Weez911 Supersonic January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 Sigh, Stockholm Syndrome and infighting now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 On 1/15/2016 at 2:45 AM, Cscbb said: re: ...just seems like a broken record...Nothing constructive will come out from... Here you show you are resistant to change and snub advice hard-won from dozens of transactions. Newbie buyers do need a guiding hand about what tactics to expect when dealing with used-car dealers. Instead of baiting the dealers here, you should practice by going into the field and negotiate. This weekend, while all are at the new-car show, used car dealers will be swatting flies. Shortlist the bread and butter car you want most and make the encounter. See how many will allow you to test drive a 2007 car without some deposit or negotiation of price first. Yes oh mighty guru... Thank you for your advice, really very superficial oh I mean beneficial 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 (edited) On 1/15/2016 at 2:52 AM, Weez911 said: Sigh, Stockholm Syndrome and infighting now. More of a "always-right" syndrome, one's experience always "superior" than the other... Edited January 15, 2016 by Carnoob Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 On 1/15/2016 at 2:30 AM, Cscbb said: I repeat myself because many newbie buyers are unprepared for the quirks of negotiations in singapore used car market. Just learning to calculate paper, checking what dealers are bidding as body value, and knowing how to read the lta log card, for example. Almost all of us get to practice only once every 3-4 years when changing car. Dealers get to practice their tactics daily. re: have you handled private sellers before... Like I said, I am a trader. The issue is that dealers make it their profession/business. That comes with certain ways of behaving, exchange of information, transaction procedure/sequence, industry standards. Private sellers do a once-off transaction with all their personal, untrained quirks. Private seller interactions should be more congenial, except that singaporeans are ungracious, cheap, impatient. trader? you mean trade cars? true most private buyers get to practise once every 3-4 yrs and with changes in calculation eg CEVs rebate, PARF depending on year of cars... it gets pretty hard for a buyer to keep track.... on the other hand, for such a big ticket item, at least to me is big ticket, buyer should also do some homework themselves.... if 1 does not bother to put in effort.... they have no one to blame but themselves........ oh and also have to be thick skin......... money more important than face..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged January 15, 2016 Share January 15, 2016 how about those 2nd hand dealer linked to AD like volvo selekt, performance select etc anyone dealt with them before? how does it compare with typical used car dealer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged January 16, 2016 Share January 16, 2016 On 1/14/2016 at 6:00 AM, Galantspeedz said: i think you getting abit over liao...... though i agree that bad dealers outweigh good dealers but there are still some decent ones around you keep saying you do not begrudge them their profit but i feel you are... have you handled private sellers before? not easy.... and they want sell to at dealer price also though they hardly put in effort to do up the car... at least most dealers will touch up the exterior of the car now that u nentioned it, I'm a direct seller on 2 occasions. so far, managed to reach a reasonable price where both r happy. i oso kept my car in good condition, if not better than most direct sellers n dealers, some of whom just do grooming using greasy products that ended up looking insincere or last minute touchup. Now selling my third one, again properly maintained w records from my ownership onward. One of the buyer even became a fren, wc we still kept in touch after all these yrs. Whther seller or buyer, key issue is honesty, wc means also giving essential info even if other party doesn't bring up. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 Let me add to the discussion. My experience of trying selling my car. Went around looking for new car. Average trade in value quoted $50K. Tried a quote service and sold to dealer @ $62K. Now dealer put up for sale @ $74K. You can make conclusion about the good the bad and the ugly 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Battledome64 3rd Gear January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 With the tech era in the U.S. You can bypass dealers and order direct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenTong Turbocharged January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 Any Bros or Sistas have experience with consignment? Would like to know the average commission charge.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Newbie26 Hypersonic January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 On 1/17/2016 at 2:10 AM, BenTong said: Any Bros or Sistas have experience with consignment? Would like to know the average commission charge.. Based on experiences gathered, 1. ave commission is 1% based on sale price, if sale price is very low, an absolute amount can be charged 2. BUT can be negotiable bet $500 to $800 3. As consignment agents earn "little", not many want to do this business unless they can generate other income from the sale e.g marketing insurance to potential buyers as a condition etc. some of these things sellers may not be even know about this 4.The traditional consignment transaction, no sale no commission is straightforward. But the situation can be more complicated. For e.g when there is a buyer, the seller will sign an agreement on an agreed sale price to transfer car to consignment agent without knowing who the buyer is. Then separately, the buyer will transact directly with consignment agent. On paper it sounds attractive to seller but agent may depress your agreed sale price. e.g you put up car for sale at 100k. after several weeks, agent claims best offer so far is 90k and persuade you to sell bec market very bad lah etc, so you get persuaded to sell your car at 92k after agent claims he persuaded buyer to up to 92k. But it is possible that the best offer from buyer is 95k. So as seller you will never know. Agent pockets the extra The good thing about this kind of transaction is that when there is a problem with your car, buyer chases after agent or company not you. 5.There are also situations where sellers leave their car with consignment agents and agents use them for other purposes, can read these in our forum threads So in essence, do your due diligence if you want to put up your car for consignment. Know the entire process and options before you agree bec some of these may not be clear at the beginning If not may land up contributing to this forum compliants threads 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
car50 Twincharged January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 For consignment, the best is for agent to pick the car from you whenever there is a viewing and set clearly the return date. With car cam you can track. Also to sign indemnity form for each viewing. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 On 1/13/2016 at 8:35 AM, Cscbb said: Again you cannot face the issue when cornered: if you have honest open upfront disclosure of all the effort you put into each unit, why be afraid of asking for a profit? It is because very few dealers bother to value-add or make extra effort to improve the quality of their merchandise. This buy-low-mark-up and sell to the next sucker cannot be the way forward for singapore businesses. You ask for high profit but cannot explain what you improved on each unit. You count on buyer bring up issues, then you fix or find excuse. So if they don't ask or don't know how to look, even better. You just keep quiet and get them out of the way quickly. I repeat that I have bought and driven used cars for decades. Each time I have given a nice profit to the upfront dealers who are transparent with their extra efforts. If dealers are honest n transparent, how to survive? U know how to run business or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Justin2016 Neutral Newbie January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 WORST CAR DEALER EVER!!!to whoever is considering getting a car from them, here is my bad experience that I want to share with you:- I purchased a 2nd hand car from Hui Yi in October 2015. they pretended the car had been checked by themselves before they sold the car to me.- after less than 3 days, I couldn't start the car... they guarantee the engine for 1 week, but the rest of the car, they don't care. When I asked if they are supposed to sell cars in a working condition, they kept saying "we guarantee the engine for 1 week"... so I went to a workshop to have the car fixed: the battery cable was not well connected. the guy said "it takes one second to see the problem, I don't think your car dealer even opened the hood to check anything!"- 1 week later, I realised the car was not balanced. so I went back to Hui Yi. they said "it's probably the tire inflation, but don't worry there is no problem". so I went back to the workshop... after checking the car, my workshop saw the suspensions springs were different on both sides of the vehicle (different size!) which makes it very dangerous since your car can roll in curves!!!- but that's not it... 3 weeks later I coudn't start the car again.. I had to change the fuel filter... and then 1 month later that was the fuel pomp... in total I have already spent about RM5,000 to fix the car... I have given up with trying to get compensation from them.. each time I went there, I was looking for the boss but everybody said I can't give you his number!! WTF! what sort of company is that!!?? There are hundreds of car dealers in the region. so if you are considering getting a car from them, please think twice!! you might not have the same problems than me, but you can be sure these guys are liars and won't tell if the car has any problem.!! not to say to CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP IS TERRIBLE!!! Justin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 Hui yi??? Na de lok...... wcega. Turf city?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imac 5th Gear January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 On 1/17/2016 at 5:01 AM, Justin2016 said: WORST CAR DEALER EVER!!!to whoever is considering getting a car from them, here is my bad experience that I want to share with you: - I purchased a 2nd hand car from Hui Yi in October 2015. they pretended the car had been checked by themselves before they sold the car to me. - after less than 3 days, I couldn't start the car... they guarantee the engine for 1 week, but the rest of the car, they don't care. When I asked if they are supposed to sell cars in a working condition, they kept saying "we guarantee the engine for 1 week"... so I went to a workshop to have the car fixed: the battery cable was not well connected. the guy said "it takes one second to see the problem, I don't think your car dealer even opened the hood to check anything!" - 1 week later, I realised the car was not balanced. so I went back to Hui Yi. they said "it's probably the tire inflation, but don't worry there is no problem". so I went back to the workshop... after checking the car, my workshop saw the suspensions springs were different on both sides of the vehicle (different size!) which makes it very dangerous since your car can roll in curves!!!- but that's not it... 3 weeks later I coudn't start the car again.. I had to change the fuel filter... and then 1 month later that was the fuel pomp... in total I have already spent about RM5,000 to fix the car... I have given up with trying to get compensation from them.. each time I went there, I was looking for the boss but everybody said I can't give you his number!! WTF! what sort of company is that!!?? There are hundreds of car dealers in the region. so if you are considering getting a car from them, please think twice!! you might not have the same problems than me, but you can be sure these guys are liars and won't tell if the car has any problem.!! not to say to CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP IS TERRIBLE!!! Justin Hui Yi???? located where? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 Maybe jb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DylanRaphaelLee Clutched January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 Anything happened before 6 months that is not related to wear and tear, go to case and open a case with them. Within few months can be solved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forte3737 5th Gear January 17, 2016 Share January 17, 2016 On 1/17/2016 at 5:01 AM, Justin2016 said: WORST CAR DEALER EVER!!! to whoever is considering getting a car from them, here is my bad experience that I want to share with you: - I purchased a 2nd hand car from Hui Yi in October 2015. they pretended the car had been checked by themselves before they sold the car to me. - after less than 3 days, I couldn't start the car... they guarantee the engine for 1 week, but the rest of the car, they don't care. When I asked if they are supposed to sell cars in a working condition, they kept saying "we guarantee the engine for 1 week"... so I went to a workshop to have the car fixed: the battery cable was not well connected. the guy said "it takes one second to see the problem, I don't think your car dealer even opened the hood to check anything!"- 1 week later, I realised the car was not balanced. so I went back to Hui Yi. they said "it's probably the tire inflation, but don't worry there is no problem". so I went back to the workshop... after checking the car, my workshop saw the suspensions springs were different on both sides of the vehicle (different size!) which makes it very dangerous since your car can roll in curves!!!- but that's not it... 3 weeks later I coudn't start the car again.. I had to change the fuel filter... and then 1 month later that was the fuel pomp... in total I have already spent about RM5,000 to fix the car... I have given up with trying to get compensation from them.. each time I went there, I was looking for the boss but everybody said I can't give you his number!! WTF! what sort of company is that!!?? There are hundreds of car dealers in the region. so if you are considering getting a car from them, please think twice!! you might not have the same problems than me, but you can be sure these guys are liars and won't tell if the car has any problem.!! not to say to CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP IS TERRIBLE!!! Justin Why you never read this thread before buying? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...