Watwheels Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 What do you mean big deal? We're just netizens discussing this incident on a forum that is not even based in the country where the accident occurred. Nothing is going to happen as a result of what you or I post on here. That being said, your assertion that he is inexperienced holds no water. BECAUSE he is not experienced, he should have known to take extra precautions like not overtaking on a bend (this would have been taught during his standard driving course in Singapore). You want "fairness" for the driver? Then what about the dead? Your "discussion" is relevant only if you are in the car with the driver. That you know whether he took precaution or not. Who overtakes with eyes blindfolded? Nobody. Normal ppl would see that it's clear before making the move but unfortunately it's on a bend. So likely he's inexperienced. Or he dun know the Toyota got no nitro boost. LoL... You may argue which ever way you want it. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 (edited) Your "discussion" is relevant only if you are in the car with the driver. That you know whether he took precaution or not. Who overtakes with eyes blindfolded? Nobody. Normal ppl would see that it's clear before making the move but unfortunately it's on a bend. So likely he's inexperienced. Or he dun know the Toyota got no nitro boost. LoL... You may argue which ever way you want it. I just voted this down - You're doing little more than trolling right now. Sure, maybe the passenger urged him to overtake and said it was safe, or maybe the mind control rays from Obama forced him to do it - But there is no excuse for his actions - all we can do now is send good thoughts towards the victims of his recklessness, and learn from his mistakes... The wrong thing to do is to defend him Edited December 9, 2015 by Darryn 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 (edited) I think Porker was right when he said you are arguing in the face of logic and common sense. I've said my piece. Edited December 9, 2015 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 I just voted this down - You're doing little more than trolling right now. Sure, maybe the passenger urged him to overtake and said it was safe, or maybe the mind control rays from Obama forced him to do it - But there is no excuse for his actions - all we can do now is send good thoughts towards the victims of his recklessness, and learn from his mistakes... The wrong thing to do is to defend him Maybe he was thinking, master "Yoda" is backing me from behind, just do it ... 'The Force Is With Me' ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 (edited) Aiya, there are many contributing factors as to how the accident happen. Some say driver takes full blame. Sure. I say road design got problem. I'm not saying the driver is never wrong. So many factors that can contribute to it. As I mentioned earlier it's a matter of perspectives. The NZ police findings say it's the driver's "inattention", NZ MP says road is confusing etc. Why not just make the road such that it's safe for everyone to use including Singapore drivers? If it's not a long stretch of road build a concrete road divider. If it's too big to build just install small blocks of brick-like bumps with reflective strips around the bend. It can serve day and night. Edited December 9, 2015 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 (edited) Aiya, there are many contributing factors as to how the accident happen. Some say driver takes full blame. Sure. I say road design got problem. I'm not saying the driver is never wrong. So many factors that can contribute to it. As I mentioned earlier it's a matter perspectives. The NZ police findings say it's the driver's "inattention", NZ MP says road is confusing etc. Why not just make the road such that it's safe for everyone to use including Singapore drivers? If it's not a long stretch of road build a concrete road divider. It is a long stretch of road - Central Otago to Christchurch for example is around 500km.... And your argument gets worse and worse - Now we have to design roads to be safe for irresponsible and reckless Singapore drivers - one of whom has just killed a New Zealand citizen? Do you realize how you are sounding? And building a central divider means one of two things - a) removing the passing lane b) Acquiring land from the neighbouring farm Just to be safe from a reckless driver who broke the law and common sense? In any case - I can tell you one thing - the law on road accidents in New Zealand is relatively forgiving, if it was truly and "accident" or "understandable" there is no way he would be facing so many charges of such a serious nature - this is a particularly egregarious case of stupidity Edited December 9, 2015 by Darryn 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 It is a long stretch of road - Central Otago to Christchurch for example is around 500km.... And your argument gets worse and worse - Now we have to design roads to be safe for irresponsible and reckless Singapore drivers - one of whom has just killed a New Zealand citizen? Do you realize how you are sounding? And building a central divider means one of two things - a) removing the passing lane b) Acquiring land from the neighbouring farm Just to be safe from a reckless driver who broke the law and common sense? In any case - I can tell you one thing - the law on road accidents in New Zealand is relatively forgiving, if it was truly and "accident" or "understandable" there is no way he would be facing so many charges of such a serious nature - this is a particularly egregarious case of stupidity 5 points to you on your patience. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 5 points to you on your patience. Can try and fight ignorance - although I do suspect he's just trying to wind us all up now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 must have been impatient and decided to overtake. most traffic in NZ are slow moving and tend to stick to the speed limit? been there almost 20 years ago and it seems that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 Singaporeans going to drive in overseas must get familiar with it "Highway Codes". Double Yellow Lines in the centre of road means "No Overtaking". But he may be thinking that driving with double yellow lines on the left is the norm? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 must have been impatient and decided to overtake. most traffic in NZ are slow moving and tend to stick to the speed limit? been there almost 20 years ago and it seems that way. Slow moving is relative the open road speed limit is 100km/h Most cars will be at, or close to this For trucks (from memory) it is either 80 or 90 What is slower tends to be a) Campervans b) Cars towing boats / caravans / trailers - the limit for these is 90. Most drivers will be around there Currently in NZ the police are "blitzing" speeding - where 3 km over the limit will earn you a ticket, so yes - most drivers are being careful. But here's the thing - for the majority of the roads, you don't want to be doing much more than 100 anyway - unless you are "enjoying" the drive, or you are in a hurry. And the reason for the passing lane as per the picture of this accident is so that you can pass the slower cars safely... You need to bear in mind that on a dual carriageway, you have a closing speed of 200km/h - and the cars will be passing less than 2 m from one another - that's rather fast when you think about it But he may be thinking that driving with double yellow lines on the left is the norm? Wah --- like that they were three cars wide facing oncoming traffic... Wonder what a view like that was like for the motorbike.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 Why not just make the road such that it's safe for everyone to use including Singapore drivers? If it's not a long stretch of road build a concrete road divider. If it's too big to build just install small blocks of brick-like bumps with reflective strips around the bend. It can serve day and night. If they install concrete dividers down the center. Then how will drivers pass if a vehicle breaks down or there is an accident on the side that is 1 lane only? If they put the bumps down the divider, probably will cause more accidents when drivers accidentally touch the line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 (edited) must have been impatient and decided to overtake. most traffic in NZ are slow moving and tend to stick to the speed limit? been there almost 20 years ago and it seems that way. When their locals driving slow, thats mean something or some reason for it that they observe the speed limit and lane discipline. Twice I had witness incidents happen along NSH in MY. They installed the road sign "Warning, Crosswind" and 'Wing-socks' at the highway is for a reason. They don't do it for fun. Right before my eyes, a SG merc overtake me at a fast speed (I was doing 90km/h when I saw the Cross-wind sign) and it lift off from the road & into the ditch beside the highway (Wind-sock already at 90 degree showing strong cross-wind). Lucky the driver and passengers were not injured. In another incident also along NSH where a SG Lancer lifted off the ground and landed on it roof inside the drain. Stopped to help and this time, two passengers were injured. Edited December 9, 2015 by Picnic06 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 When their locals driving slow, thats mean something or some reason for it that they observe the speed limit and lane discipline. Twice I had witness incidents happen along NSH in MY. They installed the road sign "Warning, Crosswind" and 'Wing-socks' at the highway is for a reason. They don't do it for fun. Right before my eyes, a SG merc overtake me at a fast speed (was doing 90km/h) and it lift off from the road & into into the ditch beside the highway (Wind-sock already at 90 degree showing strong cross-wind). Lucky the driver and passengers were not injured. In another incident also along NSH where a SG Lancer lifted off the ground and landed on it roof inside the drain. Stopped to help and this time, two passengers were injured. 100% correct - you don't want to be second guessing locals when it comes to a safe speed on any particular road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 Aiya, there are many contributing factors as to how the accident happen. Some say driver takes full blame. Sure. I say road design got problem. I'm not saying the driver is never wrong. So many factors that can contribute to it. As I mentioned earlier it's a matter of perspectives. The NZ police findings say it's the driver's "inattention", NZ MP says road is confusing etc. Why not just make the road such that it's safe for everyone to use including Singapore drivers? If it's not a long stretch of road build a concrete road divider. If it's too big to build just install small blocks of brick-like bumps with reflective strips around the bend. It can serve day and night. I think the easiest solution : ban SG drivers from driving in NZ. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 When their locals driving slow, thats mean something or some reason for it that they observe the speed limit and lane discipline. of course the local are slow for a reason, that's why is called countryside. if everyone wants to go fast, soon they will become another Wellington or even Singapore liao I think the easiest solution : ban SG drivers from driving in NZ. now you sound like Trump 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 of course the local are slow for a reason, that's why is called countryside. if everyone wants to go fast, soon they will become another Wellington or even Singapore liao Sing-kar-pore lang should drive even slower cos to enjoy the 'countside' & mountainous scenic views .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 I think the easiest solution : ban SG drivers from driving in NZ. Oi! Don't like that lah. I enjoyed my drive from Cape Reinga to Bluff and I wanna do it again in future... I loved the drive in NZ. Just make an effort to learn the local signage/ road markings, drive slow if in doubt and use some common sense. (Kinda like when driving - kiang eh sai liao, mai keh kiang) ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...