teomingern 6th Gear May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/10/2023 at 12:22 PM, Voodooman said: I find self drive holidays more relaxing than guided tour or having to navigate public transports in big countries like USA, Canada, Australia, etc. Traffic outside of cities are generally light and most drivers are patient (unlike city drivers). City driving can however be stressful. Agree... public transport in US & Canada is non-existent outside of the city centres... so driving is a must... otherwise conducted tours are the only alternative... I also dislike conducted or guided tours - I disliked being rushed and having to keep to certain timing... but if you take public transport instead of driving then you too have to watch the timing to catch the train or bus.... ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Justdaniel 1st Gear May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 I have almost 30 years of driving experience but I have not tried driving overseas. The last time I was in New Zealand, I join a local tour and toured around places of interest in a mini bus. The driver was slow and careful even though he is a local driver. Even if you have GPS but GPS does not shows the terrain of the area. When driving in Malaysia, I make sure I have sufficient sleep before I drive, regardless it is city driving or mountain area. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/10/2023 at 10:02 AM, Beregond said: How to say, imagine u driving in an outing with alot of very very close kakis. inside the car is havoc, every 1 is chatting bababa, i think most guys experience before (20s-30s even 40s), very hard to concentrate on driving 1. Heh heh... fortunately I never had such an experience... I cannot stand noise inside the vehicle when I'm driving... I need the audio feedback from the engine, road and surrounding traffic... 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfazed 6th Gear May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 (edited) On 5/9/2023 at 12:27 PM, Voodooman said: I have >20 years driving experience and I refrain from driving long distance at night while overseas, especially in terrain I am not familiar with. Used to do it when I was in my 20s, sped down barely lit Route 3 along East Coast of Peninsula Malaysia at night. Not sure if it is because of my deteriorating eyesight or my balls have simply shrank as I age. Will any of you allow your kids to go on a self drive holidays overseas with friends who are not experienced drivers? I won't. RIP to the 3 who perished. The challenging part is, most of our kids are not gonna heed this pc of advise and feel we are over reacting. Everyone's doing it. I see the younger gen nowadays dunno what they trying to prove? Every new thing they do and if they wanna overcome the fear, they write F blah blah blah then post on their IG. That's what my kid's friends did when overseas when they tried bungee jumping. Write F... The Heights lah...etc etc. To me, wanna overcome your own fear and do, then do lah. Write so much post so much for what? Edited May 10, 2023 by Unfazed 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 RIP. Condolences to the bereaved families. I hope death came swiftly and with least pain. Read that the van was in flames and it was a horrendous scene. Niece and nephew going for 4 weeks trip to UK and parts of Europe. Told them dun bother driving whatever overseas. First, not familiar with overseas terrain and traffic rules and second, though both passed on first attempt, they seldom drive as one just started work and the other still in Uni. They have free access to a family car. Most importantly, their mum told them she did not raise them up to die in an accident overseas. So, strictly no driving till they become more experienced and better drivers. Cross winds, unfamiliarity with camper vans and night driving with minimal lights, fatigue etc can be very challenging conditions for most. Haiz. They caused a fatal accident and paid with their lives. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/9/2023 at 12:20 PM, Shibadog said: carlite policy doesn't help - how to get experience? I see a lot practicing and crashing in Blue Films SG. Not theirs or their parents car so its ok lah. Sometimes the parents also don't know their kids practice hard in Blue Films SG cars. Using their parent's login ID and Credit cars without them knowing! You don't want to lend kids like this your own car. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 (edited) On 5/10/2023 at 12:36 PM, teomingern said: Agree... public transport in US & Canada is non-existent outside of the city centres... so driving is a must... otherwise conducted tours are the only alternative... I also dislike conducted or guided tours - I disliked being rushed and having to keep to certain timing... but if you take public transport instead of driving then you too have to watch the timing to catch the train or bus.... Bro...do private hire. The last time I went to Penang, I did private hire. Basically book the driver for the 4 days I was there to fetch me and drop me anywhere I want, according to my time. Even Penang also I dun wan to drive..I want to relax....😁. I don't want to stress over unfamiliar roads, traffic jams, vehicle breakdown, parking, etc Edited May 10, 2023 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/9/2023 at 12:20 PM, Shibadog said: carlite policy doesn't help - how to get experience? I see a lot practicing and crashing in Blue Films SG. Not theirs or their parents car so its ok lah. Sometimes the parents also don't know their kids practice hard in Blue Films SG cars. Using their parent's login ID and Credit cars without them knowing! You don't want to lend kids like this your own car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/10/2023 at 12:36 PM, Justdaniel said: I have almost 30 years of driving experience but I have not tried driving overseas. The last time I was in New Zealand, I join a local tour and toured around places of interest in a mini bus. The driver was slow and careful even though he is a local driver. Even if you have GPS but GPS does not shows the terrain of the area. When driving in Malaysia, I make sure I have sufficient sleep before I drive, regardless it is city driving or mountain area. Sufficient sleep is important no matter where you drive. Even in sg also same lo. Also do not speed and drive slowly if really want to drive overseas. Many people like to speed when they are driving in overseas, esp when see a long and straight road. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
teomingern 6th Gear May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/10/2023 at 2:34 PM, Starry said: Bro...do private hire. The last time I went to Penang, I did private hire. Basically book the driver for the 4 days I was there to fetch me and drop me anywhere I want, according to my time. Even Penang also I dun wan to drive..I want to relax....😁. I don't want to stress over unfamiliar roads, traffic jams, vehicle breakdown, parking, etc I go Penang, I do the beach at Batu Ferringhi only... and if I go to town, I just take the free CAT bus down... but the drivers quite hiong one leh.... so the next time, my wife insisted I drive... heh heh... agree not so easy to drive downtown in Penang... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged May 10, 2023 Share May 10, 2023 On 5/10/2023 at 3:33 PM, teomingern said: I go Penang, I do the beach at Batu Ferringhi only... and if I go to town, I just take the free CAT bus down... but the drivers quite hiong one leh.... so the next time, my wife insisted I drive... heh heh... agree not so easy to drive downtown in Penang... Batu Ferringi area is ok ...but downtown traffic is heavy. A lot of jams. I remember sleeping inside the car until the driver cleared the jams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 (edited) Singaporean woman dies in taiwan RTA in miaoli? https://www.taiwannews.com.tw/news/5993070 Edited December 15, 2024 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 10:07 PM, Lala81 said: Singaporean woman dies in taiwan RTA in miaoli? https://www.taiwannews.com.tw/news/5993070 wonder what happen cos that should eb countryside area with lesser cars, maybe fell asleep. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 10:14 PM, Jman888 said: wonder what happen cos that should eb countryside area with lesser cars, maybe fell asleep. Many Singaporean can't drive overseas, especially on a left hand drive. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 15, 2024 Share December 15, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 5:38 AM, Tohto said: Many Singaporean can't drive overseas, especially on a left hand drive. Can’t drive and yet still want to drive. 😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 6:20 AM, 13177 said: Can’t drive and yet still want to drive. 😅 Most overestimate their abilities and underestimate the risks. 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/15/2024 at 10:07 PM, Lala81 said: Singaporean woman dies in taiwan RTA in miaoli? https://www.taiwannews.com.tw/news/5993070 https://mothership.sg/2024/12/taiwan-accident-singaporean-woman-die/ Reported in mothership. Picture of the car look very badly damaged. Father and daughter survived. Rip to the deceased. Sad for the young gal and father. It will be a long lasting scare for the father and daughter. Quoted. "The driver, a 36-year-old Singaporean man surnamed Lu (transliteration from Mandarin), and the couple's daughter, aged five, were able to emerge from the vehicle" 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 16, 2024 Share December 16, 2024 On 12/16/2024 at 5:38 AM, Tohto said: Many Singaporean can't drive overseas, especially on a left hand drive. That's why I never considered self drive in taiwan in the mountains. If it's like nz south island. Low density maybe. But the roads can be narrow and winding. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...