Change Disc Rotors

Surf2004

Thought it should be the other way round?

Long distance at higher speed should be kinder to most wear & tear parts. Brakes should feel much cooler too.

It's the urban stop and start traffic conditions that exert a lot of stress, wear & tear on brakes. To add salt to the wound, brakes are even more stressed on an automatic transmission car due to the fact that it is the only means to regulate speed and control.

Your brake could be binding leading to heating up and warping.

No know leh... The disc confirm warp...but 7 years car about time liao

Long distance at higher speed should be kinder to most wear & tear parts. Brakes should feel much cooler too.

It's the urban stop and start traffic conditions that exert a lot of stress, wear & tear on brakes. To add salt to the wound, brakes are even more stressed on an automatic transmission car due to the fact that it is the only means to regulate speed and control.

Thats y i prefer an auto w tiptronic, if not manual, so can use some engine brake. Also, cornering at slightly higher speed will feel more planted.

I believe in SGP rating how car performs or their durability by years is silly. Why I say that, some people only drive less than 10000km a year, whereas people like me about 30000km a year. In 2 years time, I would have already driven 60000km which might be someone's vehicle's usage in 6 - 7 years.

Back to topic, if you want to skim you can go to Synergy at Paya Ubi, they are facing the highway side. Reasonable price.

I believe in SGP rating how car performs or their durability by years is silly. Why I say that, some people only drive less than 10000km a year, whereas people like me about 30000km a year. In 2 years time, I would have already driven 60000km which might be someone's vehicle's usage in 6 - 7 years.

Back to topic, if you want to skim you can go to Synergy at Paya Ubi, they are facing the highway side. Reasonable price.

yes, by mileage definitely a more accurate gauge, just like service interval.

pay abit more and upgrade to slotted disk. 70% improvement.

bro, any way to substantiate this 70% claim?

e.g. - 70% shorter distance, 70% more braking force?

yes, by mileage definitely a more accurate gauge, just like service interval.

bro, any way to substantiate this 70% claim?

e.g. - 70% shorter distance, 70% more braking force?

definitely shorter braking distance with quicker responsiveness. 

for those that need to carry more pax (high load) on MPV on highway with higher speed frequently, this upgrade is a must for safety.

side note - IMO, the braking distance for a car with 1-2 pax on 100km/h is NOT the same for a car travelling with 6-7 pax. so, this could

be one reason why accident happened when someone with little driving experience drive up north with full load on higher speed.

for those that need to carry more pax (high load) on MPV on highway with higher speed frequently, this upgrade is a must for safety.

side note - IMO, the braking distance for a car with 1-2 pax on 100km/h is NOT the same for a car travelling with 6-7 pax. so, this could

be one reason why accident happened when someone with little driving experience drive up north with full load on higher speed.

So not 70%, just a figure from ur feel. I think its better not to put such claims unless u r the mfgr.

Effective yes, but note other parts in stock condition will take additional stress or pressure, like brake pump, connection n hose.

So not 70%, just a figure from ur feel. I think its better not to put such claims unless u r the mfgr.

Effective yes, but note other parts in stock condition will take additional stress or pressure, like brake pump, connection n hose.

haha, ok paiseh. next time i will send to dyno b4 i give a number here. :gangs:   

One WS skim my car front rotors while changing brake pads.

I didn't ask the price....thot is normal around $20-40per pair sice the rotors still very new, less than 6months.

When I pay up, I got a shock.....s$120 for skimming front rotors....

I told the boss off....topup a little more, i can change a new set (less that s$200 per pair). And I don't like to skim rotors.

This ws popular among markx n Lexus car owners.

The boss may sound n look honest. But if u don't ask the prices before they start work, it would be hard on yr wallet.

Lesson learnt.....buy yr parts and ask him quote labour prices. Don't be a Robert.

I didn't ask the price....thot is normal around $20-40per pair sice the rotors still very new, less than 6months.

I told the boss off....topup a little more, i can change a new set (less that s$200 per pair). And I don't like to skim rotors.

The boss may sound n look honest. But if u don't ask the prices before they start work, it would be hard on yr wallet.

Lesson learnt.....buy yr parts and ask him quote labour prices. Don't be a Robert.

Thats pretty high for skimming rotors. I agree, always ask price 1st unless you already know the workshop people for a super long time. 

Also your fault ma. You should have ask for the price first. Not assume and then tell him off.

Actually, its a bit of both isn't it?

e.g. 100km of NSE, if you don't brake much, no stress on brake system compared to 100km of city driving.

But if you had to say, zham brake becauses Bas Persiaran swerved into your lane, I would hazard brake wear (both rotors and pads) is geometric to speed? e.g. a 200 to 100 kph e-brake is more than 10 times the wear of a single 10-0 kph brake?

Hi, my steering wheel vibrates when I brake at 100km/hr. Likely warped disc rotors though less than 2 yrs old. My brake pads are 60% used. Should I change brake pads when I change disc rotors ?

I also having this issue now. Got any workshop to recommend? Mine I think worse. Not only steering wheel vibrating. The entire car will shake. Which irritates me a lot. 

go cycling....after all you are RECYCLING accounts