2016 Recession Year? Gloom and doom 2017!

Scion

with amazon, premium outlet @ overseas, taobao, online shopping, and not to forget JB!!!

i have not purchased anything in spore for the past 5 years ... may be 10 years

Yes true, i buy a lot less from retail shops

At least half of my purchases are online worldwide.

Orchard Road, i go to people watch and makan mostly.

I think, my most recent purchase was an Adidas track jacket for my daughter.

And a fruit blender from Isetan by my wife a few weeks ago

Its only natural if you think about it.

In the 80s and 90s, there was no comparable shopping destination to Orchard road in Singapore

In the new millenium, we saw many new competitors situating themselves closer to the masses.

Today, the suburban malls provide the avenue for movies, food and shopping using the same brands and concept which Orchard Road benefitted from in the early years.

The biggest difference now is the scene and the people who create it.

Very much so like the tenant mix in a condo.

So to me becos of the more "Atas Feel" Orchard Road will never be replaced.

If it gets less crowded, i totally welcome that.

Makes it nicer for folks like me who prefer Orchard Road shopping to Suburban malls.

Good weekend

I agree with you

To me, going to Orchard feels like 'going out'. Suburban Malls feels like going to the market

And less crowds in Orchard is nice. The only worry is that part of the reduced crowds is due to lesser tourists coming to Singapore, which is a big part of our economy

nowadays i go suburban malls for makan and sometimes grocery at NTUC

buy gadgets, books, clothes, shoes all through online already

So to me becos of the more "Atas Feel" Orchard Road will never be replaced.

If it gets less crowded, i totally welcome that.

Makes it nicer for folks like me who prefer Orchard Road shopping to Suburban malls.

Agree. I have some things to say about the suburbs but I better not do so in case I get banned or being politically incorrect. Those are some really nasty things I can say  :D

Agree. I have some things to say about the suburbs but I better not do so in case I get banned or being politically incorrect. Those are some really nasty things I can say :D

If it has nothing to do with the recession, better keep it to yourself.

One people, one nation, one Singapore.

Realised that stocks dropped a lot these few days ....

Hopefully just a correction for bull to pick up more strength to go higher ...

Not happening this yr kekeke

If it has nothing to do with the recession, better keep it to yourself.

One people, one nation, one Singapore.

Suburb malls pricing also not cheap lel . If recession , many will close shops. Already happening in orchard

I feel that the efforts to decentralise downtown activities have paid off well.

Miss the HMV, Kinokuniya and Borders experience though.

Even Takashimaya may not continue to be around in the future due to rental dispute.

Agree. I have some things to say about the suburbs but I better not do so in case I get banned or being politically incorrect. Those are some really nasty things I can say :D

Please go on.

I feel that the efforts to decentralise downtown activities have paid off well.

Miss the HMV, Kinokuniya and Borders experience though.

Even Takashimaya may not continue to be around in the future due to rental dispute.

Malls in Orchard already started to have cracks and yet landlord don't want give in? Omg.. I feel the correct thing to do is to give in abit although that resulted to lower money been collected through rent. Malls with many empty shops will make things worse sia. I doubt those big stores that left will be replaced by many small or some bigger stores with the state of the economy and also so many malls in whole of Singapore now. Unless they chase these stores out by keep pushing sky high rent and when empty reduced to much lower than what they are currently giving them the rate now, I don't see how the take up for new shops will come. So it does not make any sense lor. Edited by Yewheng

Doubt so. They will rather it goes bkt, like flyer, than compromise the dignity of the arrangement.

Agree. I have some things to say about the suburbs but I better not do so in case I get banned or being politically incorrect. Those are some really nasty things I can say  :D

oh yeah, everything about u is nasty!  :a-fun:

time to collect and dump later ... hearsay can make $70k sup sup water

slowly and quietly falling back to jan 2016 lows

time to collect and dump later ... hearsay can make $70k sup sup water

hearsay that guy didn't sell

70k become 35k already?

sti cheong ar !!!

it's time to dump ... hearsay that guy probably can make $70k today liao .... [laugh]

hearsay that guy didn't sell

70k become 35k already?

post-7984-0-78895800-1462926185.png

i think the bigger disruptor is redmart

online delivery is really very good. buy all the heavy stuff and send to your house.

then no need to search aisle by aisle for the stuff you want.

quite good.

hypermarkets r not doing well. discount minimarts taking away their biz