Linking up to Headhunter

Sci10213

Hi

I'm planning to switch job/company in 2016. I have already submitted my CV to some headhunters quite some time ago.

I know some roles are only given to headhunters before being posted online in website. But now there are so many headhunters out there (just search in Google or LinkedIn), so how should I proceed?

1) Contact each & every headhunter company to link myself up with them?

2) Go to my LinkedIn contacts and drop a message to all those who are headhunters to let them know I'm on the lookout?

3) Update my CV in LinkedIn and wait indefinitely for someone to contact me?

4) Any other subtle approaches?

- Not possible to put a "on the lookout" message on my LinkedIn profile because my boss is in my LinkedIn contacts and he can see !!

- I do not wish to contact fellow peers to help me refer/link up because they could also be my competitors for the vacancies

Appreciate some useful advice please ....

Headhunters sound so good, but is recruitment agency staff la.  Lol. Just contact each and every agency and send your cv over.  There is no shortcut to send once to reach all, because they are all different agency.

Edited by Ingenius

On 12/3/2015 at 6:49 AM, Sci10213 said:

Hi

I'm planning to switch job/company in 2016. I have already submitted my CV to some headhunters quite some time ago.

I know some roles are only given to headhunters before being posted online in website. But now there are so many headhunters out there (just search in Google or LinkedIn), so how should I proceed?

2) Go to my LinkedIn contacts and drop a message to all those who are headhunters to let them know I'm on the lookout?

- Not possible to put a "on the lookout" message on my LinkedIn profile because my boss is in my LinkedIn contacts and he can see !!

- I do not wish to contact fellow peers to help me refer/link up because they could also be my competitors for the vacancies

You need to differentiate between headhunter and recruiters. 

Headhunters generally deal with middle to senior management positions.  If you are still in a junior position, a recruiter in the recruitment portals will suffice and you can send your CV in the normal way. 

You need to be clear about which industry you are interested in.  Spamming headhunters that are not covering the industry is a waste of your time. 

headhunter = salary no $250k/pa no talk leh

only the "in the know" know there are opportunities

and if you kena "headhunted" ... we are not talking about 10% salary increased type lor

ie: SMRT CEO is headhunted ... was there a posting in jobsdb? lol

nowadays mostly are recruiters, always good to have your CV in Monster.com and one day maybe a real headhunter will give you a call.

some of them rebrand themselves as headhunters but still work like recruitment agency.

i remember back in 2008 or 2009 when i was hunting for a new job and went to this agency SearchAsia who introduced themselves as executive search firm.  while i was there, i learnt that they are another arm of Recruitexpress...

in the course of dealing with them, i was not too impressed that their practices almost like recruitexpress.  for example, they expect us to fill in all the last drawn salaries and reasons for leaving each of our past jobs even if the jobs were like our first 1-2 jobs and happened 10+ years ago.  I was applying for a senior position but made to feel like I am applying for an entry level job.

On 12/3/2015 at 6:51 AM, Ingenius said:

Headhunters sound so good, but is recruitment agency staff la.  Lol. Just contact each and every agency and send your cv over.  There is no shortcut to send once to reach all, because they are all different agency.

On 12/3/2015 at 6:58 AM, Mason016 said:

You need to differentiate between headhunter and recruiters.

Headhunters generally deal with middle to senior management positions. If you are still in a junior position, a recruiter in the recruitment portals will suffice and you can send your CV in the normal way.

You need to be clear about which industry you are interested in. Spamming headhunters that are not covering the industry is a waste of your time.

Most of the search firms in Singapore handle middle management positions. You need to screen selectively based on the position you're looking for.

And most senior management positions aren't advertised. To put it bluntly, many search firms are "jia liao bee" ones and they don't provide any value other than collect CVs and send to their recruiting contacts in the hiring firms.

The best is to network and know the hiring managers. But go ahead and use the search firms if you're the go home don't network type

On 12/3/2015 at 6:49 AM, Sci10213 said:

Hi

- Not possible to put a "on the lookout" message on my LinkedIn profile because my boss is in my LinkedIn contacts and he can see !!

It is not a good idea to send ur cv to every headhunter in town, we are not talking about hit rates here

Some companies use several headhunter at the same time

For senior positions, be very selective about which search firm/headhunter represents you

@porker boy offered some good insights in his earlier post, good to internalize his pointers

If you're good and are a prominent person in your industry, headhunters will naturally find you. With or without a LinkedIn account. 

Otherwise, apply for jobs and list your CV at recruitment agencies as per normal.

My suggestion is, unless your company is in danger of going under during this down cycle, stay put. Pretty hard to find jobs now.

On 12/3/2015 at 8:07 AM, Myxilplix said:

I'm looking for staff, looks like I need to go to a recruitment agency cos it's just executive level, not manager.

Post here lor.

On 12/3/2015 at 7:54 AM, Macrosszero said:

If you're good and are a prominent person in your industry, headhunters will naturally find you. With or without a LinkedIn account. 

Otherwise, apply for jobs and list your CV at recruitment agencies as per normal.

My suggestion is, unless your company is in danger of going under during this down cycle, stay put. Pretty hard to find jobs now.

my company employees turn over very fast, yearly about 300 in 200 out (senior/middle position only)  :omg:

Edited by MQX87511

On 12/3/2015 at 8:18 AM, Kusje said:

Post here lor.

Ok.

I'm looking for an insurance claims handler/claims executive, preferably with marine liability/transport liability/cargo claims experience. If experienced in other insurance lines and willing to learn the marine side of things we can teach.

Someone with a legal or insurance education would be preferred as well.

PM me if got anyone.

On 12/3/2015 at 9:43 AM, MQX87511 said:

my company employees turn over very fast, yearly about 300 in 200 out (senior/middle position only)  :omg:

That's a lot. Your company must be very big. That figure just Singapore or global?

On 12/3/2015 at 9:53 AM, Myxilplix said:

Ok.

I'm looking for an insurance claims handler/claims executive, preferably with marine liability/transport liability/cargo claims experience. If experienced in other insurance lines and willing to learn the marine side of things we can teach.

Someone with a legal or insurance education would be preferred as well.

PM me if got anyone.

Radx will ban your account, you develop your own business on this platform :D

On 12/3/2015 at 10:02 AM, Vid said:

That's a lot. Your company must be very big. That figure just Singapore or global?

Singapore only,

mostly work less than half year,