More CPF savings with new rules

Ben5266

crooks asking govt for money to push their penny stock prices higher so that they can buy more properties and luxury cars and have more mistresses

No more avenues to raise capital have to resort to this. Apple's market cap is bigger than that of all the companies combined here  :a-fun:

crooks asking govt for money to push their penny stock prices higher so that they can buy more properties and luxury cars and have more mistresses

[thumbsup]  [thumbsup]  [thumbsup]

Really buay pai say.... have the cheek to blurt it out eyeing our CPF money.  But I don't think government so stupid, why benefit the crooks when there is nothing for itself?

lion open big mouth

circus-clipart-of-a-roaring-or-yawning-b

Don't think too far lah... just enjoy life now, save a bit or whatever we can afford and we shall see where we are when we retire...

totally agree.

If u know u lead a prudent lifestyle, there's no need to count the pennies.

looking around me, i can see many of my friends really enjoying themselves over their limits i think. hope i'm wrong but it looks scary to me from what i know. 

One thing bothers me is that once retired and lose the past regular income, one with suddenly see a big drop in income, and the quality of life will be drastically dropped. How to adjust to that ?

Like from 10k income drop to 2k. From have car drop to no car.

That's why you need to plan.

10k income spend 7k and save 3k for the future so that you at least get 5k per month next time?

looking around me, i can see many of my friends really enjoying themselves over their limits i think. hope i'm wrong but it looks scary to me from what i know. 

It's easy to gauge their expenditure but do you know their income?

Otherwise difficult to say if it is over the limit or not.

Based on my observation of my friends, most are quite thrifty - even the chap who will easily inherit 100-500m. He probably only spends less than 2k per month. 

Edited by Kusje

500 millions and spend 2k ... don't know what to say ...

not that i condone to spend like MJ until pokai but ... still ....

hearsay, you got 500M in the bank but if you cannot spend it ... as if you don't have 500M ... lol

Based on my observation of my friends, most are quite thrifty - even the chap who will easily inherit 100-500m. He probably only spends less than 2k per month. 

That's why you need to plan.

10k income spend 7k and save 3k for the future so that you at least get 5k per month next time?

It's easy to gauge their expenditure but do you know their income?

Otherwise difficult to say if it is over the limit or not.

I agree with your theory on earning say $10k and spending less, saving the remainder for rainy day.

This is what I classify as thrift rather than stingy cos firstly once you used to spending high, hard to come down and secondly, it's always prudent to save as much as possible cos you never know what card fate will deal you down the road, my 2 cents....

500 millions and spend 2k ... don't know what to say ...

not that i condone to spend like MJ until pokai but ... still ....

hearsay, you got 500M in the bank but if you cannot spend it ... as if you don't have 500M ... lol

Haven't inherit yet leh....

After it goes into his bank account, I dunno how he will spend it la. But right now, 2k per month is already quite high for someone else of his age/income?

I agree with your theory on earning say $10k and spending less, saving the remainder for rainy day.

This is what I classify as thrift rather than stingy cos firstly once you used to spending high, hard to come down and secondly, it's always prudent to save as much as possible cos you never know what card fate will deal you down the road, my 2 cents....

I think the only fear one should have for not having enough to retire on is this: What if I live to 110 years old?!

If my current savings plan is based on living 90 years old and I still don't die by then, that's when I get worried.

I think the only fear one should have for not having enough to retire on is this: What if I live to 110 years old?!

If my current savings plan is based on living 90 years old and I still don't die by then, that's when I get worried.

Haha agreed as well, modern thinking is not scared of death but rather by life, long life in particular!!

My grandfather died at 91 and my father is now pass 90 so going by genes, I should be thereabouts and that's what makes me worried!!

Edited by Spring

Example 10k income,

After 2016 adjusted cpf, take home 8.8k.

Assuming car loan payment 1.4k, left 7.4k.

Income tax instalment 400, left 7k.

Perhaps endowment plan 400, left 6.6k.

Self food allowance 20 a day (20 x 30), left 6k.

Discounted 95 for CAT A 300, left 5.7k.

ERP and misc. parking 200, left 5.5k.

Groceries, internet, SCC, SP - 500, left 5k.

Parents sinking fund 1000, left 4k.

Wife sinking fund 1000, left 3k.

Did I miss out anything?

yes ... where got $$ to buy gold rolex? :D

Example 10k income,

After 2016 adjusted cpf, take home 8.8k.

Assuming car loan payment 1.4k, left 7.4k.

Income tax instalment 400, left 7k.

Perhaps endowment plan 400, left 6.6k.

Self food allowance 20 a day (20 x 30), left 6k.

Discounted 95 for CAT A 300, left 5.7k.

ERP and misc. parking 200, left 5.5k.

Groceries, internet, SCC, SP - 500, left 5k.

Parents sinking fund 1000, left 4k.

Wife sinking fund 1000, left 3k.

Did I miss out anything?

people slogged 30 plus years, spend a little to pamper themselves also cannot?

makes sense, just dont be conned by some char bo from whatever land 

Haha agreed as well, modern thinking is not scared of death but rather by life, long life in particular!!

My grandfather died at 91 and my father is now pass 90 so going by genes, I should be thereabouts and that's what makes me worried!!

dont be worried la! living a long & fulfilling life is a happy thingy

a backup plan is to live in a smaller hdb, can cash out for daily expenses