A3, A160 & V40

Victor68

On 12/23/2015 at 10:29 AM, Victor68 said:

These 3 are today stiff competitors for entry up market euro car I think. Which is value for money or none?

Never see AD selling new S40.  Where did you see it?  Do you mean V40?

The A3 is the best car in overall competence out of these three hatchbacks (assuming you're talking about V40), in my opinion.

The A-class is more stylish but less practical and spacious.

The V40 is kind of good value due to price and safety equipment compared to those two though.

On 12/23/2015 at 11:10 AM, LoverofCar said:

Never see AD selling new S40.  Where did you see it?  Do you mean V40?

oso neber see AD sell A160........ [dizzy]

all r safety feature packed cars if u referring to A200, A3, V40.

but i think lighting package / feature quite bare like halogen, no LED type DRL, maybe audi lighting package better.

used to wanna get either of those, but didn't cos of drivertrain combo n diesel-related con. n there's also heftier price tag of maintaining warranty.

n not exactly roomy as well.

  On 12/23/2015 at 2:58 PM, Fuelsaver said:

all r safety feature packed cars if u referring to A200, A3, V40.

but i think lighting package / feature quite bare like halogen, no LED type DRL, maybe audi lighting package better.

used to wanna get either of those, but didn't cos of drivertrain combo n diesel-related con. n there's also heftier price tag of maintaining warranty.

n not exactly roomy as well.

A3 only come with "xenon plus" auto-levelling bi-xenon projectors. The DRL is the so-called "Optitron" fibreoptic pipe.

A180 come with halogen lights that make the car look worse than its high price. V40 also only come with halogen lights unless it's the premium model that has corner-swivelling bi-xenons.

  On 12/23/2015 at 4:00 PM, Thaiyotakamli said:

In before someone say why no lexus ct

upmarket euro car leh, great leader! :XD:

Sorry about the correct model name but quite clearly you guys the experts already know them well. Yes, maybe should have added the BMW series 1 but cost wise maybe higher?

On 12/23/2015 at 11:55 PM, Victor68 said:

Sorry about the correct model name but quite clearly you guys the experts already know them well. Yes, maybe should have added the BMW series 1 but cost wise maybe higher?

What's your budget bro?

  On 12/23/2015 at 11:55 PM, Victor68 said:

The 116d (actually I can't remember what model exactly) launched quite cheap leh. And diesel price some more so low.

The A180 is by far the most expensive and poorly equipped out of the options you are suggesting.

But it has the undeniable Benz aesthetics of course.

Edited by 7hm

On 12/24/2015 at 2:13 AM, 7hm said:

The 116d (actually I can't remember what model exactly) launched quite cheap leh. And diesel price some more so low.

The A180 is by far the most expensive and poorly equipped out of the options you are suggesting.

But it has the undeniable Benz aesthetics of course.

yeah A180 got the chio factor ...

not very comfortable inside if driver is tall ... dunno how the Germans themselves fit in ... [confused]

  On 12/24/2015 at 2:17 AM, Blueray said:

yeah A180 got the chio factor ...

not very comfortable inside if driver is tall ... dunno how the Germans themselves fit in ... [confused]

Got their funny "integrated head restraints" bucket-like seats as well... think also the A200 got ambient lighting, including on the seat headrests, makes for a nice feel.

But the ride quality (though not as bad as CLA), the materials, the uncomfortable cluster of buttons, lack of Intelligent Light System (without indent) the lack of space and carrying capacity, etc., make the A-class a poor proposition objectively speaking imho.

Equipment is also sparse... don't even have reverse camera, the last time I checked, but that was months ago. Maybe spec got improved again.

But I'm with those people who say it's a great runabout for a lady or a single guy who doesn't have trouble with the small space and doesn't carry a lot of barang often.

Edited by 7hm

On 12/24/2015 at 12:42 AM, Weez911 said:

What's your budget bro?

Bro, no budget then got to check left and right, [:p] . Have not decided what to buy because I do have sometime before my COE is due. What is your take given the 4 models?

On 12/24/2015 at 8:27 AM, Victor68 said:

Bro, no budget then got to check left and right, [:p] . Have not decided what to buy because I do have sometime before my COE is due. What is your take given the 4 models?

Sorry, I honestly have not driven any of these 4 as owner on daily basis, so it's unfair for me to comment. How about u TD all 4, and read through all these comments in the respective threads? There should be a thread for each model, except Volvo I think.

Merry Christmas and happy choosing!

Edited by Weez911

  On 12/24/2015 at 8:27 AM, Victor68 said:

I would wait for the new Infiniti hatchback... or the new Opel Astra! Car of the year winner!