Vratenza Supersonic February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 11:46 AM, Lala81 said: Actually as long as it's fibre, any mbps is also sufficient lah. From 100->500mbps. unless I'm downloading torrent files or massive game downloads from Steam. I hardly notice any difference. Unless u are like the youtubers uploading tens of gigabyte uploading videos for their video production team to work on (like what ghibsan was trying to show with SH's 10gbps plan). His one has a real use case. Most streamed content just needs a modest connection. it is very much like cars.... 500mbps = Cat A B&B = you just need the car to get from point A-B, just get the job done without bells and whistles. Just make sure it is reliable. 1Gbps = Cat B = you want to have alittle bit more driving involvement, comfort and care HOW you get to from point A -B >2Gbps = Sports/luxury cars = you care about the handling, the 0-100, the 60-100 timing, the braking, the luxury feel. different plans/category for different needs/wants😁 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 8:21 AM, inlinesix said: How ex? 1gb like 39+++ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 12:47 PM, Actan72 said: 1gb like 39+++ I thought that’s normal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 1:18 PM, inlinesix said: I thought that’s normal i think viewquest and republic is under $30 for 1GB.. but i dun know is it stable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 4:23 PM, Actan72 said: i think viewquest and republic is under $30 for 1GB.. but i dun know is it stable I stay away from viewquest. Bad experience for misselling. Are you sure myrepublic is under $30? There is an installation cost for switch. Need to check whether it is worth the switch. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 Why waste money on expensive broadband and mobile plans? Spend it on cars and cheap holidays in Japan! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic February 28, 2024 Share February 28, 2024 The company that got hacked that should be the safest company now right? They would have to answer to the authorities and then find all the vulnerabilities and taken care of it! Should be this way right? The other companies that didn't get hacked. Is it they are more on the ball or just lucky? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 4:27 PM, inlinesix said: I stay away from viewquest. Bad experience for misselling. Are you sure myrepublic is under $30? There is an installation cost for switch. Need to check whether it is worth the switch. i see, thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 12:33 PM, Vratenza said: it is very much like cars.... 500mbps = Cat A B&B = you just need the car to get from point A-B, just get the job done without bells and whistles. Just make sure it is reliable. 1Gbps = Cat B = you want to have alittle bit more driving involvement, comfort and care HOW you get to from point A -B >2Gbps = Sports/luxury cars = you care about the handling, the 0-100, the 60-100 timing, the braking, the luxury feel. different plans/category for different needs/wants😁 need to buy coe to surf internet? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quotz 1st Gear March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 12:33 PM, Vratenza said: it is very much like cars.... 500mbps = Cat A B&B = you just need the car to get from point A-B, just get the job done without bells and whistles. Just make sure it is reliable. 1Gbps = Cat B = you want to have alittle bit more driving involvement, comfort and care HOW you get to from point A -B >2Gbps = Sports/luxury cars = you care about the handling, the 0-100, the 60-100 timing, the braking, the luxury feel. different plans/category for different needs/wants😁 interesting comparison bro Vratenza 😂 . But unlike any fibre boradband, Sgcarmart Quotz can provide the value and reliability needed if anyone is looking to sell their cars. - Bro Quotz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 9:07 AM, Blueray said: i put up with M1 mobile's patchy coverage in the west for years cos their data passport was convenient to use. then they unilaterally "upgraded" me to some bespoke plan which was more pricey. and most of the time their hotline cannot get thru one. so I gave up and went to zero1. I just changed from vivifi under Singtel to M1 maxx, a lot of issues and blind spots with their network. Same experience when I was with Changi Mobile under M1 network. Converting back to Singtel next month 😁 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged March 1, 2024 Share March 1, 2024 On 2/28/2024 at 4:32 PM, Jamesc said: Why waste money on expensive broadband and mobile plans? Spend it on cars and cheap holidays in Japan! thats true huh...go soapy happy hor 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 19, 2024 Share July 19, 2024 Anyone here using Singtel 2GB plan ? Did you do a WIFI speed test - you mamanged to get at least 1.5G speed and above ? or Any speed above 1G on wifi ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic July 19, 2024 Share July 19, 2024 (edited) On 7/19/2024 at 6:33 PM, AndrewLee72 said: Anyone here using Singtel 2GB plan ? Did you do a WIFI speed test - you mamanged to get at least 1.5G speed and above ? or Any speed above 1G on wifi ? Not on st but test spd really depends on ur wifi hardware + test server alr... Edited July 19, 2024 by zipping Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 20, 2024 Share July 20, 2024 Anyone using such router. My question is.. based on 5378Mbps.. its based on the total wifi speed it can support within the household rite.. eg got 3 wifi users connected.. so divide by 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic July 20, 2024 Share July 20, 2024 (edited) Chk e spec.... WiFi Speeds AX5400 5 GHz: 4804 Mbps (802.11ax, HE160) 2.4 GHz: 574 Mbps (802.11ax) Tis is how they get '5378', spd of 2.4ghz + spd of 5ghz So actual spd depends on how mny connection on e nodes (2.4 or 5ghz), eg oni 1 connection on 2.4ghz, ideally max spd will b 574 mbps, or 2 connection on 5ghz, ideally max spd on ea device will b 4804/2 =2402 mbps But tbh, veri hard to hit e ideal spd, got to take account of distance...blockage...n/ac/ax connection...etc. Getting a new router? imho wifi 6 (2.4 & 5ghz band) is gd enough but for future proof? hav new standards out alr, namely wifi 6e and wifi 7 (2.4, 5 & 6ghz band) Edited July 20, 2024 by zipping 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewLee72 6th Gear July 20, 2024 Share July 20, 2024 Singtel 2Gb plan. So if only 1 device is connected wifi to singtel router on the 5Ghz band.. can user get at least 1500mbps speed or higher ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
zipping Supersonic July 20, 2024 Share July 20, 2024 (edited) On 7/20/2024 at 9:11 PM, AndrewLee72 said: Singtel 2Gb plan. So if only 1 device is connected wifi to singtel router on the 5Ghz band.. can user get at least 1500mbps speed or higher ? In theory can but irl depends on alot of factors as mention abv and more. U hav to understand (tink of a water pipe) ur receiving end is 1.5m wide but e sending side? Will it b 1.5m wide? Even if it is or larger, send to u oni or 100 other nodes? But if u r talking abt spd test oni, will get a hi number if ur hw supports it. Edited July 20, 2024 by zipping ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...