The Seaview problems and issues

SuPerBoRed

Don't know why the author claims that some buyer can't even sell at 1000 psf....

I will surely buy at 1000 psf if market price is 1600.

It says right there.

One resident claimed that he was struggling to sell at around $1,000 per square foot (remember, the original price was around $1,600 per square foot). However, his prospective buyer ran into problems with the bank, which refused to grant the loan due to the Seaview’s pending legal issues.

So there you are then. If you really wanted to buy that turd, you'd better do it with FULL CASHTM. :D

Sollyhor cannot one

Cos i am also applying to be one haha

You resident ah sia where got need to work one

another david vs goliath case

hopefully justice prevail so that "developer" do not hide behind and get off scot-free through loopholes ...

post-7984-0-72072800-1449496482_thumb.png

Almost anything involves multi parties to built something.

A car maker has many smaller vendor that supplies them parts - i.e. Delphi, Bosch, VDO etc. It is almost like if there is any problem with the car, the responsibility lies with the parts maker and the car maker has zero responsibility.

so, what is the point to pay premium to buy property from so called "reputable" developer?

to get screw over?

you can only sue developer > main contractor > sub contractor > sub sub contractor > ah neh and ah tiong who lay cement and plaster wall?

The “independent contractor” clause that’s helping property developers screw you over

I trust that MND will step in to set some guidelines for future disputes.

Singapore property market quality regulation, the good work accumulated over the years, must not be marred by a few black sheep. Any legal provision for shoddy work will ultimately have the covers blown. This is especially when safety is compromised in any way.

Something else bugs me about this curious case.

Firstly, the issues mentioned by the blog, although showcases very poor workmanship and materials used, appears to be mostly easily rectifiable by management funds. Things like planks and pool tiles and doors that are not fitting should have been made known in the first year during the warranty period. The rooftop structure is much trickier and deserves urgent attention. But even then, it should not be as costly as 32 million to rectify? Of course, not an expert here.

How do the units look? Is the internal finishing up to standard? Other than the pipe blockage and smell (which is hard to verify unless one is a resident), how come there are no complain about the internal finishing? No supporting pictures of such shoddy work in the units?

Then of course there is a claim of selling at 1KPSF which was unsuccessful, which many of us agree is improbable and exaggerated, and not supported by recent caveats.

I think there is much more than meets the eye for this case.

Almost anything involves multi parties to built something.

A car maker has many smaller vendor that supplies them parts - i.e. Delphi, Bosch, VDO etc. It is almost like if there is any problem with the car, the responsibility lies with the parts maker and the car maker has zero responsibility.

Boh Ko Leng leh.. if my car still under warranty, then any parts failed I'll drive back to AD to ge them replace FOC since still under warranty ma... I should not be chasing Hella myself if the horn is not working right?

But if after warranty, then is ka ki settle lo... unless is gross manufacturing defect, then the car manufacturer will do mass recall to rectify the mfg problem...

Seems like the 1 yr warranty finish liao, but the Seaview still has problems.. and the developer not willing to do "mass recall" to rectify the manufacturing/design defects... so the buyers LLST... sibei suay... 

who's the MP for marine parade? lol

CASETrust president. Lim Bow Chuan. Lol. Its not under MP, the area is under Mountbatten SMC.

I believe you can outsource function but you cannot outsource liability/accountability. The question is who has the deeper pockets to enforce it in a court of law. Similarly to manufacturer, wholesalers, retailer, distributor etc etc. Liability falls all of them at once. Of course it is useless if the retailer is just a small SME.

Base on caveats lodged, either greater fools coming in or there is a knowledge discrepancy somewhere.

THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,980,000 - 1,647 Strata 16 to 20 1,809 Oct-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 930,000 - 560 Strata 11 to 15 1,662 Sep-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,065,000 - 1,216 Strata 01 to 05 1,698 Sep-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 1,960,000 - 1,216 Strata 06 to 10 1,611 Aug-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,300,000 - 1,518 Strata 11 to 15 1,515 Aug-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,100,000 - 1,216 Strata 01 to 05 1,727 Jul-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,620,000 - 1,647 Strata 16 to 20 1,591 Jul-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,620,168 - 1,647 Strata 16 to 20 1,591 Jul-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,428,000 - 1,410 Strata 16 to 20 1,722 Jul-15 THE SEA VIEW AMBER ROAD Condominium 15 RCR Freehold Resale 1 2,450,000 - 1,647 Strata 11 to 15 1,488 Jul-15

Contract is between developer and buyer what. Sub-con got no contractual obligation to buyer. Let developer settle then seek recovery from their sub-cons.

What exactly IS the independent contractor clause?

I think I must look into my sales and purchase agreement later tonight.

Something else bugs me about this curious case.

Firstly, the issues mentioned by the blog, although showcases very poor workmanship and materials used, appears to be mostly easily rectifiable by management funds. Things like planks and pool tiles and doors that are not fitting should have been made known in the first year during the warranty period. The rooftop structure is much trickier and deserves urgent attention. But even then, it should not be as costly as 32 million to rectify? Of course, not an expert here.

How do the units look? Is the internal finishing up to standard? Other than the pipe blockage and smell (which is hard to verify unless one is a resident), how come there are no complain about the internal finishing? No supporting pictures of such shoddy work in the units?

Then of course there is a claim of selling at 1KPSF which was unsuccessful, which many of us agree is improbable and exaggerated, and not supported by recent caveats.

I think there is much more than meets the eye for this case.

Maybe the 1k psf is ground floor PES unit. Those not representative of actual price.

I have friends staying at sea view and have been there a couple of times visiting. Think its a pretty nice place actually.

If regular unit going for 1k psf, its definitely a steal.