Which SUV would you choose for now?

Sgfunguy

Volvo XC60... sturdy, handsome, powerful

think atrecord is on a budget. Lol if he can afford XC60 then he would have bought his sharan already lol.

Yup i find the XC60 still very handsome.

think atrecord is on a budget. Lol if he can afford XC60 then he would have bought his sharan already lol.

Yup i find the XC60 still very handsome.

many posts/replies, let me start with this simpler one first...

Yup, dun wanna stretch to spend so much lah. ~$200+k

coincidentally went to volvo showroom last weekend as wife had a lunch gathering at miramar, so sent her there, i brought kids for lunch then went volvo look-see look-see before went picked up wife, to go komoco.

XC60 full or features and looks good, powerful too. But out of my range lah...

Atrecord.. me drive New OB for 6 mths. Me share exp:

(1) damn spacious.. inside roomier than E class

(2) good safety features.. rear view safety system

(3) smooth comfy ride

(4) FC : 11.5km/l so far- 60 % highway

(5) CG - higher than a saloon but lower than SUVs

(6) drivability - actually better than my previous Audi A6 2.4. Not a cheongster.. but good enuf for me..

(7) easy to get in and out coz higher clearance

(8) brakes spongy- so modded to BBK

(9) road tax - 2.5.. what you expect

(10) price - can't complain then..

(11) comes with Liverpool FC decal

Edited by BenTong

many posts/replies, let me start with this simpler one first...

Yup, dun wanna stretch to spend so much lah. ~$200+k

coincidentally went to volvo showroom last weekend as wife had a lunch gathering at miramar, so sent her there, i brought kids for lunch then went volvo look-see look-see before went picked up wife, to go komoco.

XC60 full or features and looks good, powerful too. But out of my range lah...

unfortunately XC60 only imported FWD in Singapore, I used to drive AWD XC60 in Australia, brilliant power and handling [thumbsup]

(3) smooth comfy ride

(6) drivability - actually better than my previous Audi A6 2.4. Not a cheongster.. but good enuf for me..

I'm curious. which is bigger? Outback or Forester is bigger?

(3) smooth comfy ride

Were you choosing between Forester n OB before deciding on the latter?

I'm curious. which is bigger? Outback or Forester is bigger?

Forester based on imprezza platform.. OB is longer but shorter.. boot n interior much more space..

Were you choosing between Forester n OB before deciding on the latter?

Yup.. ideal for me OB with 2.0DIT .. space, comfort power.. lower RT..

Forester not as well equipped as OB. OB lower CG.. comfort over power (FXT) . At time of purchase , OB just $2K diff.. but depn actually slightly lower ard $200..FXT has driver memory seat.. OB no have

Edited by BenTong

Yup.. ideal for me OB with 2.0DIT .. space, comfort power.. lower RT..

Forester not as well equipped as OB. OB lower CG.. comfort over power (FXT) . At time of purchase , OB just $2K diff.. but depn actually slightly lower ard $200..FXT has driver memory seat.. OB no have

is OB got 2.0DIT? , though it's 2.5NA

cannot lah, China one safety feature and material all compromised a lot, [shakehead]

Any information or experience on the different specifications for the model produced in China ? Ie : NSV insulation same ? Etc.

You can order from China but it's left hand drive.

Haha, but please don't ask to share the Tao Bao link that 'sell' OB

Any information or experience on the different specifications for the model produced in China ? Ie : NSV insulation same ? Etc.

Haha, but please don't ask to share the Tao Bao link that 'sell' OB

Merc 15-23? More like 15-23L/100km.

That was what I thought also.

The this is what the forumer sent:

(I masked the username since i never ask permission to include it)

post-17508-0-21345900-1483682780_thumb.png

yew sai can lah, a lot of people driving 1.5~1.6L turbo diesel easily do 15 km/l in local traffic, but small petrol turbocharged jin difficult. I remember seeing people complain about getting less than 10 km/l on their 1.0L 3-cyclinder petrol turbo.

I also thought so, which was why i was wondering what is it that I didn't know, that got conti cars FC so good...

But got take pic of the panel showing FC leh, and said non-highway (see the post above), so if i believe in good faith, then it's impressive leh...

supposing i chose up to top 9 criteria, i may recommend vitara. i can't comment on subaru but u may wanna read up threads concerning subaru cars.

although a tad narrow, headrm n legrm is quite ok at the back n shouldn't have no issue accommodating 1.8m tall persons.

safety - 6airbags n 5star ncap iirc.

reliability - typical jap car.

quality - trims r taut, though plasticky.

price - other than vezel n qashqai, this is another "cheaper" suv.

maintenance ease n affordability - typical jap car; 2wd easy to maintain (even 4wd also not as complicated). affordable - 258, 368, 478 for odd number, even number n 40/80/120k km respectively (best part is 2wd = 4wd price, note it's based on website)

ride comfort - composed yet not bumpy (based on car review videos). personally sat on seats - didn't appreciate seat back profile as i felt i'd to slightly arch my back n lean head slight forward to bear back against seat back; no issue with seat padding though.

noise level - acceptable for it's cat / price (based on car review videos)

fc - other than vezel n qashqai 1.2T, this is next "champion" in fc (check out vitara 1.6 thread)

performance - based on 1.2t body, 1.6l w 6at should be acceptable (test drive video reviewers mentioned adequate iirc)

remaining 30+k budget can use for family savings / other spending if ur budget is 140k :)

OK. Thanks. Will take a look at Vitara to check it out in detail.

But i'm not sure if it's definitely spacious enough. 

Wife is using our wish as benchmark. I thought Vitara is maybe comparable to QQ, or max Vezel for leg space in 2nd row? If not as spacious as Wish, then it might not pass first criteria.

subaru consistently ranks very high in the USA reliability survey.

Toyota, lexus no.1 and 2. Audi no.3.

I believe subaru is 4-5 position.

No bluetooth phone link for subaru? What's the headunit from? 10 years ago? Lol

Subaru ranks so high? Better than nissan, mit and the kimchi brands? Then it's good... tks.

Sorry, got phone to Bluetooth connection for Forester.

I was more thinking whether can the ICE be touchscreen with it showing what the phone shows. If it doesn't have GPS, but my phone has, can the screen show what phone will be showing (Google Maps), e.g.? Then can play video on the phone but will appear on the ICE? Or what is the newer headunits like?

Subaru ranks so high? Better than nissan, mit and the kimchi brands? Then it's good... tks.

Sorry, got phone to Bluetooth connection for Forester.

I was more thinking whether can the ICE be touchscreen with it showing what the phone shows. If it doesn't have GPS, but my phone has, can the screen show what phone will be showing (Google Maps), e.g.? Then can play video on the phone but will appear on the ICE? Or what is the newer headunits like?

yes subaru always got good marks for customer satisfaction/reliability surveys. Even among jap autos it's good. Better than honda and hyundai. I think it's about neck and neck with Kia.

that's apple carplay or android auto.

Higher end cars should have it. I don't have it in my car also. haha

My wife has been pestering me to get a SUV for the past 3 years [laugh] I even started a thread to look at a few choices but I didn't proceed because I am really just not a SUV guy.

Do you need to replace your car now/soon? If not, then not so 'must-listen' mah. Mine is approaching in few months, so if need to buy something, and still dun listen, can be recipe for disaster lor  [sweatdrop]

Looks quite subjective there... So can't really give you recommendation on that aspect.

Since you are set (or your wife set for you) to get SUV.. The higher CG with more body roll is a given. It is a matter of how much more or less across the SUV range.

Do take note a few things when you are shopping:

1) the test driven car's rim size tyre profile to gauge the handling, ride comfort and body control better. Some come with stock 18inch, some 19inch.

2) Most SUVs in market willl come with 4wd. Not all 4wd are created equal. Subarus 4WD is permanent all wheel drive with 50:50 front rear torque split. Nissan and hyundai's 4WD are full time front drive and part time 4 wheel only during slip detection. I feel more confident and have a more predictable handling going around a bend on wet road with Subaru's system

3) when testing the current range of SUVs, be sure to see if you can stand CVTs mated to a Normally aspirated 2.0. Personally I can't.

OK - tks. Will definitely consider these.

On pt 3, when you said CVT mated to NA 2.0. What is so unique about this huh, can ask? I'm not familiar with this. Had driven an old company subaru justy with CVT before ~18 yr ago, but can't say i'm v familiar/knowledgeable.

The boxer and awd maintenace only marginally higher than equivalent fwd il4 vehicle. Part of the extra cost goes to labour for changing the spark plugs due to inherent boxer design which made them more difficult to access. Front and rear differential fluid change. You ask yourself how often you are going to do that in your 10 yr ownership. Probably once or twice.

Quality and reliability cannot be faulted unless you itchy hand start modding the performance or mechanical systems.

Used to own a legacy gt.

OK. tks. 

I no mod type, so not a big worry there then.