Ender Hypersonic December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 Here's another link of an "interesting" driver.... Maybe he is enjoying the mountain scenery, while driving. Happens to tourist from the city. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 frankly because it's a silly question What Police agency is going to give you "permission" to break the law? But as in all things, the answer is far more nuanced than that - the main thing to remember if you are planning a self drive in New Zealand - PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR REARVIEW!!. Most drivers from this part of the world are not familiar with the twisty roads that are in the South Island particularly - the most common thing to happen is that they then slow waaaay down on the twisty parts, holding everybody up, but speed up on the straight parts making it very difficult to get past them - which is way there will (or should be) a certain amount of discretion exercised by police. To combat this - you should watch for a queue of cars forming behind you and pull over to let them pass when the opportunity arises, or, to slow down on the straight parts (if no cars are coming) so that people can come past. As a side note - if a truck "indicates right" on an uphill section of road when you CERTAIN that there is no right turn ahead this means he is inviting you to overtake - if this happens, floor it and take the opportunity! And just a side note - the place where I grew up is a popular tourist destination with narrow winding roads - it was very very common to see drivers that didn't know the road being very slow and aggravating all the locals who were familiar and could safely go much much faster. A frustrated driver is a dangerous driver, always do your best not to cause frustration i am familiar with driving b roads in malaysia so the rules you said are pretty similar just that some people told me that they are very strict on speed limits in NZ so i thought we cannot overtake when all vehicles are already travelling at the limit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 i am familiar with driving b roads in malaysia so the rules you said are pretty similar just that some people told me that they are very strict on speed limits in NZ so i thought we cannot overtake when all vehicles are already travelling at the limit During December and January, 4km over the posted limit will get you a ticket if you are either caught by a speed camera or a marked car. So yes, the enforcement is "fierce" here's the thing though - mostly, speed cameras and patrols are placed at blackspots or other places where speeding is a particular danger. If you are somewhere that is "safe" to overtake - you will also have good enough visibility to spot a police car and there won't be a speed camera - so even if you do exceed the limit, you are unlikely to be caught. And like I say - if your really are unlucky enough to (for example) be pinged by the cop car three cars back in the queue that you didn't notice, unless you speed was truly excessive - I would expect you to get a warning Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 Just back from NZ. Most of the time there was little necessity nor opportunity to overtake as the cars travel at close to the speed limit of 100km/h, whereas the trucks were about 90 km/h. I would overtake those 90 km/h ones mostly only when over taking lanes were available. Most of the slow (usually trucks) drivers were also very considerate, pulling aside, even stopping, when there were an opportunity for the cars to overtake especially at the twisty or uphill bits. I also did that for the faster local drivers. Really as tourists, it is better to relax and enjoy the scenery. And there are speed traps (especially in North Island) even far from town area. 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 The fundamentals are the same everywhere. Road markings and signages varies based on local needs. In Singapore, apparently you will not find animal or train crossing anymore. http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/on_the_roads/traffic_management/traffic_signs.MainPar.79664.File.tmp/Warning%20Signs.pdf onemotoring shows still have leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 i am familiar with driving b roads in malaysia so the rules you said are pretty similar just that some people told me that they are very strict on speed limits in NZ so i thought we cannot overtake when all vehicles are already travelling at the limit Going for an NZ road trip soon? Just back from NZ. Most of the time there was little necessity nor opportunity to overtake as the cars travel at close to the speed limit of 100km/h, whereas the trucks were about 90 km/h. I would overtake those 90 km/h ones mostly only when over taking lanes were available. Most of the slow (usually trucks) drivers were also very considerate, pulling aside, even stopping, when there were an opportunity for the cars to overtake especially at the twisty or uphill bits. I also did that for the faster local drivers. Really as tourists, it is better to relax and enjoy the scenery. And there are speed traps (especially in North Island) even far from town area. That is why I said in an earlier post that NZ has the best drivers in the developed world. My takeaway is that the drivers there are not only polite, they also think abt your well-being. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 Just back from NZ. Most of the time there was little necessity nor opportunity to overtake as the cars travel at close to the speed limit of 100km/h, whereas the trucks were about 90 km/h. I would overtake those 90 km/h ones mostly only when over taking lanes were available. Most of the slow (usually trucks) drivers were also very considerate, pulling aside, even stopping, when there were an opportunity for the cars to overtake especially at the twisty or uphill bits. I also did that for the faster local drivers. Really as tourists, it is better to relax and enjoy the scenery. And there are speed traps (especially in North Island) even far from town area. Hope you enjoyed your holiday!! What was the high point for you? The only thing I would say about slowing down and pulling over - based on my own experience of driving a campervan on unfamiliar, winding roads. I could maintain a "reasonable" speed that was still far slower than most local cars, the biggest problem I had was that by the time I could identify a place where I could safely pull far enough off the road (like a wide corner or a small layby) to let cars pass, I was going too fast to safely pull into that spot and would have had to "jam brakes" which would have tossed everyone inside about and wouldn't have been wise. With this in mind, I have a bit more patience with drivers that don't pull over as quickly as I would like - sometimes it's not as easy as it seems. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 Going for an NZ road trip soon? nope...bo lui besides went there for my honeymoon years ago won't revisit unless i run out of other places, which is not very possible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 nope...bo lui besides went there for my honeymoon years ago won't revisit unless i run out of other places, which is not very possible Should cost less than 1% of your networth lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 What do you mean by "high speeds"? You shouldn't be speeding on unfamiliar roads - especially the dual carriageways prevalent in the South Island, this is not the NSHW where you have smooth roads and a huge median, at anytime you can come across a blur driver in the opposite direction, a slow truck, a farmer moving stock, or any one of a number of other hazards ... I hv posted this before, but it's still relevant https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvLaTupw-hk 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 29, 2015 Share December 29, 2015 I hv posted this before, but it's still relevant https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bvLaTupw-hk Yes. This is a perfect summary of driving in NZ 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear December 30, 2015 Share December 30, 2015 frankly because it's a silly question What Police agency is going to give you "permission" to break the law? But as in all things, the answer is far more nuanced than that - the main thing to remember if you are planning a self drive in New Zealand - PAY ATTENTION TO YOUR REARVIEW!!. Most drivers from this part of the world are not familiar with the twisty roads that are in the South Island particularly - the most common thing to happen is that they then slow waaaay down on the twisty parts, holding everybody up, but speed up on the straight parts making it very difficult to get past them - which is way there will (or should be) a certain amount of discretion exercised by police. To combat this - you should watch for a queue of cars forming behind you and pull over to let them pass when the opportunity arises, or, to slow down on the straight parts (if no cars are coming) so that people can come past. As a side note - if a truck "indicates right" on an uphill section of road when you CERTAIN that there is no right turn ahead this means he is inviting you to overtake - if this happens, floor it and take the opportunity! And just a side note - the place where I grew up is a popular tourist destination with narrow winding roads - it was very very common to see drivers that didn't know the road being very slow and aggravating all the locals who were familiar and could safely go much much faster. A frustrated driver is a dangerous driver, always do your best not to cause frustration The NZ truck "indicates right" seem the opposite practice in Malaysia. Many years ago before NSH in Malaysia, I was in a night coach to Genting on those small roads [1 lane each direction]. I observed those MY trucks/coaches "indicates left" if there was no oncoming traffic, so that faster vehicles behind can overtake safely. If they "indicates right", then it is not safe to overtake. I am sure MY vehicles still practice this tradition. Anyone can confirm ? 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 30, 2015 Share December 30, 2015 Hope you enjoyed your holiday!! What was the high point for you? The only thing I would say about slowing down and pulling over - based on my own experience of driving a campervan on unfamiliar, winding roads. I could maintain a "reasonable" speed that was still far slower than most local cars, the biggest problem I had was that by the time I could identify a place where I could safely pull far enough off the road (like a wide corner or a small layby) to let cars pass, I was going too fast to safely pull into that spot and would have had to "jam brakes" which would have tossed everyone inside about and wouldn't have been wise. With this in mind, I have a bit more patience with drivers that don't pull over as quickly as I would like - sometimes it's not as easy as it seems. I still prefer Kaikoura area.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 30, 2015 Share December 30, 2015 Not exactly on topic - but this seems the best place to post it Waikato's top cop held up by slow driver enjoying the sun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 18, 2016 Share April 18, 2016 (edited) This is like a Singapore-version of Ma Chi. Recklessness that brought shame his family and countrymen.. Singaporean pleads guilty over fatal car crash in New Zealand http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/singaporean-pleads-guilty-over-fatal-car-crash-new-zealand Stuff.co.nz reported that Lew had been driving at 120km per hour at the time of the crash and did not brake. It added that Mr Chambers' widow cried when she heard this in court. Mr Lew survived the 120kph crash seen after being extracted from the wreck in Nov 2015. A Singaporean man has been charged with dangerous driving over a four-car accident in New Zealand that killed a motorcyclist. Lew Wei Kiong, 29, had been due in the Dunedin District Court on Tuesday (Dec 8) to face a count of dangerous driving causing death. Three new charges of dangerous driving causing injury were also due to be brought against him, reported the Otago Daily Times, but the case has been adjourned to Dec 22. Lew, who works at the Energy Market Authority (EMA), was involved in the accident along the state highway in North Otago, about 20km south of Oamaru, on Nov 29. EMA confirmed to Shin Min Daily News that Lew was an employee and that it was extending aid to two employees in New Zealand. According to stuff.co.nz, Lew was driving a rented Toyota and had allegedly crossed the double yellow lines on the highway to overtake a group of cars. He crashed into two cars and a motorcycle travelling in the opposite direction. The passenger in the Toyota, who is also believed to be Singaporean, had to be cut from the car and was flown to Dunedin Public Hospital with serious injuries. Five others suffered injuries, while the motorcyclist, 39-year-old Craig Alan Chambers, died at the scene. New Zealand police had blamed the car crash on driver "inattention". The accident also reportedly reignited a debate over tourist drivers and the condition of roads in New Zealand, with Labour Party MP Damien O'Connor suggesting that poor road design could have led to the crash. He said that certain roads on the country's south island could be confusing for foreign drivers and clearer signage was needed. http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/australianz/singapore-tourist-charged-with-dangerous-driving-after-fatal-crash-in-new-zealand?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#xtor=CS1-10 Edited April 18, 2016 by Wishcumstrue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged April 18, 2016 Share April 18, 2016 ...Labour Party MP Mr Damien O'Connor suggesting that poor road design could have led to the crash... nahbei Suggest rental car have signs on cars... Tourist vehicle? Or a short mandatory driving course for tourist. I would enjoy an embassy endorsed fun Maori teaching me how to 'NZ drive' in SGP b4 going. Oops, I go bury monKey again for the deck fella. So NZ is car touring friendly ya. Hmmm What would be a moderate budget cost for 4 to 6 person trip? From north to south or the other way around? Where are the reputable hospitals? Always go hospital, Sibei Cham one. Thanks for your contributions. Time is precious regarding family. Boy or elderly sama sama. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged June 4, 2016 Share June 4, 2016 Sentenced on 3 Jun 16 ..... http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/australianz/singaporean-in-fatal-nz-crash-gets-4-months-home-detention-25000-fine-and-community Singaporean in fatal NZ crash gets 4 months' home detention, $25,000 fine and community work A Singaporean who was involved in a fatal accident while holidaying in New Zealand has been sentenced to four months of home detention and 200 hours of community work. Lew Wei Kiong, 30, was also disqualified from driving and ordered to pay NZ$27,000 ($25,400) for causing emotional harm, stuff.co.nz reported. He was holidaying with a female colleague in New Zealand's South Island on Nov 29 last year when the rented Toyota Corolla he was driving caused a four-vehicle crash. The accident, which took place on the state highway in North Otago - about 20km south of Oamaru- resulted in the death of 39-year-old motorcyclist Craig Alan Chambers. ► In his sentencing on Friday (June 3), Judge Kevin Phillips in the Dunedin District Court said fatigue combined with speed was a "lethal combination". ► He noted that Lew fell asleep at the wheel and could not remember what had happened. Lew, who works as a senior analyst at the Energy Market Authority (EMA), had pleaded guilty to aggravated careless driving causing death and another three charges of aggravated careless driving causing injury on April 12. ► According to stuff.co.nz, Mr Chambers' wife, Nicola, told Lew in court on Friday that "you are solely responsible for my child being fatherless and me being a widow". Lew was said to have crossed the yellow lines into the northbound overtaking lane at some point. After rounding a moderate right-hand bend, Lew's car ran into a group of six incoming vehicles that were passing a vehicle pulling a horse float. Five people were also hurt in the accident, including Lew's 31-year-old colleague, who reportedly suffered serious injuries and was hospitalised after rescuers had to extricate her from the wreckage. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 9, 2023 Share May 9, 2023 another fatal accident in New Zealand killed 3 young Singaporean. https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/three-killed-in-nz-camper-van-crash-were-singaporeans?utm_campaign=stfb&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook ↡ Advertisement 1 1 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...