Icedbs Turbocharged November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 (edited) With the rate Singtel is paying (latest deal at S$136m per year), I think it is better they go buy a EPL club and then get free broadcasting right for all the future years ahead. (infact, Sky and BT have to pay SingTel instead!) Oh, and collect some ticket revenue as well.....make the club profitable and all Sporeans watch for free. Wonder anyone in SingTel think about that? Edited November 11, 2015 by Icedbs ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator November 11, 2015 Share November 11, 2015 thread moved to football channel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 KNN! I thot MDA wanted them to go for joint bid? Something like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 I have boycotted SingTel's Mio TV ever since they bidded for 2010 World Cup and the CEO says the price of a World Cup match is cheaper than a cup of coffee. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/11/2015 at 12:00 PM, Piyopico said: At a higher price...... Shit man. Can't they bid low and secure the damn rights. After all it will be subjected to cross carriage. Not exclusive at all so no bragging rights. I think football fans are screwed AGAIN. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/11/2015 at 3:27 PM, Piyopico said: I dunnoe how their bidding works but if cross carriage mandates who ever wins still must offer to their competitor, then why not just bid $1. Ok, that's extreme but I see no reason to outbid anybody cos you are really bidding against yourself in Singapore's context. Unless EPL sets a minimum bid. For the record, I stopped subscription three years ago. Nobody gonna earn a single dollar from me. I rather watch at a pub and pay for a beer and get a crowd and ra ra then let these two idiots earn but that's just me. Anything more than $30 is too much. Bid 1 dollar Bpl can reject. Maybe Bpl also mandate that they cannot joint bid?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/12/2015 at 12:55 AM, F355 said: I have boycotted SingTel's Mio TV ever since they bidded for 2010 World Cup and the CEO says the price of a World Cup match is cheaper than a cup of coffee. cheaper than his cup of coffee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 (edited) On 11/11/2015 at 2:51 PM, Ingenius said: I doubt singtel is making profit from epl . They bid it is more of a social responsibility. Someone has to carry the flag even if it is a heavy one, and as the biggest isp they really don't have much choice. Many complain about the high subscription fee but singtel is probably the one who eats the biggest bitter pill but yet cannot complain. I agree that they may not be making any profit or if there is it would not be much. But to say it is CSR is a stretch. I would say more likely its a loss leader (i.e. something sold at a loss to entice customers into the brand). Remember how this came about - BPL/EPL became the single biggest reason for cable TV in Singapore to survive. For most of the other channels (discovery, fox, etc etc), they are non-exclusive and both SH and ST have it now. So PL is the main difference. Of course with cross carriage rules (and now UCL is also not exclusive anymore) I think this has lessened to quite a degree. I hope for ST (and our) sake, they didn't bid too much. The only reason i have both SH and ST now is cos ST doesn't carry enough tennis and also don't have Universal Channel which i watch quite a lot and i am not willing to drop ST as my other services (fiber/hp) are all with them too which i don't wanna change to SH. Edited November 12, 2015 by Kar_lover 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 Could there be a rule that require companies to bid same or more than the last won contract or else no football? I think it's possible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 the problem comes when they initially bid high high... now down the road.. it will never be possible to go lower... why will bpl accept lower when they know you can bid higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 I just got a call from starhub regarding subscription to their basic package. Can recontract for $15 off monthly for 2 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged November 12, 2015 Author Share November 12, 2015 On 11/12/2015 at 1:56 AM, Lala81 said: I just got a call from starhub regarding subscription to their basic package. Can recontract for $15 off monthly for 2 years. StarHub has a current promo of 1 gb fibre with basic cable plan (3 groups) at $88 per month. On 11/12/2015 at 1:47 AM, Galantspeedz said: the problem comes when they initially bid high high... now down the road.. it will never be possible to go lower... why will bpl accept lower when they know you can bid higher In their bid to capture your eyeballs in 2010, Singtel paid more than 10% of what the world paid as a whole for EPL broadcast rights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/11/2015 at 2:51 PM, Ingenius said: I doubt singtel is making profit from epl . They bid it is more of a social responsibility. Someone has to carry the flag even if it is a heavy one, and as the biggest isp they really don't have much choice. Many complain about the high subscription fee but singtel is probably the one who eats the biggest bitter pill but yet cannot complain. Lol I very very much doubt singtel not making profit over epl. They just put in a greedy stupid high bid assuming everyone's equally stupid. And their cash cows are those public screening areas. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SuPerBoRed Twincharged November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/12/2015 at 6:29 AM, Karoon said: Lol I very very much doubt singtel not making profit over epl. They just put in a greedy stupid high bid assuming everyone's equally stupid. And their cash cows are those public screening areas. agreed... i wonder how much we pay to this... http://business.asiaone.com/news/singtel-says-q2-profit-stable-103-billion-currency-impact-hurts Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/12/2015 at 6:29 AM, Karoon said: Lol I very very much doubt singtel not making profit over epl. They just put in a greedy stupid high bid assuming everyone's equally stupid. And their cash cows are those public screening areas. Community center? Safra? Or u mean the pubs/restaurants. There are much fewer establishments showing nowadays leh. Even coffeeshops have reduced significantly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 On 11/11/2015 at 2:34 PM, Kusje said: Is it really possible based on the speculated 408 mil for 3 years? 408 mil for 3 years = 136 mil per yr = 11.33 mil per month Based on 80 SGD per month subscription, that's 141,666 subscribers. Do we have that many? You forgot the sponsers ..... Dedug from the sponsers and the remainder pay by subscribers ... This season BPL sponsers are Oppo, NTUC and Brand's ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged November 12, 2015 Author Share November 12, 2015 If die die wanna watch. This package from Singtel looks like best value for money. Quite a few channels plus mio stadium aka EPL. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic November 12, 2015 Share November 12, 2015 Today, received letter kong box rental increased from $1.90 to $4.90 per month liao. Jin effiecient! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...