Which SUV would you choose for now?

Sgfunguy

Hi bro Atrecord, I am MPV & SUV siao, so have some "ready" data for your reference (mostly within $140K).

Compact SUV (4.2 - 4.4m)

Honda HRV 1.5

Mazda CX3 2.0

Nissan Qashqai 1.2T / 2.0

Opel Mokka 1.6D

Peugeot 2008 1.2T

Suzuki Vitara 1.6

Mid-Size SUV (4.5 - 4.7m)

Ford Kuga 1.6T

Honda CRV 1.5T*

Hyundai Santa Fe 2.0 / 2.2D

Hyundai Tucson 1.6T / 2.0

Kia Sportage 2.0

Mazda CX5 2.0

Mitsubishi Outlander 2.4

Nissan X-Trail 2.0

Renault Kadjar 1.5D

Subaru Forester 2.0 / 2.0T

Toyota Harrier 2.0

Toyota RAV4 2.0

VW Tiguan 1.4T

First of all, it take a little bit of time to get use the the width and height of an SUV, so don't take the dimensions on the face value, go test sit / drive the car to see if it right one for your wife (to handle with ease). And FC wise, with heavier body, larger wheels & raised height, expect FC to be ~10Km/L+/- (and that will also depend very much on the traffic conditions and driving pattern).

OK, cut the story short, looking at your priorities, I would recommend the following:

1) Toyota Harrier (good balance of all your need and want)

2) Subaru Forester (Value for money, but FC is not so good)

3) Nissan Qashqai (relatively good FC & good for 1st time SUV owner)

If you can wait a little longer, can check out the new Tiguan 1.4T (Q1 '17) and CRV 1.5T (Q2 '17).

You might wan to take a look at Renault Kadjar 1.5D. It seems like it ticks most of your boxes. I have been driving one for the past 6 mths.

Back cabin and boot is more spacious than Qashqai. Ride height is good. Being a diesel, FC is good no matter how badly you drive. Within your budget.

Power is a bit lacking, and no rear aircon are some of the misses.

If not interested in diesel cars then feel free to ignore :)

[thumbsup]

But Outlander can or not?? i thought Mit bluff people??  :XD:

hahaha.

actually not so bad lah.

but city driving quite jialat.

my x trail getting about 10.8 for 60/40 highway  driving.

most of the suv is around 10-11 range.

except forester XT which i heard quite jialat. my friend gettign abt 7-8km/l

actually harrier quite nice. but comparing price and PI vs AD. i decided not worth it. lol. i value my peace of mind

Skip forester XT, getting too many on the road already... :)

Ya buy fxt no good. Drink petrols and lousy cvt which ppl dun like. Pls stay clear of all subarus. I'm having a hard time booking servicing appointment at Tpy already...

hahaha.

actually not so bad lah.

my x trail getting about 10.8 for 60/40 highway driving.

actually harrier quite nice. but comparing price and PI vs AD. i decided not worth it. lol. i value my peace of mind

Ya I agreed. Get xtrail better. More spacious and better fc. Fxt fc can get very bad 6km/L also can get. Stay clear.

supposing i chose up to top 9 criteria, i may recommend vitara. i can't comment on subaru but u may wanna read up threads concerning subaru cars.

although a tad narrow, headrm n legrm is quite ok at the back n shouldn't have no issue accommodating 1.8m tall persons.

safety - 6airbags n 5star ncap iirc.

reliability - typical jap car.

quality - trims r taut, though plasticky.

price - other than vezel n qashqai, this is another "cheaper" suv.

maintenance ease n affordability - typical jap car; 2wd easy to maintain (even 4wd also not as complicated). affordable - 258, 368, 478 for odd number, even number n 40/80/120k km respectively (best part is 2wd = 4wd price, note it's based on website)

ride comfort - composed yet not bumpy (based on car review videos). personally sat on seats - didn't appreciate seat back profile as i felt i'd to slightly arch my back n lean head slight forward to bear back against seat back; no issue with seat padding though.

noise level - acceptable for it's cat / price (based on car review videos)

fc - other than vezel n qashqai 1.2T, this is next "champion" in fc (check out vitara 1.6 thread)

performance - based on 1.2t body, 1.6l w 6at should be acceptable (test drive video reviewers mentioned adequate iirc)

remaining 30+k budget can use for family savings / other spending if ur budget is 140k :)

The problem with Suzuki's and vitara is that their interior plastic rattles a lot!!!!

I tested the swift to replace my mazda3sp and it rattles! Can u imagine!

In this day and age made in Japan.

Rattling will annoy the shlt out of you.

And ur passebgers will always be asking. What's that noise?

Outlander 10-11kmlitre?

This is the biggest joke

Can la. Change to skinny tires. Remove all extra stuff and weight in the car. 1 person and don't on Aircon.

did u adjust ur front seat position? i usually adjust my driver position n front passenger position to my body size; for front passenger position, i usually drop the glove box with my knees just touching it, so that rear seat room will be based on this same practice on mine. maybe qq headroom is lesser, so end up ur wife felt more claustro? sometimes lower headrm may give impression of lesser room..

i chose sportage over tucson becos of nicer design (subjective); i just can't appreciate tucson's drl n fog light design on front bumper - it's like not well integrated. sportage single or ice cube foglights coupled with headlights r very appealing. rear tail lights no need to talk liao - led light lines have that conti / euro feel. during test drive i oso found sportage is more willing than tucson. interior i oso prefer sportage over tucson. it's the price i can't swallow - 12Xk for GT line, 10k more than base version, wc is not competitive either.

talk about hyundai-kia rel'ship - it's like what ur SE said. even my korean tour guide mentioned kia is like entry-mid range cars n hyundai also sells them but also selling luxury cars like genesis n other, wc i saw a number plying korea roads. but if we look at it another way, as a few forumers previously said, maybe kia implements what hyundai did earlier n is more likely to iron out more bugs.

Wife's acid test is to ask son to sit in front passenger seat and push the seat all the way to the back, then she sits behind to see how much leg space is there. If not comfortable enough, fail her test!

Sportage GT Line has ventilated seats, but Tucson doesn't have. Elantra has it but Tucson is a shade older so doesn't have it, i think. But am not sure if the higher price is worthwhile...

btw, what is wc?

Maybe today/tmr go test sportage...

Yes, ASX is still the cheapest 2L crossover / compact SUV around.

Made in Japan.

Driving mine for over 8 months now, enjoying the ride.

Still quite rare to see another ASX on the road, so there is some exclusivity.

But for a 2L car, ASX is really small leh. I was hoping can consider it, but the space is so tight that wife has struck it out immediately.

You might wan to take a look at Renault Kadjar 1.5D. It seems like it ticks most of your boxes. I have been driving one for the past 6 mths.

Back cabin and boot is more spacious than Qashqai. Ride height is good. Being a diesel, FC is good no matter how badly you drive. Within your budget.

Power is a bit lacking, and no rear aircon are some of the misses.

If not interested in diesel cars then feel free to ignore :)

I won't rule out diesel, but Renault doesn't give me confidence leh...

Is it really good?

hahaha.

actually not so bad lah.

my x trail getting about 10.8 for 60/40 highway  driving.

hmm... x-trail... The unique thing is it has 3 rows, but the 3rd row really CMI. Then if don't use the 3rd row, feel like there's wasted space which isn't fully utilised for 2nd row comfort leh...

If can get 10.8 km/l, though, is already quite decent, it looks like...

Ya buy fxt no good. Drink petrols and lousy cvt which ppl dun like. Pls stay clear of all subarus. I'm having a hard time booking servicing appointment at Tpy already...

Ya I agreed. Get xtrail better. More spacious and better fc. Fxt fc can get very bad 6km/L also can get. Stay clear.

I seriously don't think X-trail is spacious leh, is it really so?

Between Xtrail and Forester, I think Xtrail is larger.

It's got class leading leg room in the second row, has very comfortable "zero gravity" seats and has more soft touch plastics than Forester.

In fact, Xtrail is one of the largest vehicles within the Forester, RAV4, CRV, CX5, Tucson, Sportage category.

FNA is about $10k less and FXT is around the same price as Xtrail. For my money, I'll probably pick the FXT (then Xtrail, then FNA) if I'm looking for a 5 seater because the power just blows Xtrail (and all other SUVs within the price range) out of the water, even though xtrail is arguably better on most counts for a family man.

Between Xtrail and Forester, I think Xtrail is larger.

It's got class leading leg room in the second row, has very comfortable "zero gravity" seats and has more soft touch plastics than Forester.

In fact, Xtrail is one of the largest vehicles within the Forester, RAV4, CRV, CX5, Tucson, Sportage category.

FNA is about $10k less and FXT is around the same price as Xtrail. For my money, I'll probably pick the FXT (then Xtrail, then FNA) if I'm looking for a 5 seater because the power just blows Xtrail (and all other SUVs within the price range) out of the water, even though xtrail is arguably better on most counts for a family man.

No confidence in Nissan cars.

I'll choose fxt too.

Wife's acid test is to ask son to sit in front passenger seat and push the seat all the way to the back, then she sits behind to see how much leg space is there. If not comfortable enough, fail her test!

Sportage GT Line has ventilated seats, but Tucson doesn't have. Elantra has it but Tucson is a shade older so doesn't have it, i think. But am not sure if the higher price is worthwhile...

btw, what is wc?

But for a 2L car, ASX is really small leh. I was hoping can consider it, but the space is so tight that wife has struck it out immediately.

Is it really good?

hmm... x-trail... The unique thing is it has 3 rows, but the 3rd row really CMI. Then if don't use the 3rd row, feel like there's wasted space which isn't fully utilised for 2nd row comfort leh...

I think the acid test is rather dumb.

Some cars have first row seats that can go back very far, leaving little space behind for 2nd row.

It really doesn't mean anything

And btw. Make ur own decision la. If everything hear wife will be chaotic

Edited by Friendstar

Some cars have first row seats that can go back very far, leaving little space behind for 2nd row.

It really doesn't mean anything

And btw. Make ur own decision la. If everything hear wife will be chaotic

Agree. Which is why we're scrutinising in more details when going to see/test drive. (the acid test was done at car@expo in Nov.

If space is so impt. I think the Subaru Outback is the best.

Much better drive too. Given that it's 2.5L

Was a very close decision when we were deciding a couple of months back.

End of the day, there is no perfect car. Just need to know what makes you happy

Edited by Little_prince

Sportage GT Line has ventilated seats, but Tucson doesn't have. Elantra has it but Tucson is a shade older so doesn't have it, i think. But am not sure if the higher price is worthwhile...

btw, what is wc?

Is it really good?

I can only say i have had no issue so far. There will always be that someone that checks in with a horror story abt Renault or French makes in general. Seriously it's YMMV.

I checked around most of the SUVs listed while i was shopping 8-9 mths ago, so things like size, height, comfort etc that can compare, i did.

Everyone one needs is different.

Pick what is best for oneself.

Value for $ go for Harrier but note is PI.

For performance go for FXT but note is a full SUV and AWD as compared to QQ or Vezel, which is crossover thus no a fair comparison I would say.

I can only say i have had no issue so far. There will always be that someone that checks in with a horror story abt Renault or French makes in general. Seriously it's YMMV.

I checked around most of the SUVs listed while i was shopping 8-9 mths ago, so things like size, height, comfort etc that can compare, i did.

Well the Renault's cousin is the QQ. It's British not Japanese ..

Some other Nissan cars are Spanish .. or Thai. Hardly any of them are Jap now ..

So the Renault is pretty good value except when it comes to resale time. Drive it for ten years and it's not bad..

btw, what is wc?

Is it really good?

Boss, seriously u need a made to measure car for your needs...

Think even a Cayenne will not fulfill your requirements..

Yes, ASX is still the cheapest 2L crossover / compact SUV around.

Made in Japan.

Driving mine for over 8 months now, enjoying the ride.

Still quite rare to see another ASX on the road, so there is some exclusivity.

I mean no offense, but the back row space on the ASX is really inexplicably small for a 2L SUV. I got in at cars@expo to check it out and found that i had to sit up... Straight. Can't move my legs forward to slouch even. My friend chose a lancer ex over it due to the tight back row.

The problem with Suzuki's and vitara is that their interior plastic rattles a lot!!!!

I tested the swift to replace my mazda3sp and it rattles! Can u imagine!

In this day and age made in Japan.

Rattling will annoy the shlt out of you.

And ur passebgers will always be asking. What's that noise?

ok noted bro. a citroen car i test driven oso have rattling at centre dash.. a management fleet bmw 216gt i test driven oso rattle at left dash.. seemed like rattling a trend nowadays haha.. another heng suay issue. but beats having a taut car but drive train keeps giving issues / dunno when issues will arise..

Sportage GT Line has ventilated seats, but Tucson doesn't have. Elantra has it but Tucson is a shade older so doesn't have it, i think. But am not sure if the higher price is worthwhile...

btw, what is wc?

Is it really good?

bro, lidat test most cars will fail cos usually all the way back knee will touch front seat back, some may not even be able to place lower legs..

wc = which..

i also think high price not justifiable for sportage but ytd saw one dark blue base model sportage entered my cp looked very muscular (some may say fat), rear end looked audi-ish.. have the conti aura i felt..