Shibadog Turbocharged November 23, 2015 Share November 23, 2015 Actually offense is the better solution. Go on with our lives as normal. Ignore them. http://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/nov/17/paris-rally-cafes-bars-memory-victims-defiance-isis-terror-attacks Parisians have rallied for a night of the eating and drinking they are famous for, in defiance of the jihadis who gunned down Friday night revellers last week. Social media reverberated with the slogan “Je suis en terrasse” on Tuesday, an echo of January’s “Je suis Charlie” movement and a reflection of how the slaughter at cafes, a music venue and a football stadium hit the younger and more fun-loving residents of the French capital. Many of the 129 victims of the attacks were having drinks or eating at restaurants and cafe terraces in eastern Paris when militants opened fire. “What was targeted was our way of life, our city’s identity and culture, the happiness of living together,” the Monsieur Bleu restaurant said in a statement, calling on Parisians to go out for a meal and observe a minute of silence at 9pm local time. The Fooding restaurant guide also called on French people to go out to restaurants, bars, cafes and brasseries to pay tribute to the victims, but also to help cafe owners who fear a drop in business following the attacks. “Peace for Paris, tous au bistrot,” it urged. “We told each other if we don’t sit at the terrace today, we probably won’t do it again,” Marie-Therese Vasseur, 65, told Reuters from her vantage point in the spitting rain under a canopy at the Cafe Zephyr in the Grands Boulevards theatre district. “We can’t just stop living.” The cafe’s manager, Fabien Mazars, welcomed the initiative, saying his takings last weekend had been less than a third of the usual, and that he was braced for a slow couple of weeks. Well-known cultural institutions, including the Paris Opera, reopened on Tuesday after shutting following the attacks. Some saw “Je suis en terrasse” (I am on the cafe terrace) as the best way to defy Islamic State (Isis), the militant group which has claimed the attack and sees western ways as decadent. “We are going to mourn our dead ... but tomorrow, we will kiss each other like the abominable perverts we are,” journalist Luc Vaillant said in a column published in the left-wing newspaper Libération. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged November 23, 2015 Share November 23, 2015 Btw, anyone of u who travels regularly.. Those personal accident or travel insurance policies, only handful of companies cover death by terrorism and riots.. So read through the policy wordings before signing on the dotted lines. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 These are dangerous times to take flights http://www.unian.info/society/1191123-donetsk-resident-tries-to-smuggle-grenade-on-board-at-kyiv-airport.html Clown now says he forgot that there was a hand grenade in his luggage. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 These are dangerous times to take flights http://www.unian.info/society/1191123-donetsk-resident-tries-to-smuggle-grenade-on-board-at-kyiv-airport.html Clown now says he forgot that there was a hand grenade in his luggage. These Ukraine folks are handling grenades like handling their house keys, put all over the place until they can't remember where their grenades are or so it seems. Very soon they might also misplace their rocket launchers thinking that they are some old pipes around the house. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 I think better don't go any high risk area like EU or middle east, these few days blood everywhere, If can just stay low till this is sorted out, even south east asia is not safe from extremist so stay away from places with a lot of ang mo or US presence. singapore got damn lot of ang moh very dangerous 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 (edited) obviously the information was blacked out to all passengers on board how come his colleague can reveal confidential information to passenger on board albeit his special status? what if it caused a panic on the flight? Bomb scare: Changi Airport chairman was on Singapore Airlines plane Changi Airport Group chairman Liew Mun Leong said the captain and crew of SQ001 "handled the situation very well, such that all passengers remained calm even as the potential seriousness of the situation dawned on them".ST FILE PHOTO PUBLISHED11 HOURS AGO 1,111 He had no idea anything was wrong until plane landed; the scare later turned out to be a hoax Karamjit Kaur Aviation Correspondent Changi Airport Group (CAG) chairman Liew Mun Leong, who was on a Singapore Airlines flight which received a bomb threat, had no idea anything was wrong until after the plane landed at Changi Airport. The scare later turned out to be a hoax. Flight SQ001 from San Francisco, via Hong Kong, had arrived as planned at about noon on Sunday. "After landing, I suddenly saw through the window that our aircraft was strangely taxiing away from Terminal 3 and towards the cargo area. It then stopped and was held up at the cargo apron for a long while," Mr Liew said in an e-mail to staff, with whom he shared his experience. "'What in the world is happening?' I murmured to myself. The captain announced that there was some problem at the gate but it should be cleared soon. There was no explanation from the control tower." Mr Liew then rang an airport colleague to find out what was going on. "His rather calm response was shocking and terrifying. Someone had made a threat that there was a bomb on board SQ001!... I was asked by a fellow passenger what was happening. I didn't tell her what I knew as this might have unnecessarily alarmed her. 'Just extra security', I said." Related Story Bomb threat causes 2-hour wait to leave SIA plane at Changi Airport Another 20 minutes passed before the captain said there were some security problems which had to be cleared by the police before anyone could be allowed to disembark, he wrote. After about an hour of waiting inside the aircraft, the captain announced that arrangements were being made for passengers to be taken by bus to Terminal 3. Mr Liew said: "I thought the captain and crew handled the situation very well, such that all passengers remained calm even as the potential seriousness of the situation dawned on them." At the terminal, passengers were "thoroughly" screened before they were allowed to leave. It took more than three hours after the plane landed for the check-in baggage to be released. The same day, a Turkish Airlines flight travelling from New York to Istanbul was diverted to Halifax in Canada after a similar threat was made against it. Mr Liew had initially planned to return to Singapore a day later but changed his flight to attend the funeral of a former colleague and mentor, Mr Somkiat Lertpanyavit. Mr Somkiat, who had spent almost 43 years working as a master planner and designer for the development of Changi Airport, died at the age of 71 last Friday. Despite the bomb scare delay, Mr Liew managed to see his friend one last time. He said: "Someone from Singapore Casket called to hurry me as they had to close and seal the coffin by 2pm. I pleaded for a few minutes' grace. I arrived at 2.03pm and managed to bid farewell to Somkiat." Edited November 24, 2015 by Enye 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 (edited) obviously the information was blacked out to all passengers on board how come his colleague can reveal confidential information to passenger on board albeit his special status? what if it caused a panic on the flight? Bomb scare: Changi Airport chairman was on Singapore Airlines plane Changi Airport Group chairman Liew Mun Leong said the captain and crew of SQ001 "handled the situation very well, such that all passengers remained calm even as the potential seriousness of the situation dawned on them".ST FILE PHOTO PUBLISHED11 HOURS AGO 1,111 He had no idea anything was wrong until plane landed; the scare later turned out to be a hoax Karamjit Kaur Aviation Correspondent Changi Airport Group (CAG) chairman Liew Mun Leong, who was on a Singapore Airlines flight which received a bomb threat, had no idea anything was wrong until after the plane landed at Changi Airport. The scare later turned out to be a hoax. Flight SQ001 from San Francisco, via Hong Kong, had arrived as planned at about noon on Sunday. "After landing, I suddenly saw through the window that our aircraft was strangely taxiing away from Terminal 3 and towards the cargo area. It then stopped and was held up at the cargo apron for a long while," Mr Liew said in an e-mail to staff, with whom he shared his experience. "'What in the world is happening?' I murmured to myself. The captain announced that there was some problem at the gate but it should be cleared soon. There was no explanation from the control tower." Mr Liew then rang an airport colleague to find out what was going on. "His rather calm response was shocking and terrifying. Someone had made a threat that there was a bomb on board SQ001!... I was asked by a fellow passenger what was happening. I didn't tell her what I knew as this might have unnecessarily alarmed her. 'Just extra security', I said." Related StoryBomb threat causes 2-hour wait to leave SIA plane at Changi Airport Another 20 minutes passed before the captain said there were some security problems which had to be cleared by the police before anyone could be allowed to disembark, he wrote. After about an hour of waiting inside the aircraft, the captain announced that arrangements were being made for passengers to be taken by bus to Terminal 3. Mr Liew said: "I thought the captain and crew handled the situation very well, such that all passengers remained calm even as the potential seriousness of the situation dawned on them." At the terminal, passengers were "thoroughly" screened before they were allowed to leave. It took more than three hours after the plane landed for the check-in baggage to be released. The same day, a Turkish Airlines flight travelling from New York to Istanbul was diverted to Halifax in Canada after a similar threat was made against it. Mr Liew had initially planned to return to Singapore a day later but changed his flight to attend the funeral of a former colleague and mentor, Mr Somkiat Lertpanyavit. Mr Somkiat, who had spent almost 43 years working as a master planner and designer for the development of Changi Airport, died at the age of 71 last Friday. Despite the bomb scare delay, Mr Liew managed to see his friend one last time. He said: "Someone from Singapore Casket called to hurry me as they had to close and seal the coffin by 2pm. I pleaded for a few minutes' grace. I arrived at 2.03pm and managed to bid farewell to Somkiat." He is changi airport group chairman leh. Of coz when ask what happened, the below need to tell him ma. He also know what to do leh, a lady asked him what happened, but he did not reveal the truth and just said extra security check. Edited November 24, 2015 by Yewheng 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 These Ukraine folks are handling grenades like handling their house keys, put all over the place until they can't remember where their grenades are or so it seems. Very soon they might also misplace their rocket launchers thinking that they are some old pipes around the house. "Accidentally" carrying a RPG round here or there by vets still can understand Scare those got ulterior motive then habis... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 24, 2015 Share November 24, 2015 He is changi airport group chairman leh. Of coz when ask what happened, the below need to tell him ma. He also know what to do leh, a lady asked him what happened, but he did not reveal the truth and just said extra security check. I still think that the head of security shouldn't let the chairman know over the phone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic March 26, 2019 Share March 26, 2019 How come no one talk about the bomb hoax this early morning that involved a SQ coming in from Mumbai? Heard the two scrambled eagles and immediately thought must be due to some urgency...very unusual to hear that during that time belt of the day. Normally I notice takeoff in the late morning or early evening and often 4-5 jets with wider takeoff interval apart each jet. Today’s scramble was like those I saw during the airforce open house demo. Very fast and almost immediate 45 degree liftoff... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged March 26, 2019 Share March 26, 2019 (edited) https://sg.news.yahoo.com/woman-child-allegedly-held-back-041003673.html This is double edge sword thing. I know we take such threat very seriously. However if it do overboard, there will come to situations where let's say, this person on the plane saw something and in his mind thinking, Omg is it a bomb or is it not? In his mind, he is not 100% sure, maybe say only about 25%. Then he also afraid later say got bomb and if it turns out to be false alarm, he will get into trouble with law. End up never voice out. Then say 1hr later plane exploded and crash. If let's say this guy who is the only one saws it voice it out, maybe everyone on board the plane will be saved. (for example only). So it's good to treat such threat very seriously, however hope authorities will not go too overzealous on this, if not when real threat come and no one voice out due to scared of repercussions, then it's not a good sign. There is a thing saying “do things just right can already, no need to go to the extreme and do it too much“. This applies to everything, including the food we eat, the amount of water we drink everyday, the exercise we do and the list goes on. Edited March 26, 2019 by Yewheng ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...