13177 Hypersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 actually all taller vehicles with higher CG, i will get. Just a matter of time. 10-15mins I'm ok. The worst are those vans like Hiace or what. I get a bit of it when in vehicles in mountain passes. Sometimes when a long stretch of road with bad roadworks in SG, also will kana if i'm taking cab. That's why i usually prefer sedans and self drive. Or really those coaches. People with motion sickness can only self drive, cause no matter what type of vehicles you sit in also might feel motion sickness de if the road is bumpy or driver drive very jerky. So not necessary only apply to SUV lo. It's going to be tough for u as u get older cos naturally being older, sitting in a higher car (not too high though) would be more comfortable and easier to access so if u notice SUVs a favourite for those in late 40s and older plus those ferrying parents as well, my 2 cents Higher car or SUV must comes with step board de, if not older people would be difficult to get in and out of the car, cause of the high height. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 Higher car or SUV must comes with step board de, if not older people would be difficult to get in and out of the car, cause of the high height. True and that's why I say not too high. Most of the SUVs I think should be OK but not the giant SUVs like Land Rover type. Too high n old folk without a step board don't have the strength to "climb up". Inversely, if too low; some effort to pull yourself up as u need abit of strength to do it. Wha damn "cham" n I reaching that stage liao sianz......... 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 To each it's own whether dated or not. May I ask anyone can share your research please? Which SUVs have beige leather seats and wood trimming steering wheels and part of dash board? Thanks Harrier got wood on steering wheel, for at least one variant. Walau....which SUV u sit in until can get car sick? Land Rover. Sitting behind in the back. Driving through area D. Esp if taking taking A vehicle route, but driver going quite fast. Got try before? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 True and that's why I say not too high. Most of the SUVs I think should be OK but not the giant SUVs like Land Rover type. Too high n old folk without a step board don't have the strength to "climb up". Inversely, if too low; some effort to pull yourself up as u need abit of strength to do it. Wha damn "cham" n I reaching that stage liao sianz......... Think must depends on the old folk himself/herself. My grandmother has problem going up and down of a terios which my cousin driving, so my cousin can never able to pick her up. Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 actually all taller vehicles with higher CG, i will get. Just a matter of time. 10-15mins I'm ok. The worst are those vans like Hiace or what. I get a bit of it when in vehicles in mountain passes. Sometimes when a long stretch of road with bad roadworks in SG, also will kana if i'm taking cab. That's why i usually prefer sedans and self drive. Or really those coaches. This one is interesting topic, though i will OT a bit... My son has also on a few occasions complained of feeling giddy when sitting in the car. Then if let him play game on phone, he might get distracted. But this was only for a stretch about a year ago. Before that, and lately, never complained anymore. And hor, he first took a plane when he was 3, then took at least 4 more times during our vacations till 8 yr old. All were ok, ate a lot, watched movies, slept... Then in the last 2 yr, at 10 and 11 yo, whenever he took the plane, he would puke... si bey malu... Once landed, when he gets over it, will be lively and naughty again. But on the plane, a v pathetic look... When ask him, he just said got undesirable smell in the plane that he can't tahan (but he was ok for the earlier years...). Any idea why huh? I'm quite hardy. Used to be at home inside M113 going over mountains and water. Wife does have some problem with those MSCPs that turn and turn and turn, and might have some mountain sickness. But she's ok with flights. Are these related? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jg2000 4th Gear March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 actually all taller vehicles with higher CG, i will get. Just a matter of time. 10-15mins I'm ok. The worst are those vans like Hiace or what. I get a bit of it when in vehicles in mountain passes. Sometimes when a long stretch of road with bad roadworks in SG, also will kana if i'm taking cab. That's why i usually prefer sedans and self drive. Or really those coaches. If you can drive, then pretend to be the driver when you are a passenger and do what you would do when driving - see the part of the road that you would look at when driving, and pretend to control your own steering wheel. It usually helps because when you drive a car yourself, normally will not get motion sickness - only when you become passenger then problem. Also, blow aircon at your face so that feel wind. May also help. SUV wise, get those with suspension tuned to be able to smooth out bumpiness of rough roads. I drive a Subaru SUV and quite good for this if tire is at correct pressure as its supension is already tuned to let the car be driven fast over kampung roads (see video below from 23 seconds - can see the wheels jump up and down because of bumpy road but car body remains stable). Other car brands may also do likewise. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6eKSmLY6qRk 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 (edited) Only way to cure motion sickness is to ride a motorcycle. A motorcycle banks just like an aeroplane, while a car's weight is thrown outwards and leans opposite. Edited March 23, 2017 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 Feeling giddy and motion sickness should be something to do with your ears. And i always think such problem cannot be cure de, but only can make some adjustment to yourself to avoid being caught in giddiness and motion sickness. Usually doctor would suggest to take motion sickness pills de. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 My father in law also cannot be passenger or sit in other vehicles, including taxis and buses and coaches because he will feel giddy. At first he always complain how bad other drivers are but in actual fact he is the one with the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 My father in law also cannot be passenger or sit in other vehicles, including taxis and buses and coaches because he will feel giddy. At first he always complain how bad other drivers are but in actual fact he is the one with the problem If this is really so bad, then how he go out? People say if have motion sickness, sit in the front passenger seat of a car would help. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 My father in law also cannot be passenger or sit in other vehicles, including taxis and buses and coaches because he will feel giddy. At first he always complain how bad other drivers are but in actual fact he is the one with the problem i think quite a few people might be hoping that their in-laws have this syndrome too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bismarck Turbocharged March 23, 2017 Share March 23, 2017 If this is really so bad, then how he go out? People say if have motion sickness, sit in the front passenger seat of a car would help.He drives lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged March 24, 2017 Share March 24, 2017 True and that's why I say not too high. Most of the SUVs I think should be OK but not the giant SUVs like Land Rover type. Too high n old folk without a step board don't have the strength to "climb up". Inversely, if too low; some effort to pull yourself up as u need abit of strength to do it. Wha damn "cham" n I reaching that stage liao sianz......... No Cham bro, change to SUV! ;) CUV oso can - xv, chr, hrv, vitara, qq, mokka, asx......... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator March 24, 2017 Share March 24, 2017 No Cham bro, change to SUV! ;) CUV oso can - xv, chr, hrv, vitara, qq, mokka, asx......... Maybe next change bro but in general SUVs normally more ex than saloons n HB which may be a problem for older folks $ wise cos likely their income less n for some retired already. That said SUVs like XV n HRV quite $ friendly so see how, hv a good weekend! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 24, 2017 Share March 24, 2017 He drives lor. Lucky he still can drives or know how to drives. Some people maybe no driving licence or due to some reason cannot drive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic March 24, 2017 Share March 24, 2017 I used to get a little nauseous sitting in those Toyota Clown teksi w their bouncy suspension n noisy rattly, vibrating engines. On a few occasions lately, the I40 oso made me queasy coz the blardy teksi driver keep playing w the throttle coz they shiok the torque. Yeah a lot of taxi drivers cannot driver properly. If not playing with the throttle, always tapping the brake. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nani Neutral Newbie March 24, 2017 Share March 24, 2017 Hi Atrecord Don't mind sharing how did you finally choose Korean over Jap? In particular the xtrail. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 24, 2017 Share March 24, 2017 Yeah a lot of taxi drivers cannot driver properly. If not playing with the throttle, always tapping the brake. Wonder why taxi drivers cannot drive properly ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...