"Short change" of Durian

Neutrino

On 4/9/2017 at 3:24 PM, Count-Bracula said:

Aiyah, should have researched before I buy durians.

Have not buy and eat durians 4-5 years liao, today decided to buy and I think I got chopped carrot.

Asked guy for D24 but he said sold out and recommended dunno what "hei ding" very crazed stuff in penang now.

He ask me take 3 but I say too many, take 2 will do. He cut and weighed the 2 durians, 6 kgs . . . . and $20/kg..... total $120.

Taste so so lah, thick and creamy texture with a slight sweet taste, nothing special. Nana! Got chopped carrot? I always kena "ah chaned" HAIZ!

Any durian expert can advise? I only eat once every few years.

hei ding = black thorn? its supposed to be bitter... not sweet...  and $20/kilo for that seems too cheap... 

personally i dont like it becoz i can find durians from 818 abt the same price as black thorn and way more bitter...

dont ever buy wat the stall owners recommend...  they recommend only wat nobody wants... and those that are more expensive... if you are a regular... thats another issue of cus... .. 

Have not buy and eat durians 4-5 years liao, today decided to buy and I think I got chopped carrot.

Asked guy for D24 but he said sold out and recommended dunno what "hei ding" very crazed stuff in penang now.

He ask me take 3 but I say too many, take 2 will do. He cut and weighed the 2 durians, 6 kgs . . . . and $20/kg..... total $120.

Taste so so lah, thick and creamy texture with a slight sweet taste, nothing special. Nana! Got chopped carrot? I always kena "ah chaned" HAIZ!

I also ate black thorn recently, which cost alot more than msw. And wasn't impress at all. Won't be buying this black thorn anymore. Or maybe i also kenna con.

On 4/10/2017 at 12:49 AM, SuPerBoRed said:

hei ding = black thorn? its supposed to be bitter... not sweet...  and $20/kilo for that seems too cheap... 

personally i dont like it becoz i can find durians from 818 abt the same price as black thorn and way more bitter...

dont ever buy wat the stall owners recommend...  they recommend only wat nobody wants... and those that are more expensive... if you are a regular... thats another issue of cus... .. 

oh I see . . . from now onwards must buy from reputable sellers (those at Bugis?) 

Thanks, bro.

On 4/10/2017 at 1:09 AM, Ender said:

I also ate black thorn recently, which cost alot more than msw. And wasn't impress at all. Won't be buying this black thorn anymore. Or maybe i also kenna con.

I think it is over rated . . . what craze in Penang? I'm a durian noob  [laugh]

On 4/10/2017 at 2:55 AM, Count-Bracula said:

I think it is over rated . . . what craze in Penang? I'm a durian noob  [laugh]

Bro, it just shows that you are sane and truthful to your tastebuds rather than follow those crazy trends.. Not noob la.. hahaha..

On 4/10/2017 at 12:18 AM, Leinad8919 said:

I am not surprise if the durian sellers here practice the slip of hand trick 偷龙转凤。

https://youtu.be/GkUZ4gLwcHs

yes, yes, kena this 4-5 years back . . . bought 2 MSW and got swiped for something inferior.

that's why that day I kept close to the 2 durians I chose  [laugh]  [:p]

Collect some "samples" and send to AVA Singapore to check lor. If the report never come back it can only mean that all at the laboratory KKK liao.

KKK as in Kong Ka Kiao (mati)

JK, pls don't send sample of any kind...

On serious note, with YouTube these days...seller finds it hard to smoke savy durian buyer.

On 4/10/2017 at 12:04 PM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Singapore got Penang durians?  Choon boh ? Take aeroplane ah ?

bulls**t lah.

i havent even seen a penang ang hey in singapore before.

Don't tell me this is another "prize" you Kenna pay for arriving to Fast to Furious Level

On 4/10/2017 at 12:04 PM, Roadrunner2029 said:

Singapore got Penang durians? Choon boh ? Take aeroplane ah ?

The guy said hei ding is craze in Penang.. never say durian from Penang la.. our furthest is pahang right? That one abt 7-8hr travel journey liao.. keke

I think all these names is largely marketing hype.

When I go I just ask for bitter one and within my budget I buy. I don't pay for 百年老树 durian. 

On 4/10/2017 at 1:22 PM, Roadrunner2029 said:

That's why don't belive mah. Think also know.

Penang Ang hey still the best.

All the Msw. Black thorn etc cannot fight