Carwoman 3rd Gear January 2, 2016 Share January 2, 2016 The dynamics of the country will depend how aggressive and determine people want "success". Now given the new generation of Singaporean or strawberry generation- can they drive the country like our forefather. given the interconnect of the world with no border- how Singapore can stay relevant and value creation into the future is still unknown. All the speculation of property up in the long term is mere speculation without any basis or pre-suppose assumption based on historical trend. Past performance is never a reflection of the future but merely to study carefully with probability the % of winning. The bottom line is talent or people with idea that will prosper the economy- created the wealth effect and supply and demand for property that people want to stay here to make money or opportunity. Singapore is never cheap in terms of cost of living- where is the comparative advantage in comparison to other country- it is only those country with their domestic turmoil that we strive in the current enviornment based on current status quo. my kid seems strawberry, I;m trying to make her into a hard nut! There is hope i think. Anyway i;m grateful for my country. If i think london or australia is going to overtake singapore, I will still be singaporean but invest in properties in those countries ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 2, 2016 Share January 2, 2016 Hahah bro, 600k? U mean 60k? we r talking abt civil service liao. Maybe najib's PA 600k.. haha. For civil servants, maybe 40k per annum with many years experience?Well TS said before he was looking for 20k per month job by showcasing his analytical talents in his coe thread Seems like no offers yet so far 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 2, 2016 Share January 2, 2016 The dynamics of the country will depend how aggressive and determine people want "success". Now given the new generation of Singaporean or strawberry generation- can they drive the country like our forefather. given the interconnect of the world with no border- how Singapore can stay relevant and value creation into the future is still unknown. All the speculation of property up in the long term is mere speculation without any basis or pre-suppose assumption based on historical trend. Past performance is never a reflection of the future but merely to study carefully with probability the % of winning. The bottom line is talent or people with idea that will prosper the economy- created the wealth effect and supply and demand for property that people want to stay here to make money or opportunity. Singapore is never cheap in terms of cost of living- where is the comparative advantage in comparison to other country- it is only those country with their domestic turmoil that we strive in the current enviornment based on current status quo. History shows that city states seldom last. For rich, they can park some wealth outside SG, for most of us, almost everything is here (cash, CPF, properties, investment, etc), so better borrow more and hope the 1-way bet won't go wrong and all will huat in this lifetime. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
edwin15 4th Gear January 2, 2016 Share January 2, 2016 my kid seems strawberry, I;m trying to make her into a hard nut! There is hope i think. Anyway i;m grateful for my country. If i think london or australia is going to overtake singapore, I will still be singaporean but invest in properties in those countries I think we will be more affected by China and India. Especially China. Well TS said before he was looking for 20k per month job by showcasing his analytical talents in his coe thread Seems like no offers yet so far 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 I think he is asst director and initial is KKW Eh... maybe i know the person? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Notice that suddenly many low post MCFers come in and agree with each other regarding properties. Hhhmmmmm..... every singaporean is a property expert. almost all own at least one. not surprising that one can be very quiet but when comes to property have a lot to say 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 oh yeah forgot this civil servant secretary got pay cut ... $418k only ... hmm ... i thought got pay increase liao ... hopefully can touch $500k ... times are bad wow, civil servant secretary need secretary or not? i don't mind being a perm secretary of secretary and take a quarter pay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 hearsay, an experienced secretary makes $600k pa (exclude bonuses) ... how much would a clerk make? You mean perm sec is it? I don't think a normal secretary to the civil service bosses get 600k pa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icemaiden 6th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 (edited) There is no economic "model" in this thread. Are you buying a property for stay or investment? For own stay, buy a nice landed house and that should be ok as land is scarce and should preserve some value in the long haul. For investment, most investors look at cash flows, IRR and yields - not long essay of how Singapore come from fishing village and how property should go up after 40 years. 40 years! Life is too short to wait 40 years for anything. Like someone earlier mentioned, people look at fundamentals and cash flows. So if property currently only gives 2 t0 3% yields at today's prices, why should I invest in property if other less risky asset classes with lower transaction costs and greater liquidity can generate superior yields? And 40 years investment horizon? I want to start enjoying life now. I prefer my assets to generate returns ASAP and don't believe in living and saving for the next generation. So well, not convinced with the long essay. Edited January 4, 2016 by Icemaiden 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 TS should seriously consider changing jobs. You're under utilized in the economy and not generating the value-add that you should be generating. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear January 4, 2016 Author Share January 4, 2016 TS should seriously consider changing jobs. You're under utilized in the economy and not generating the value-add that you should be generating. I like this one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icemaiden 6th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 I am reading this again. And TS is talking about 40 years investment horizon for a 99LH property? Good luck. And comparing a 99LH property with some rubber plantations that our forefathers bought that are freehold? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 (edited) There is no economic "model" in this thread. Are you buying a property for stay or investment? For own stay, buy a nice landed house and that should be ok as land is scarce and should preserve some value in the long haul. For investment, most investors look at cash flows, IRR and yields - not long essay of how Singapore come from fishing village and how property should go up after 40 years. 40 years! Life is too short to wait 40 years for anything. Like someone earlier mentioned, people look at fundamentals and cash flows. So if property currently only gives 2 t0 3% yields at today's prices, why should I invest in property if other less risky asset classes with lower transaction costs and greater liquidity can generate superior yields? And 40 years investment horizon? I want to start enjoying life now. I prefer my assets to generate returns ASAP and don't believe in living and saving for the next generation. So well, not convinced with the long essay. With so many new condo coming onboard, expats are spoil with choice. Rental income will start to reduce from Year 5 onwards & expenses will start to increase from Year 5 onwards. If the property cannot turn a good return (minimum 3%) after deducting all expense incurred (including additional income tax), mind as well put it in CPF special account. Edited January 4, 2016 by Davidtch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Well TS said before he was looking for 20k per month job by showcasing his analytical talents in his coe thread Seems like no offers yet so far Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 Aiya ... TS just doing self justifications .... to convince that he has made the best decision in investing his money to buy his unit in PG. It is his money and frankly none of my business as I have mentioned before his decision is the bestest, no horse run, sure win one. What economic model ????? All I know that the bank will ask for top-up if the value of the property drops ... for example, the loan is based on a value of 2 Million and loan amount is 1.6 Million .... If the valuation of the property drops to 1.5 Million, the bank can ask for top up. At the end of the day .... who knows whether it is "win" or "lose" ? 40 years is a bloody long time and the 99 years lease would be left with 50 years .... TS may have the last laugh .... but good luck lor 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 There is no economic "model" in this thread. Are you buying a property for stay or investment? For own stay, buy a nice landed house and that should be ok as land is scarce and should preserve some value in the long haul. For investment, most investors look at cash flows, IRR and yields - not long essay of how Singapore come from fishing village and how property should go up after 40 years. 40 years! Life is too short to wait 40 years for anything. Like someone earlier mentioned, people look at fundamentals and cash flows. So if property currently only gives 2 t0 3% yields at today's prices, why should I invest in property if other less risky asset classes with lower transaction costs and greater liquidity can generate superior yields? And 40 years investment horizon? I want to start enjoying life now. I prefer my assets to generate returns ASAP and don't believe in living and saving for the next generation. So well, not convinced with the long essay.Later he thinks we are the same person posting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limwsv 5th Gear January 4, 2016 Author Share January 4, 2016 (edited) Later he thinks we are the same person posting Edited January 4, 2016 by Limwsv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smellyfeet 2nd Gear January 4, 2016 Share January 4, 2016 You mean perm sec is it? I don't think a normal secretary to the civil service bosses get 600k pa. Exactly. If its perm sec, id hv no doubt abt it. But if a clerk earns tat much, id hv to do an internal self check where i went wrong.. haha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...