Which is the lowest price n value for $$ new car?

Kia7200

Very difficult to understand these group of people. When it goes up, they applied all but when it goes down, they apportioned it. Especially to used car dealers, don't know what formulae they use, can change anytime they like.

Attrage's new price is out liao.. only dropped 3k to $80k.. guess dealers are anticipating the next COE to go up..

Too low drop.

Me waiting for a jap car to hit 75k.

Note best contender

Very difficult to understand these group of people. When it goes up, they applied all but when it goes down, they apportioned it. Especially to used car dealers, don't know what formulae they use, can change anytime they like.

To be fair, drop by $9k can't expect full $9k to be applied cos likely will go up esp with motorshow coming up.

When it goes up, they don't always increase the full amount as well though obviously more than when it comes down. Anyway amongst the distributors, buyer can discern which AD has the fairest pricing though don't be too happy to buy from the AD that has the biggest price drop cos that one may not be able to secure COE for u, be warned!

Too low drop.

Me waiting for a jap car to hit 75k.

Note best contender

The Note 1.2 DIG-S supercharge does seems like great value. 

To be fair, drop by $9k can't expect full $9k to be applied cos likely will go up esp with motorshow coming up.

When it goes up, they don't always increase the full amount as well though obviously more than when it comes down. Anyway amongst the distributors, buyer can discern which AD has the fairest pricing though don't be too happy to buy from the AD that has the biggest price drop cos that one may not be able to secure COE for u, be warned!

Yep, after the near 10k drop, I saw a post by a mcfer sharing that A-Krass pricing down by 6k.

Benz got bigger margin so can drop $6k, Japs n Koreans likely $4k thereabouts my guess.

I feel for those who need car by end of 1st quarter can seriously consider. Those that can wait awhile more, maybe after 2nd quarter, may go further down?

That problem is the devil in the brew that PI and AD got themselves into by coupling sale of car with COE and ensuring that you cannot decouple them without a significant penalty.

Now they must crack their head and employ people to figure where the COE is heading bid to bid and price it correctly. 

Edited by Limwsv

Yeap. The price drop must be coupled with the rebate level. Having a 40k rebate level can be pretty much useless if one is sure the next for rise, for example

But say 9k drop, it is a guide that you know AD can still accept if you reduce 9k from the previous car value, whether they want it or not.

Benz got bigger margin so can drop $6k, Japs n Koreans likely $4k thereabouts my guess.

I feel for those who need car by end of 1st quarter can seriously consider. Those that can wait awhile more, maybe after 2nd quarter, may go further down?

right now is anyone's guess.  it may like last years 57K which later saw a rebound.....or in view of the unofficial recession, drop further.  If its me, I will wait for 2nd quart.

are these 2 most value for $$ car? not cheapest ...

Kia K3 has high list of specs for the SX model but think it's priced higher.

Elantra should be end of life liao as new model has already been confirmed as coming to our shores. 

What may be low value and affordable NOW may not be in the future

This-Sporean-drives-a-BMW-b-660x330.jpg

Weâve often received stories about people (or friends of people) that sank into a snowball of debts after overbuying with their credit cards or their payslips. However, this single story stood out, because he isnât bankrupt, and he looked perfectly successful in front of others, but deep inside him, heâs struggling just because of a car.

Johnny (may or may not be his real name) worked in a local bank when he graduated from university, and admitted that he had a few job offers even before he graduated. His starting pay was relatively high: at more than $4,500, he earned more than his peers and was set for a debt-free life.

In the first few months of his work, he had some sort of âculture shockâ: when he was schooling, he gave private tuition and was earning about $600 a month. All of a sudden, that ballooned to $3,600 (after his CPF deduction)âthatâs way too much for him to handle all of a sudden!

He applied for almost all the credit cards that promoters in MRT stations offered to himâone by one, he received tens of credit cards and was feeling ârichâ from the credit limit given to him. In fact, he thought he had become â$100,000 richerâ simply because everyone was so willing to loan him money.

But the trouble didnât start from those plastic cards. It started when he decided to buy a car.

During that time, it was still possible to buy a car with $0âall they needed was his payslip and ta-da: he could walk away with a brand new car, having only to fulfil the monthly instalment. But hereâs the thing: the monthly instalment must be fulfilled, because failing which, he would lose a reasonable amount of money.

Johnny got a BMW (he didnât specify which model) and paid $1,000++ every month for the monthly instalment. All was good (not very, but to him, it was)âwith him earning $3,600, he could still survive on a $1,000++ monthly expenses.

But a few years later, he lost his job.

Weâre not sure whether he was retrenched or fired, but even when he lost his job, he couldnât let go of his car. He claimed that the monthly instalment must still be fulfilled, or heâll lose âtens of thousands of dollarsâ.

The first thing he did was to find a jobâfast. He got one as an executive in a financial institution, but the take-home pay of about $2,000 was just enough to pay for his instalment, petrol and maintenance.

Then he admitted something: he could have let go of his car and pay his debts slowly. But he didnât want toâbecause his friends, family members and everyone around him knew him as the successful banker who drove a BMW. He would rather eat instant noodles and bread than to lose his only status symbol that was âkeeping him aliveâ.

It has been a few years now, and with him drawing only $2,000++ and paying $2,000 for his car monthly, his concern now is what would happen next year (2017), when the COE of his car expires. He wonât have enough to renew the COE or buy a new car.

Well, when he posed the question in his email, he replied to it himself: âWhat were I thinking?â

Seriouslyâ¦Johnny, all we can say is that youâre not alone, and thank you for sharing your story, because it really showed us that the latest policies about car ownership have helped people and not harm others.

After all, the moral of the story is simple: donât buy a big hat if youâve got a small head.

The latest policies about car ownership requiring 50% dp and max 5 years loan did help to control ownership. But there is still the so called "balloon scheme" and "in-house" financing. So johnny can still buy new car and continue to eat bread and instant noodles for the next 10 years.

But wait, nowadays bread is also not cheap.

Actually not difficult to understand. It's all about making money. Up price at any given opportunity. Resist down price whenever n however possible. Rule number 1 of any business. Fact of life.

The latest policies about car ownership requiring 50% dp and max 5 years loan did help to control ownership. But there is still the so called "balloon scheme" and "in-house" financing. So johnny can still buy new car and continue to eat bread and instant noodles for the next 10 years.

But wait, nowadays bread is also not cheap

2016 market no good. Johnny's 2000-odd-a-month job is also gone. Johnny goes collect cardboard and then blames PAP for making his life miserable  [laugh]

Now I think is the buyer market.

Dealers have to drop their price if not most Singaporeans will wait for COE to drop further

Specially those used car dealers, try sell their aweful looking Toyota vios with a dep of $14k lo, I see which kang gong kia will buy

I oso think the used car market ridiculous leh...