Change Disc Rotors

Surf2004

On 3/1/2023 at 9:44 AM, inlinesix said:

After using Brembo rotor with OE brake pad, I have to disagree with you.

The bite is much better at high speed braking.

Something has to give in exchange for better grip. I'm not saying cannot buy branded or quality. I am just saying why waste good money when stock is good enough? I mean it is only for road use, not for racing.

On 3/1/2023 at 9:51 AM, Watwheels said:

Something has to give in exchange for better grip. I'm not saying cannot buy branded or quality. I am just saying why waste good money when stock is good enough? I mean it is only for road use, not for racing.

Brembo rotor is the same price as OE

😜

On 3/1/2023 at 9:17 AM, Jamesc said:

Why do people accelerate as hard as they can when they see a red light and then almost reaching the light jam the brakes hard?

Then next traffic lights do the same thing.

And then wonder why the brake disc wrap after just 2 years?

I dun know about others, but last time i want to feel my car engine roar and working, if not i buay song, so whenever green light i ram pedal feel shiok ( for a short while)😁

On 3/1/2023 at 2:01 PM, Beregond said:

I dun know about others, but last time i want to feel my car engine roar and working, if not i buay song, so whenever green light i ram pedal feel shiok ( for a short while)😁

This cracks me up but my thoughts are around replacing the existing rotors. I am driving a 5 years old Honda City and the rotors are worn. So I am wondering to go back to OEM rotors or get an aftermarket slotted rotors.

Brake pads will definitely change together with this.

On 3/1/2023 at 9:44 AM, inlinesix said:

After using Brembo rotor with OE brake pad, I have to disagree with you.

The bite is much better at high speed braking.

image.thumb.png.e1d51054d05f9333f03feaae48e763d7.png

Frictional force only have 2 component, 1 is normal force and another is coefficient of friction and nothing to do with surface area.

bigger kits will dissipate heat better, so your system's performance can last longer, not better. 

and for modern cars, the braking distance is limited by ABS. 

On 3/1/2023 at 9:51 AM, Watwheels said:

luk fierce very important oso. no fierce ppl no gib way. 

jokes aside, i changed to bigger calipers because my stock brakes are very weird, i can depress the brake pedal 50% and nothing happens. It only starts to bite violently after that. changing to a big caliper and rotor helps to moderate the brake pressure better. 

On 3/1/2023 at 2:46 PM, Stratovarius said:

image.thumb.png.e1d51054d05f9333f03feaae48e763d7.png

Frictional force only have 2 component, 1 is normal force and another is coefficient of friction and nothing to do with surface area.

bigger kits will dissipate heat better, so your system's performance can last longer, not better. 

and for modern cars, the braking distance is limited by ABS. 

After using Brembo rotor (OE size) on BMW E39, I swear by it.

For Mini, Drill + Slotted front rotor has better bite than solid disc.

I feel close to 70% brake force went to the front.

On 3/1/2023 at 6:15 PM, inlinesix said:

After using Brembo rotor (OE size) on BMW E39, I swear by it.

For Mini, Drill + Slotted front rotor has better bite than solid disc.

I feel close to 70% brake force went to the front.

Brake balance comes from the brake cylinder. Unless u changed the balance, brake force will remain the same. I understand what u mean as I got better feedback from a bbk and upsized rotors. But the brake performance will remain the same if u are using oe pads.

On 3/1/2023 at 6:36 PM, Stratovarius said:

Brake balance comes from the brake cylinder. Unless u changed the balance, brake force will remain the same. I understand what u mean as I got better feedback from a bbk and upsized rotors. But the brake performance will remain the same if u are using oe pads.

Other than drill + slotted rotor, nothing change.  The bite is much better than resulting in the difference in brake bias (based on feeling).

I did not even change the caliper or pad.  Both are OE.

the front rotors and pads of my wife's car are both near to the wear limit, mileage is 103,000km, will change the rotors when I am changing the pads

I went to the stockist to buy rotors today, thanks to Mkl22 recommendation 👍

the rotor is made by brembo

1259335321_brembofrontbrakerotor.jpg.c93db5a892a3e1f2c658cc68600150cd.jpg

12.4kg a piece!

this box of two is 25kg!

20240718_114331.thumb.jpg.f0e1031a2413db6619170d0b6bfbd0fe.jpg

20240718_114356.thumb.jpg.3212d4ee5e8017eaccdea938df2b41f2.jpg

20240718_114546.thumb.jpg.074a87714cf2e12f387780517dd4dfc9.jpg

brembo stamp

20240718_114600.thumb.jpg.691d5be299eba23d461f10ce042c3033.jpg

I didn't go to my usual stockist because I saw their brake rotors are not in the original packaging (loose)

as this is a floating rotor, the hat is made of lightweight and thinner gauge metal, it is strong radially but weak axially, should avoid carrying it by holding the hat, always grab on the rotor

they put this sheet of paper at the bottom of the box, by the time people read it after taking out both the rotors, it is too late 🤣

20240718_114941.thumb.jpg.94a3abcd520c1baa09f0f4e030aaca02.jpg

these "dimples" are rotor wear indicators, they are milled to a precise depth

20240718_115202.thumb.jpg.027b182fb5d2ab1b64bd70bb4da4afcc.jpg

20240718_115213.thumb.jpg.4eedb1f75c7cbfb14d4230840e37926f.jpg

new rotor thickness is 36mm, minimum thickness is 34mm (according to the specs sheet above)

one side wear is 1mm

the depth of the dimple is 1.02mm (0.02mm probably is the thickness of the grey colour zinc protective coating)

when these dimples disappearing on your rotor, meaning it is at the minimum thickness, need to replace

20240718_115808.thumb.jpg.01d8aa962ed0e11c11729a7fb36a281e.jpg

20240718_115835.thumb.jpg.8fa5b6ab68eb2bc9d1661b7f5b07620f.jpg

all set, now just wait for the car to pop "Check brake pads See Owner's Manual" message on the screen 😅

On 7/18/2024 at 1:14 PM, Gnahp said:

the front rotors and pads of my wife's car are both near to the wear limit, mileage is 103,000km, will change the rotors when I am changing the pads

I went to the stockist to buy rotors today, thanks to Mkl22 recommendation 👍

the rotor is made by brembo

1259335321_brembofrontbrakerotor.jpg.c93db5a892a3e1f2c658cc68600150cd.jpg

12.4kg a piece!

this box of two is 25kg!

20240718_114331.thumb.jpg.f0e1031a2413db6619170d0b6bfbd0fe.jpg

20240718_114356.thumb.jpg.3212d4ee5e8017eaccdea938df2b41f2.jpg

20240718_114546.thumb.jpg.074a87714cf2e12f387780517dd4dfc9.jpg

brembo stamp

20240718_114600.thumb.jpg.691d5be299eba23d461f10ce042c3033.jpg

I didn't go to my usual stockist because I saw their brake rotors are not in the original packaging (loose)

as this is a floating rotor, the hat is made of lightweight and thinner gauge metal, it is strong radially but weak axially, should avoid carrying it by holding the hat, always grab on the rotor

they put this sheet of paper at the bottom of the box, by the time people read it after taking out both the rotors, it is too late 🤣

20240718_114941.thumb.jpg.94a3abcd520c1baa09f0f4e030aaca02.jpg

these "dimples" are rotor wear indicators, they are milled to a precise depth

20240718_115202.thumb.jpg.027b182fb5d2ab1b64bd70bb4da4afcc.jpg

20240718_115213.thumb.jpg.4eedb1f75c7cbfb14d4230840e37926f.jpg

new rotor thickness is 36mm, minimum thickness is 34mm (according to the specs sheet above)

one side wear is 1mm

the depth of the dimple is 1.02mm (0.02mm probably is the thickness of the grey colour zinc protective coating)

when these dimples disappearing on your rotor, meaning it is at the minimum thickness, need to replace

20240718_115808.thumb.jpg.01d8aa962ed0e11c11729a7fb36a281e.jpg

20240718_115835.thumb.jpg.8fa5b6ab68eb2bc9d1661b7f5b07620f.jpg

all set, now just wait for the car to pop "Check brake pads See Owner's Manual" message on the screen 😅

Mr lim helped you?

On 7/18/2024 at 10:56 PM, Mkl22 said:

Mr lim helped you?

got two gentlemen, one in 70s maybe 80s, the other one 50s

had a good chat with both of them, I told them friend recommended me to drop by their shop

the younger one went extra mile by taking another set of rotors, opening up the packaging just to confirm it is not for my car

senior chatted with me about my wife's car, he knows car very well 👍

then the younger gentleman carried that 25kg boat anchor from shop to the car boot, (parked in front of the shop), excellent customer service 👍

I strained my back when I carried it from car back to home, got to take panadol

On 7/18/2024 at 11:18 PM, Gnahp said:

got two gentlemen, one in 70s maybe 80s, the other one 50s

had a good chat with both of them, I told them friend recommended me to drop by their shop

the younger one went extra mile by taking another set of rotors, opening up the packaging just to confirm it is not for my car

senior chatted with me about my wife's car, he knows car very well 👍

then the younger gentleman carried that 25kg boat anchor from shop to the car boot, (parked in front of the shop), excellent customer service 👍

I strained my back when I carried it from car back to home, got to take panadol

🤣. Old Liao….

The older chap is Mr Lim the boss. He is the one who orders the parts. All the parts can from the local Mercedes warehouse. If you need anything special, he can also order. Just need chassis number. Even air freight in for not much more. 
they beat PAS for service and price any day. Heck I would say they might even beat propel. Order brand new instead of trashy old parts which propel charges an arm and a leg. 

On 7/18/2024 at 11:54 PM, Mkl22 said:

🤣. Old Liao….

The older chap is Mr Lim the boss. He is the one who orders the parts. All the parts can from the local Mercedes warehouse. If you need anything special, he can also order. Just need chassis number. Even air freight in for not much more. 
they beat PAS for service and price any day. Heck I would say they might even beat propel. Order brand new instead of trashy old parts which propel charges an arm and a leg. 

yeah, can see the packing label on the box says - RLC Singapore (Tuas)

20240719_000329.jpg.34814df4824fd1198fa93f2e8317b0d4.jpg

lc-singapur-w1920xh1080-cutout.jpg

On 9/7/2024 at 1:24 AM, Roadhogger said:

@Mkl22 can share the contact for the rotors ?

Min hoe auto at Serangoon road. 

20241215_212713.thumb.jpg.299b980699daa24a0443414168e67fa0.jpg

just now the car was telling me to check brake pads wear

I think front pads wear to the sensor already

rear pads give warning at 102,000km

front pads give warning at 117,000km

pads life much longer than our previous W204, almost double, I guess being mild hybrid helps

got to check the stars and moon tonight, choose one auspicious day to change the pads, front rotors also need to change this time