evolved into somewhat a crowd drawer and still command very high rental rate. A dream come true for landlords . Edited May 16, 2016 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 that's why they are called lords ... went to Nex kaypoh kaypoh during the weekend ... wow ... sibei crowded ... F&B huat ah! yes, that's why so many singaporeans dream of being a lord after retirement, having slogged like a slave for 30 yrs go start a F&B chain... serve mediocre food in suburban mall, sure huat until siao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 yes, that's why so many singaporeans dream of being a lord after retirement, having slogged like a slave for 30 yrs go start a F&B chain... serve mediocre food in suburban mall, sure huat until siao Hhhmmmmm, i jobless since late last year, why didnt you say earlier. Then by now i can huat! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged May 16, 2016 Share May 16, 2016 Hhhmmmmm, i jobless since late last year, why didnt you say earlier. Then by now i can huat! Yes, u Shld really find new ways to Huat Hearsay Greece and Iceland planning to default on your loan to them soon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 17, 2016 Author Share May 17, 2016 (edited) there's this fear mongering that the US dollar and economy will collapse on 28 May 2016 there are lots of articles about it but probably most are not credible one of them: http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/501348/Global-financial-collapse-2016-economic-meltdown-recession-dollar-pound-catastrophe anyway it's next week, so time will tell Edited May 17, 2016 by Scion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 it's like 2012 was the end of the world ... LOL there's this fear mongering that the US dollar and economy will collapse on 28 May 2016 there are lots of articles about it but probably most are not credible one of them: http://www.dailystar.co.uk/news/latest-news/501348/Global-financial-collapse-2016-economic-meltdown-recession-dollar-pound-catastrophe anyway it's next week, so time will tell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 (edited) I referred to prevalent F&B businesses in malls because these (in general) generate more revenue than retail businesses such as fashion and consequently may be able to survive the high rents. You're talking about the general trend of the mall developer business so I don't understand what your point is. Good f&b will survive . The most roll down the cost to consumers only ma ... $10 for a cha siew pao Edited May 17, 2016 by Angcheek 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 Hhhmmmmm, i jobless since late last year, why didnt you say earlier. Then by now i can huat! I thought u already in f&b 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 I thought u already in f&b Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 I jobless lah, simi F and B?? Wah lau model pic, courtesy of 'you know who' 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 17, 2016 Author Share May 17, 2016 not all F&B enjoy thriving business leh..... these 2 swat flies until going to close down liao All quiet at foodcourts in two Kallang malls The Sports Hub often hosts fast-paced sports competitions, but when it comes to business at foodcourts in the nearby Kallang Wave Mall and Leisure Park Kallang, things are decidedly sluggish. A Straits Times check found that many of the stalls in the foodcourts are now unoccupied. NTUC Foodfare, which operates the foodcourt at Kallang Wave Mall, said it will "resize" to have fewer stalls. An NTUC Foodfare spokesman said: "Over the past 11/2 years, we have gained a better understanding of the footfall and customer preference in this location, and have decided to resize the foodcourt to better utilise our resources and to provide a better dining experience for our patrons. "The section of the foodcourt where the empty stalls are located will be returned to the landlord." Resizing work is expected to be done by the third quarter of this year and the foodcourt will have 10 stalls - all tenanted now - down from the 17 it started with in 2014. One former stallowner, who declined to be named, said he noticed that even when there were events at the Sports Hub, customers bypassed the foodcourt. He said: "Traffic at my stalls at other shopping malls is good. It is not the food, but the lack of people." One employee at a Korean stall still in business, who gave her name only as Ms Nurbasyisah, 24, said customers comprise mostly workers on weekdays. She added: "It gets busier on weekends but generally business is quite poor." Meanwhile, a spokesman for SMRT Alpha, which manages Kallang Wave Mall, Singapore Indoor Stadium and Water Sports Centre, said the space will be reorganised to bring in a new tenant. Over at the nearby Leisure Park Kallang, about five stalls at the Koufu foodcourt were closed, too, when ST visited recently. A cleaner who declined to be named and has worked there for about eight years, said: "With customers now spread out over two foodcourts, business has suffered." A spokesman for Jack Investment, landlord of Leisure Park Kallang, said it was understood that Koufu was in the midst of changing the food stall mix. Koufu did not respond by press time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 model pic, courtesy of 'you know who' I would not second guess you. many industries going thru cost cutting ..... Jobless is fine.....just be ready by not being moneyless.... Muayhahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 I would not second guess you. many industries going thru cost cutting ..... Jobless is fine.....just be ready by not being moneyless.... Muayhahahahaha Now thats where your experiences would be a saviour for many .... Cost cutting is fine as long as they dont chop heads hahaha Funny thing is why old man like us kana poked first . 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobt Supercharged May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 a couple i know are going to safari (somewhere in africa) just to watch wide animals in close range. for the trip, the 2 are spending $20k+. my 5 years PQP gone like that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 17, 2016 Share May 17, 2016 not all F&B enjoy thriving business leh..... these 2 swat flies until going to close down liao All quiet at foodcourts in two Kallang malls The Sports Hub often hosts fast-paced sports competitions, but when it comes to business at foodcourts in the nearby Kallang Wave Mall and Leisure Park Kallang, things are decidedly sluggish. A Straits Times check found that many of the stalls in the foodcourts are now unoccupied. NTUC Foodfare, which operates the foodcourt at Kallang Wave Mall, said it will "resize" to have fewer stalls. An NTUC Foodfare spokesman said: "Over the past 11/2 years, we have gained a better understanding of the footfall and customer preference in this location, and have decided to resize the foodcourt to better utilise our resources and to provide a better dining experience for our patrons. "The section of the foodcourt where the empty stalls are located will be returned to the landlord." Resizing work is expected to be done by the third quarter of this year and the foodcourt will have 10 stalls - all tenanted now - down from the 17 it started with in 2014. One former stallowner, who declined to be named, said he noticed that even when there were events at the Sports Hub, customers bypassed the foodcourt. He said: "Traffic at my stalls at other shopping malls is good. It is not the food, but the lack of people." One employee at a Korean stall still in business, who gave her name only as Ms Nurbasyisah, 24, said customers comprise mostly workers on weekdays. She added: "It gets busier on weekends but generally business is quite poor." Meanwhile, a spokesman for SMRT Alpha, which manages Kallang Wave Mall, Singapore Indoor Stadium and Water Sports Centre, said the space will be reorganised to bring in a new tenant. Over at the nearby Leisure Park Kallang, about five stalls at the Koufu foodcourt were closed, too, when ST visited recently. A cleaner who declined to be named and has worked there for about eight years, said: "With customers now spread out over two foodcourts, business has suffered." A spokesman for Jack Investment, landlord of Leisure Park Kallang, said it was understood that Koufu was in the midst of changing the food stall mix. Koufu did not respond by press time. You set up a food court at Ama Keng the food court will not have much business also ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...