Near accident with cyclist 16dec 2015

Kamikaze89

As you said, it's the attitude of cyclists here. I have been to a number of cyclist-friendly cities, such as Amsterdam, Brussels, Copenhagen, Utrecht, Malmo, Munich, Vienna, Paris, and never got the finger salute even if we accidentally stroll onto the cycling lanes.  

Uniquely, Singaporeans seems to receive the most single finger salute in their own countries from cyclists (just go to Youtube and check them out). And these are not the workers cycling to work, or the aged travelling around, but mostly caucasians who are training for their IPPT here (it seems). Apparently, they like to apply their own rules originating from their homeland here. It's such a contempt for our laws.

Actually, hardly see people give the middle finger also. Most of the time I see it, it is on youtube. Wonder why people don't post videos of boring things where nothing happened.

I went there during the 80's. Perhaps times have changed.

The mermaid was a little bit of a let down.

But the point is, the European culture of cyclist is a lot different from the Asian culture of cyclists.

Those who have been to Ho Chi Minh City or Beijing would know how they ride.

Everyone is riding for themselves and thinking of themselves only. How to get quickly from one pt to another.

When I was in HCM on a coach, there was this cyclist carrying long bamboo poles,

He got entangled with one other and a whole bunch of them went down on the road.

It's not a tour de HCM, just a way of life getting from one place to the other, cheaply.

In Sg, I think many drivers had enough of pseudo tour de france cyclists, riding recklessly, and thinking they own the road.

These people does not need to get from one pt to the other.

They just want their exercise in fancy suits on public roads.

Yup. European cycling culture is really different. People there more tolerant of cyclists. I like how easy it is to cycle over there without the fear of drivers overtaking with very little space. Most drivers do know when it is safe to overtake and when it is not. Over there, during the group rides, most cyclists feel safe enough that we'll cycle in a single file, only taking up the whole lane when the roads get narrow and it isn't safe to overtake. It seems like it is normal for the drivers to follow behind us and only overtake when it is safe. 

Actually, hardly see people give the middle finger also. Most of the time I see it, it is on youtube. Wonder why people don't post videos of boring things where nothing happened.

If you want to stir, don't complain about flogging dead horse when the shit hits.

What dead horse and what shit? I am just stating a fact. I hardly get any middle fingers or point middle finger. You get it often? Maybe it isn't the people. Could be something else that make you get it often. I also wonder why no one posts videos of daily boring events where nothing happens and all people going about with their daily lives as per normal.

Ok since you want to proceed, I shall oblige.

So you even know what is a fact? A fact is not what you experience and what others don't.

And I lost count of the number of times you put words into another mouth. Did I ever say I got middle fingers while driving. Read carefully, although I know cyclists can't read properly (see joke in post 227). Going back 7 to 8 pages and I can see all these gibberish coming from you.

I went there during the 80's. Perhaps times have changed.

The mermaid was a little bit of a let down.

But the point is, the European culture of cyclist is a lot different from the Asian culture of cyclists.

Those who have been to Ho Chi Minh City or Beijing would know how they ride.

Everyone is riding for themselves and thinking of themselves only. How to get quickly from one pt to another.

When I was in HCM on a coach, there was this cyclist carrying long bamboo poles,

He got entangled with one other and a whole bunch of them went down on the road.

It's not a tour de HCM, just a way of life getting from one place to the other, cheaply.

In Sg, I think many drivers had enough of pseudo tour de france cyclists, riding recklessly, and thinking they own the road.

These people does not need to get from one pt to the other.

They just want their exercise in fancy suits on public roads.

I had cycled in HCM a couple years ago.  Traffic is more tolerant towards cyclist/motorcyclist.

Even though they might be riding for themselves, there is a "unwritten rule".

Over here, we have "remove" bicycle with the progress of our economy.  Do we still have cycling culture or etiquette over our own?

In Europe, cycling is part of European of life.  I believe in the early days of cycling in Europe is similar to what we are facing now.  Things evolve over time.

Why AMTK believes differently here as compared to their home?  We don't have a cycling culture or etiquette to follow.

If we have something similar cycling culture here, would AMTK behaves like AMTK?

Ok since you want to proceed, I shall oblige.

So you even know what is a fact? A fact is not what you experience and what others don't.

And I lost count of the number of times you put words into another mouth. Did I ever say I got middle fingers while driving. Read carefully, although I know cyclists can't read properly (see joke in post 227). Going back 7 to 8 pages and I can see all these gibberish coming from you.

You said Singaporeans receive the most single salute in their own countries. You are just stating your own opinion as a matter of fact right? So isn't can't i just state that I hardly receive that and my clients also don't get it often? It is a fact I hardly get it and the people o interact with hardly gets it right?

Btw, how did you know the uploaders of the videos are Singaporeans? And I find it easier to find overseas videos of people getting the finger from cyclists too.

You said Singaporeans receive the most single salute in their own countries. You are just stating your own opinion as a matter of fact right? So isn't can't i just state that I hardly receive that and my clients also don't get it often? It is a fact I hardly get it and the people o interact with hardly gets it right?

Btw, how did you know the uploaders of the videos are Singaporeans? And I find it easier to find overseas videos of people getting the finger from cyclists too.

That was my personal encounter, I didn't say it was a science fact - Like the fact that we are humans. This is freaking Singapore, I don't care about middle finger videos overseas. Why should I tolerate Caucasians raising their fingers at us in our own country. Why are you siding Caucasians' unacceptable behaviour?

Are you a lady or you are a bogan?

Edited by Weez911

I had cycled in HCM a couple years ago.  Traffic is more tolerant towards cyclist/motorcyclist.

Even though they might be riding for themselves, there is a "unwritten rule".

Over here, we have "remove" bicycle with the progress of our economy.  Do we still have cycling culture or etiquette over our own?

In Europe, cycling is part of European of life.  I believe in the early days of cycling in Europe is similar to what we are facing now.  Things evolve over time.

Why AMTK believes differently here as compared to their home?  We don't have a cycling culture or etiquette to follow.

If we have something similar cycling culture here, would AMTK behaves like AMTK?

AMTK will behave AMTK the minute they come to Singapore. Cycling culture/etiquette all do not matter.

:XD:  :XD:  :XD:  :XD:

That was my personal encounter, I didn't say it was a science fact - Like the fact that we are humans. This is freaking Singapore, I don't care about middle finger videos overseas. Why should I tolerate Caucasians raising their fingers at us in our own country. Why are you siding Caucasians' unacceptable behaviour?

Are you a lady or you are a bogan?

Not siding with anyone. Just stating what I observed. Of course have to compare with overseas right? Or else who you compare with to determine that Singaporeans receive the most single finger salute in their own country? You compare own self with ownself?

If our drivers can't keep left unless overtaking, how could we expect other road user behaves differently?

What's happening on the road (regardless of mode of transport), is a reflection of on how we behave as a society.

It is not just about bicycle, motorcycle, car or lorry.

Nothing to concede lah. We don't have a road usage culture like European. How could we expect newcomer to Singapore to behave appropriately?

Monkey see monkey do lor.

True. I will not be at all surprised if these drivers whining about cyclists hogging the road are the kings of road-hogging themselves. These days, profound concepts like "my rights" easily roll off whiners' tongues but the real meaning is really "my self-entitlement"  Same for cyclists, same for drivers or whatever.

But hor... We are always blind towards our own faults lah.  Because I'm the only angel living in a world of devils.

Edited by Jellandross

Not siding with anyone. Just stating what I observed. Of course have to compare with overseas right? Or else who you compare with to determine that Singaporeans receive the most single finger salute in their own country? You compare own self with ownself?

That's what you have been doing all the time. You are even sharing your private conversation with an imaginary TP here.

Just because you are afraid of talking to TP doesn't mean everyone else is. If you think I don't make sense then stop replying la. Lol. 

I know I should have stopped a while back, but I find it quite amusing to switch angles and reply your posts. Boring night.

Great that I am able to entertain you. Was wondering how come you reply so fast. So you have nothing to do and feeling bored. Too bad I have to slow down replying as I have a life outside of MCF. Even when I am bored. But its quite entertaining for me to read your replies too.

This is the result of the lack of regulation for vehicles on the road without classification like bicycle, electric bike. Now mobility scooter for senior citizen can go on the road without regulation. No need highway code, no need signal light, no need rear/side mirrors, and other motorist have to watch out for their right to be on the road.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/this-urban-jungle/is-this-safe-uncle-rides-motorised-wheelchair-along-jalan-bukit-merah

This is the result of the lack of regulation for vehicles on the road without classification like bicycle, electric bike. Now mobility scooter for senior citizen can go on the road without regulation. No need highway code, no need signal light, no need rear/side mirrors, and other motorist have to watch out for their right to be on the road.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/this-urban-jungle/is-this-safe-uncle-rides-motorised-wheelchair-along-jalan-bukit-merah

There is clear regulations for e-bike & bicycle.

What's happening now is lack of enforcement.

Look at our expressway. Heavy vehicles is driving on lane 3. Sometimes lane 2

By the way, did stomper call 999?

You don't talk about safety with this uncle.....notice his WHITE construction helmet? He's the safety officer

Some of these mobility scooters are allowed on the roads. But I don't know how to identify them.