RadX Moderator December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 On 12/26/2023 at 6:45 PM, Mustank said: If works well, I also want to switch. Save $10 a month 🤪 Wzc renewed mine at $21.6 instantly ill give feedback but so far wzc has been seamless and no outages except ccb data leak😂 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 On 12/26/2023 at 6:45 PM, Mustank said: If works well, I also want to switch. Save $10 a month 🤪 I also want to switch. What happens after 12 months? I have been paying $40+ for 1 gbps without contract 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 See what offer comes gd that they are keeping the contracts short for users to switch or maybe a new standard coming in for the record, no other fees and devices. Merely a switch from the back end. That was advised by the SE. stick to your current router or mesh if it is already WiFi 6 ready Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 Anyone knows if switch from ST to Wzc, can we still use existing ST router or need to buy new one? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 Is it possible to have 2 ISP for the house? How the ONT be connected? I currently with Sinktel and often the connection sink sank sunk.. still with contract with them.. if terminate is as good as paying for the rest of the contract period.. so thinking to get another ISP if technically possible 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 On 12/26/2023 at 10:27 PM, badlammy said: Anyone knows if switch from ST to Wzc, can we still use existing ST router or need to buy new one? Use existing jus the ONT change I think but default stinkhell router aldy hopeless. Get an aftermarket one TPlink works for me 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 I heard ISPs are charged about $9(I may have remembered wrongly) per connection by NetLink. So there's no way the subscription fee can go below that, or they will be losing money. They can probably afford to dump all the bandwidth on you, bcuz internet usage is such that not everyone max it out all the time. But they'd want to price it under different tiers to max profit. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 26, 2023 Share December 26, 2023 On 12/26/2023 at 10:27 PM, badlammy said: Anyone knows if switch from ST to Wzc, can we still use existing ST router or need to buy new one? I believe Wzc use the standard DHCP protocol. This is standard in most off-the-market router. from their faq: Can I use my existing router? Yes, all WhizComms Home Broadband plans are compatible with any 3rd party branded routers without ISP customisation. I don't know if ST router use customized login with no DHCP available, In that case, you might not be able to use it, unless it has DHCP option. If you can, log into to that router and check Internet connection method. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 27, 2023 Share December 27, 2023 On 12/27/2023 at 7:29 AM, Kb27 said: I believe Wzc use the standard DHCP protocol. This is standard in most off-the-market router. from their faq: Can I use my existing router? Yes, all WhizComms Home Broadband plans are compatible with any 3rd party branded routers without ISP customisation. I don't know if ST router use customized login with no DHCP available, In that case, you might not be able to use it, unless it has DHCP option. If you can, log into to that router and check Internet connection method. That means whizcomms can use most off-the-shelves router out of the box without needing to do any configuration me currently using sinktel, somehow me need to configure my router to access point mode, the ONT is actually doing the router function.... kinda weird but this iswhat sinktel did to me.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear December 27, 2023 Share December 27, 2023 On 12/27/2023 at 3:07 PM, Ahwhye said: That means whizcomms can use most off-the-shelves router out of the box without needing to do any configuration me currently using sinktel, somehow me need to configure my router to access point mode, the ONT is actually doing the router function.... kinda weird but this iswhat sinktel did to me.... Oh yeah...mine is actually not ONT but ONR, optical network router......whatever Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear December 27, 2023 Share December 27, 2023 On 12/27/2023 at 6:01 AM, Ody_2004 said: Is it possible to have 2 ISP for the house? How the ONT be connected? I currently with Sinktel and often the connection sink sank sunk.. still with contract with them.. if terminate is as good as paying for the rest of the contract period.. so thinking to get another ISP if technically possible I think can, I got 1 customer - landed house de - Knn sibei kiasu - subscribe to 3 ISP - Red / Orange / Green! Its good to be Rich !!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 27, 2023 Share December 27, 2023 just realised i have no more contract for M1. almost going to sign up whizcomm. But the hack in may '23 is quite jialat. Leaking your NRIC number etc. I think i'll hold off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 27, 2023 Share December 27, 2023 Internet is life. On 12/27/2023 at 4:20 PM, AndrewLee72 said: I think can, I got 1 customer - landed house de - Knn sibei kiasu - subscribe to 3 ISP - Red / Orange / Green! Its good to be Rich !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged December 27, 2023 Share December 27, 2023 On 12/27/2023 at 8:20 AM, AndrewLee72 said: I think can, I got 1 customer - landed house de - Knn sibei kiasu - subscribe to 3 ISP - Red / Orange / Green! Its good to be Rich !!! If your fiber down… what I learnt is a 5g router as a back up so u still have broadband access. My SingTel line is 300g/month data across three lines. Enough to last for a week Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 28, 2023 Share December 28, 2023 Is this a good deal? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 28, 2023 Share December 28, 2023 Hey guys got people in edmw say the cheap rate after 1 year no more, back to normal $3+ or $4+ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic December 28, 2023 Share December 28, 2023 On 12/28/2023 at 5:53 PM, Mustank said: Hey guys got people in edmw say the cheap rate after 1 year no more, back to normal $3+ or $4+ From their faq, one month before the end of contract, they will contact you to offer something new. Maybe another 1 yr contract at a different price. However, I doubt it will be higher as the trend is downwards. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator December 28, 2023 Share December 28, 2023 On 12/28/2023 at 6:30 PM, Kb27 said: From their faq, one month before the end of contract, they will contact you to offer something new. Maybe another 1 yr contract at a different price. However, I doubt it will be higher as the trend is downwards. Precisely they seeing the competition and mitigating with the shorter contract ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...