Fibre broadband

Ysc3

I thought Singtel is poaching users from other providers with many freebies?

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 10:34 AM, Wildfaye29 said:

I'm thinking of upgrading to a 10Gbps plan.

As my terminal point is at the entrance in the shoe cabinet (dead corner), I need a simple 10Gbps router. A basic one will do.

I will also need 3 10Gbps routers(changed to Access Points) in the 3 other corner of the house to distribute the wifi connection.

Can anyone recommend a cheap and basic 10Gbps router please.

Also need some multi ports switch that can support 10Gbps for all the LAN connected devices throughout the apartment.

Thanks in advance!

Total u are looking at 4 routers....how big is your living area? 

1 router in the living room serves the whole house of 92sqm. I can watch youtube or play online game in my "far away" master toilet. 

On 1/15/2025 at 12:00 PM, jcmm said:

1 router in the living room serves the whole house of 92sqm. I can watch youtube or play online game in my "far away" master toilet. 

1 router + Fibre Modem serves 120 sqm with walls and wooden doors in btw.

No problem watch streaming drama 

On 1/15/2025 at 12:00 PM, jcmm said:

1500sqf

But the entrance is a dead spot. Stupid design n blockage.

Have to use access points in hall and the other 2 rooms at the other 2 corners to have wifi. 

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 12:11 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

1500sqf

But the entrance is a dead spot. Stupid design n blockage.

Have to use access points in hall and the other 2 rooms at the other 2 corners to have wifi. 

Depending on your type of apartment and hopefully u are on ONT. U can connect your 1st wifi router in the living room, which is able to support almost the whole area. Get another router for mesh setup, 2 wifi routers are good enough for 1500sqf. No need 4. 

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 12:09 PM, inlinesix said:

1 router + Fibre Modem serves 120 sqm with walls and wooden doors in btw.

No problem watch streaming drama 

Yes u can... but some apartments, depending on router, location and apartment laid out... in the far end, your speed will be slow/weak.

Edited by jcmm

On 1/15/2025 at 12:17 PM, jcmm said:

Depending on your type of apartment and hopefully u are on ONT. U can connect your 1st wifi router in the living room, which is able to support almost the whole area. Get another router for mesh setup, 2 wifi routers are good enough for 1500sqf. No need 4. 

Dont like mesh. Using similar setup now for my 1gbps. 

Want up upgrade to 10gbps so need new equipment to support the speed.

At least 2 access point for 2 other far corners. The 3rd access point is optional.

Wired network already present.

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 12:37 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

Dont like mesh. Using similar setup now for my 1gbps. 

Want up upgrade to 10gbps so need new equipment to support the speed.

At least 2 access point for 2 other far corners. The 3rd access point is optional.

Wired network already present.

Then I cannot comment further on which hardware. I have not reach the stage of researching on 10gbps router and switch. I am still on 1gbps. 

On 1/15/2025 at 12:47 PM, jcmm said:

Then I cannot comment further on which hardware. I have not reach the stage of researching on 10gbps router and switch. I am still on 1gbps. 

Actually just looking for cheap 10gbps routers that can also double up as access points and network switch to capable of 10gbps only.

Anyone one else can recommend cheap and good equipment please sic! 

Hahaha

On 1/15/2025 at 10:20 AM, Ysc3 said:

@13177 i would not hold my breath for customer service ... just luck ... like the SH at my mom's place ... since last year keep having problem ... call already, keep telling us to troubleshoot over the phone and their backend .... but we still getting intermittent breaks for the SHTV ... so much so until sian already ... worried that if they come down , then the TV ok .... then still canot troubleshoot onsite. Now mulling whether to terminate the SHTV and switch provider or not also.... M1 is the only other provider with a TV box other than SH and ST.... but of course content cannot match lah ....

Hearsay starhub cannot make it, in terms of broadband network and customer service. I have been using M1, so far not much problem with their broadband.

For Singtel, Starhub and M1, if you use their home broadband service, if their network is not stable or give you problem and they cannot resolve the problem, really vomit blood cause you cannot terminate since once sign-up, you are tie with them for 2 years. 

I notice for Singtel and M1 broadband plan, they comes with home line. Starhub seems like don't have.

Edited by 13177

On 1/15/2025 at 10:17 AM, Lala81 said:

Seems like SIMBA subsidises the Netlink Trust activation fee of $61. But not necessarily one. 

My M1 is $31 though so i don't bother. It's definitely not worth the hassle. 

I see the M1 website state that FREE Optical Network Terminal (ONT) activation. Does this ONT refer to Opennet fees?

On 1/15/2025 at 12:17 PM, jcmm said:

I think for 3 rm HDB and smaller, one WIFI router in the living room is enough for the whole house right? Then for 4 rm HDB and bigger, maybe need to set up another router somewhere?

On 1/15/2025 at 12:23 PM, jcmm said:

Yes u can... but some apartments, depending on router, location and apartment laid out... in the far end, your speed will be slow/weak.

Router/modem is in front of apartment door.

No noticeable drop in speed when access in Master bed room (which is the other end of the apartment).

In btw, there are 2 toilets and room door

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 1:11 PM, 13177 said:

I think for 3 rm HDB and smaller, one WIFI router in the living room is enough for the whole house right? Then for 4 rm HDB and bigger, maybe need to set up another router somewhere?

Again depending on your router, router location and your apartment.... 3 or 4 rm HDB should be good with 1 router. If needed just get another router as mesh setup. 

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 1:28 PM, inlinesix said:

Router/modem is in front of apartment door.

No noticeable drop in speed when access in Master bed room (which is the other end of the apartment).

In btw, there are 2 toilets and room door

Good n congrat to u but for others, again depends on router, router location, laid out of your apartment, etc. 

Edited by jcmm

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 1:08 PM, 13177 said:

I see the M1 website state that FREE Optical Network Terminal (ONT) activation. Does this ONT refer to Opennet fees?

1 time payment to FTP or NLT. 

U need to check with M1 or read the T&C, there are other fees, ie registration, installation, service, etc.

My case with M1, I just pay monthly and all other fees were waived. 1 wifi router and 1 ONT (modem) free.   

Just found out that my MR contract over for 6 months and been paying full price.

Re-contracted now and have to pay 1 time fee to swap out the ONT.. 

5th Gear
On 1/15/2025 at 7:44 PM, Beanoyip said:

Just found out that my MR contract over for 6 months and been paying full price.

Re-contracted now and have to pay 1 time fee to swap out the ONT.. 

Change ISP :D